Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short Break

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: Parking places could be numbered and allocated, so in the event of returning late at night so would be assured of keeping a space
Location: A lively seaside town with plenty to occupy you
Very pleasant hotel, friendly staff, excellent food and very comfortable bed
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Alarming

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Got woke up twice because fire alarm went off twice , water coming out of bathroom ceiling ,
3 out of 5
Recommended
by RB from London

Great hotel very poor service

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
My partner and I spent the weekend at the Menzies hotel in Bournemouth. The hotel itself, the location the theme of the rooms are fantastic. The food was very nice. My only concern were the waiters in the restaurant and at the reception who were quite inattentive and not very welcoming. Its a pity because the hotel was recommended to me by a colleague and it was a very good stay except for the quality of the service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Poolside beds - mattresses are very thin for the loungers and not enough of them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kevin from london

Nice quiet dog friendly hotel overlooking beach

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: Location, staff attitude, comfort
Cons: We had a 3rd floor room and the shower was pathetic, a dripping tap has more pressure! The bath was nice and big, almost making up for the shower
The hotel is above the cliffs overlooking the beach. It is quiet, very friendly and spotlessly clean. The staff are very helpfull, cheerful and polite. The decor is late 80s semi formal but relaxing. The bed was extremely comfortable and nice and big. The location is about 10 minutes walk from Bournemouth pier so very convenient for everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jem from Warwickshire

Great location, nice room, poor WiFi

Posted May 31, 2014
Room was very nice, was quite big, and even though we didn't pay for a sea view room we could just about see the sea through the window which was a bonus. Style of the hotel was quite old fashioned and looked a bit tired in places, but still pleasant. Location was perfect - right next to the beach, and a ten minute stroll into town. WiFi was unavailable on the first day, and once it eventually started working it was really slow so just used 3G instead.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Skip D from Andover, UK

Nice hotel

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel in a great location on the cliffs above the beach. Close to the cliffe side lift it is an easy walk along the beach to both Bournemouth and Boscombe. Hotel facilities were good although the Spa was limited in its services.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Justin from P / London

Excellent hotel close to beach

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Hotel is a stone's throw away from the beach. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was enormous. Excellent value for money
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Sue from Oxfordshire

Cold Room

Posted Apr 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
What a disappointment! We had booked two sea view rooms, which were very nice on arrival. However, our particular room, seemed to get colder by the evening and we found that the radiators were not working. On talking to reception they sent someone up to have a look, we were told that the radiators were not used any more and the heating came from the air conditioning unit in the ceiling. The guy set it at 30 C and said it would warm up in 20 minutes. All we had was cold air coming from the unit, therefore we switched this off and asked for some heaters to be sent up, one electric heater arrived. I also discovered that one of the quarter double glazing windows was broken, and jammed open, so I had to stuff a towel into it to stop the wind from coming into the room. When we went out the next day, we asked reception to have the heating sorted out. On coming back later that afternoon nothing had been done, so my husband asked to speak to the manager, the duty manager came up and said that he knew nothing about our heating problems but would sort it out, the radiators should be working. He went away, but came back later to say that he could not get our heating working and would send up some more electric heaters, which he did. Also said that we would get compensation for what had happened. Well the compensation that was taken off the bill was a joke. I