Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kent

Wonderful historic hotel.

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: The staff, service and great food.
Cons: Minor repairs in the could be quickly dealt with to improve the overall experience of the beautiful rooms
Location: Easy walk to the seafront and a longer, pleasant walk to the shops. Quiet location and the hotel has a small museum too.
Wonderful welcome at the front desk with bags taken by porter while we had a welcome cup of tea in the lounge. There were 3 in our party and so we had two rooms, one of which was the Lillie Langtry. Both rooms were beautiful and had large spa baths too. There were a few minor faults in Lillie Langtry but did not affect our stay in these lovely rooms. We had dinner in the dining room for both evenings of our stay and the food was wonderful, both dinner and the breakfast too. One criticism was that the menu for the day was the same both evenings and we had expected that it would change to give us more choice. We enjoyed the small museum and also took the opportunity to see the King's bedroom on a day when it was not occupied.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from plymouth

Proper old fashioned service

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: Great chef the evening meal and breakfast were exceptional
Cons: Windows needed a good clean on the outside. Bedroom furniture could do with updating. There was a cupboard for the fridge but no fridge!
Location: A short walk to the beach
Made very welcome and looked after really well. Was given tea while the bags were taken to the room. Nice and quite. Hotel has loads of character.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Coventry

A Proper Hotel!

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: The friendliness, the comfort, the history of the building - plus, the food is fantastic!My
Cons: My only concern, a crack in bathroom mirror. It had been sealed and I was assured it would be fully repaired or replaced in the near future.
Location: The location is quiet, residential. 10 minute walk to the sea, quite a way to town centre but only 5 minutes by car
What a fantastic experience. From the moment I arrived to the all too soon departure, the staff absolutely complimented this wonderful hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Quiet Hotel with Character

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Free parking. Free breakfast provided for my child. Quiet History Staff communication
Cons: Wifi - it wasn't secure and was very slow. Staff shift transition. Breakfast selection and ingredients.
Location: Beach 10 minutes walk away (although the pier about 25 minutes).
Stayed here with my Husband and 2 year old son for 3 nights. First impression was the hotel had a lot of character and was very clean. Our double room was a lot smaller than I expected for the price. Once the travel cot was in (was advertised as being enough room), I had to climb out of bed out the bottom. The bathroom was very compact, with one space (door width) to enter the shower, wash your hands and use the toilet. The breakfast was OK, but could have been better (Baked beans were strange) and more choice for veggies, omelette maybe. Staff were very attentive but changed frequently (shifts across the day meant when you came back from a day out it was different people), so keep asking for you to show your key. Overall, we all slept well as it was quiet and would recommend to others (maybe not so much families in a double room).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good historical focus.

Posted Apr 12, 2015
This is a hotel in transition and they need to improve their customer service skills. We enjoyed our stay in the Alexandra Suite but the jacuzzi bath worked for twenty minutes in total! Food and priced seriously overpriced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Emily from London

romantic treat

Posted Apr 11, 2015 on Hotels
the reception stall were charming, the room spacious and the overall ambience lovely. the breakfast wasn't the best however, didn't seem freshly cooked- fried eggs rather hard. but it didn't diminish our stay- amazing value too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Keith from Sutton Coldfield

Superb Hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent hotel with lots of history, friendly staff, would certainly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 11, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Terry from London

a special place

Posted Sep 8, 2014 on Hotels
My wife and I celebrated our twenty first wedding anniversary at Langtry Manor, and we were treated to a wonderful week. The greeting was lovely with complimentary handmade chocolates, and a special desert in the restaurant (which we thought was of a very good standard and reasonably priced; we ate at the hotel most nights). We were able to invite friends over and treat them to an afternoon tea, which again was lovely. The room was excellent, no complaints there, and with the attentive and friendly staff within such a lovely Victorian setting we will definitely pay them a return visit. .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Yvonne from Bromsgrove

Lovely hotel - a bit far from town

Posted Aug 28, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel was fine and in normal circumstances I would not have minded the long walk to town. Unfortunately, it rained for our entire stay, so we had to drive to town and pay huge car parking charges. On the plus side, our room was lovely and comfortable and the service was excellent. The only other minus point was the bacon at breakfast, which was very hard and overcooked.