Ratings based on 427 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from swindon

Rude staff/ club & city rooms very basic

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Booked through expedia & hotel didn't receive booking from them, so would advise checking with hotel if using 3rd party before your arrival. Hotel Staff we're not very friendly/ helpful. Beware of club/ city rooms as very small, not very clean and some club rooms don't even have windows as in basement with low ceilings, very warm as no air ventilation. Good things hotel has great location and breakfast was good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Poole

We Walked in and then walked out....

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Please someone buy it and make it special again
Sorry Royal Bath Hotel, I remember you has the best 5 star in Bournemouth! Anyone who was anyone wanted to stay there and enjoy the 5 star luxury.....but OMG what has happened? We checked in, paid for the car parking...., noticed that you had to pay to use the pool (why?) spent 20 mins trying to find our room, in the 'new wing' - but was so disappointed. It was tiny and looked nothing like the picture on the internet and no way were we going to sleep in that bed! So we just called reception and cancelled and got a full refund... Ended up in the Cumberland, in a luxury sea view, best breakfast ever at the same price....
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Terrible Experience

Posted Sep 23, 2014
There was smell of mould in the room. They over charged for parking failed to I inform parking next door was cheaper.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bracknell

Nice hotel with a great location on the beach.

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: The location of this hotel is excellent as it is right next to the beach and shopping area. The garden area is pleasant and relaxing.
Cons: The hotel needs a manager taking control of the staff and their training in all areas.
Location: Great location with lots of good places to visit nearby.
Hotel is starting to look a bit tired. Staff are not trained to a standard required. Staff should greet customers with a smile instead it was grumpy faces.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely traditional hotel close to beach and centre

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Great location and traditional charm.
Cons: Water pressure in showers and quality of towels
Location: Located right by the sea and not too far from the town centre with bars, cafes and shops.
Having read reviews on Trip Advisor I was expecting the worst but was very pleasantly surprised. Check-in was easy and the room was not too hard to find despite the maze of corridors, thanks to good signage. We booked a basic double but it was well-appointed and clean. Bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. Only downside was lack of water pressure in the shower and rather small towels. Buffet breakfast was good with plenty to choose from. Hotel itself is in a lovely location with a very pleasant bar, sunny terrace and lovely gardens with sun loungers. All staff we encountered were pleasant and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, friendly staff, great location

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Lovely weekend slightly spoilt by lack of parking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tisbury

Room was hugely disappointing. Cramped box.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Clarification of the room
Location: Great location for beach,shops and restaurants
Staff excellent but room was a joke, cannot believe they charge £110 to stay in a room that was smaller than my fist bedroom as a boy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SW London

Nice hotel close to beach.

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Remove charge for pool for hotel guests
Not impressed that there was a charge for the pool. £20 a day to park car - excessive charge and no availability!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northants.

Disappointing Room Standards.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: It was the only hotel available last week with four stars, although in retrospect I have stayed at far better three star hotels.
Cons: Attention to detail and personal service.
Location: Close to sea and centralised attractions.
Upon arrival one of the two rooms reserved had a strong smell of cigarette smoke, despite the hotel being non-smoking and the toilet was unclean, occupation of the room was at 17.00, so not as though housekeeping staff were pressed to make the room available in a hurry. Everything was at additional cost, from use of the gym (£4 each) - children had to vacate the pool by 18.00, breakfast (£7 each), dinner (£9.95 each) and car parking (£20 per day). Hotel lacked the personal touch and did not reflect its 4 star status.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Grinstead

Poor!

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Communal areas and garden
Cons: Spend money upgrading all the rooms
Location: Very close to the beach and pier
One VERY much gets the sense that the owners are investing the minimum in this hotel. The communal areas were actually OK but our room was poor by comparison. Speaking to other guest I felt that our room must have been one of the better ones as they had horror stories. The staff we ALL very defensive - almost as if they were EXPECTING complaints at every moment. All I seemed to hear were complaints around me - from check-in to departure, all about the rooms - it must be soul destroying for the staff to work in this environment! One of the check-in staff dealing with a complaint and request to change room tried to blame the poor room on the fact that it had been booked via Expedia (a third party) and that it would have been different if they had booed direct!!!