Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

One night in Bournemouth

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: The staff were very good. Had an evening meal in the restaurant and was pleasantly surprised at the quality and service.
Cons: Needs refurbishment. Breakfast should be complete and extras not charged
Location: Nice location on the cliff by the lift to come up if required.
Hotel staff were very obliging but although they came immediately, they were unable to mend the toilet completely (something needed replacement) and the shower dripped all the night. We had a family room as it was the only one in the price range available, but were kept up all night by a crying child in the next room (not blaming the hotel for this!). Felt breakfast was OK but surprised they charged £4.50 for omelettes, kippers, smoked haddock, etc. This is a 4 star hotel - never been charged extra for this before. It would only cost £4 to park a car for a whole day on the sea front, so a kipper was rather expensive to say the least.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reading

Well located and lovely hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Free and easy access car park. Free Wi-Fi. Room extras like bottled water. Distance to beach and town centre perfect. Pleasant, helpful reception.
Cons: The shower facility was a little dated and the water took an age to warm up, but pleasant when it was ready to use.
Location: Pleasant view if you're at the front, and a moderate stroll to the beach, pier, et cetera. Town centre a 15-20 min stroll. Quiet and easy to find.
I had an overnight stay in Bournemouth due to a mix of work and leisure. The hotel was easy to find via SatNav and the car park had a reasonable number of spaces left when I arrived. Reception staff were welcoming and helpful and my check-in was pleasant and efficient. I needed to go to the town centre before heading to a work venue and reception staff were very helpful in giving me the best route to follow and advice on where to find a taxi. I returned to my hotel quite late and was glad to be able to relax in nice surroundings. Breakfast was very pleasant - I use a ketchup test: if the cooked breakfast is nice, no ketchup, if it needs more flavour, add ketchup. I didn't touch the ketchup! Check-out was a breeze, and again great advice to be found at reception.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Location

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Quiet and peaceful. Good swimming pool.
Cons: Bathroom was a bit grotty, no shelves or hooks to put any toiletries.
Location: Great location. Easy for Poole and Christchurch. Walking distance to beach and shopping plus eating out.
Delightful hotel with sea views. Excellent location for beach and amenities. Friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pierre from Shaftesbury. Dorset

Lovely views across the bay. Towels on the sunbeds

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: The position and the parking.
Cons: I would have liked a filter coffee from the bar. I'm not one for Espresso, coffee should be gently brewed as they do in France, not pressurised.
Location: Perfect location and all of Bournemouth is within reach.
I always go for 4* hotels, you get what you pay for. Met all of our family and the weather was as good as it could be.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by barker from northampton

good location & service

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
very good service, breakfast very good, food well presented, dinner menu could be better, don't stay in room 2212 if you are well proportioned hard to het into bathroom, hotel needs updating in some areas, staff very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Claire from St Albans

Short Break

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: Heating/air conditioning
Location: Ideally located for visiting Bournemouth pier area or walking down the promenade to Boscombe. Also quiet location away from the town.
Great location, rooms well appointed and clean, bathroom a bit tired and possibly not part of the "recent" renovations. The room and corridors were unbearably hot, I couldn't find evidence of air conditioning so had to open all the room windows during the entirety of our stay (bit noises with the seagulls). I did have a woman walk into the room at 7.30am whilst I was sleeping which was a little concerning I assumed she was an over zealous cleaner as a lady also tried to get in again at 10am! I did forget to mention this to the reception desk who were very friendly and helpful. I still enjoyed my stay and would stay here again (this was actually the second time I'd stay at this hotel).
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Judi from Brighton

Great value great staff

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
A pleasure to stay at, nothing to much trouble, made our stay a pleasure, will certainly return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by gcp fan from East Sussex

Lovely hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
We have stayed at many Bournemouth hotels, and this is the most reliable in respect of the standard of the bedrooms and cleanliness. This time we booked a balcony sea view room, but it had been double booked for some reason. We were given a lovely room with side sea view and separate sitting room, and then the next day they moved us to their best balcony room. The whole hotel is always spotless, and the staff helpful and friendly. The bar tends to be a little quiet and impersonal, but this time they had background music and it was very pleasant. The location is perfect for us - lovely walks along the East Cliff in both directions, and can walk to the town centre or pier within 10 minutes. We will return!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by KS from Surrey

Quite disappointed.

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Having read the reviews, I was really looking forward to coming to this hotel for a night as a treat for my mum. However, we weren't overly impressed. Our room had an interconnecting door and we could hear every word/movement of the people next door, including their breakfast order being delivered at 7am and their TV late into the night (the Simpsons, in case you were wondering!) There was also a keyhole that you could see straight through at the bed in the next room! (We blocked it with tissue). We did ask if we could change rooms but they said they had no other rooms available. The downstairs bar had run out of green tea and biscuits and our bathroom was pretty dirty, it desperately needed a good bleach. The hotels saving graces are its location and its staff. The staff were more than helpful, although there was a mix up with payment when we checked out which resulted in them phoning me and asking for my payment details again. The location of the hotel is great; a steep but short walk down to the sandy beach and a ten minute walk to the town. Overall I wouldn't stay here again, I don't feel it was worth the price I paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Maggi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels.com