Ratings based on 281 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire

Good friendly hotel centrally situated

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: Conveniently situated, car park, friendly staff
Cons: Drinks are too expensive - over £4 for a bottle of beer!
Location: Near shops, beach, gardens, restaurants and BIC
We enjoyed our short break here and were particularly impressed with the breakfasts. It is an old building and for that reason the bedroom was rather too warm (the weather was excellent). It is almost opposite the International Centre and has a free car park. It is close to shops, beach and restaurants etc. Staff friendly and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by katrina

nice, comfortable hotel. good location for beach

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Great breakfast.
Cons: noise from bar downstairs as was Friday night. was OK for the Thursday night.
Location: close to beach and shops. Easy access for restaurants
nice comfortable hotel. Close to beach with it's own parking. Great location to explore other areas in Dorset. Comfortable beds. good sized rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chris from norwich

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2014
I Stayed for 1 night. The hotel was great, 1 minute walk from the beach, the staff was very very helpfull, the food was excellent, I ordered room service and it was the full a la carte menu, what made me very please was that I ordered starter, main and dessert, they delivered the starter and the main with the drinks together and after a few minutes the dessert which it was good because dessert came with ice cream so it was perfect timing. I'll come back to the same hotel next time I'm in Bournemouth. Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lynz from London

Went to the BIC just across the road.

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: Mostly the staff who did their utmost to make our stay an experience we won't forget. Breakfast to die for, and spotlessly clean rooms.
Cons: Bar So day staff
Location: Went to see a show at the BIC, which is just across the road. Shops to the right, beach to the left, perfect location.
Love Bournemouth. It's not what I expected. Most of the staff in the hotel were great, unfortunately there's always one. Beware of the daytime barmaid in the Bar So. She has a problem with people of a certain age, plenty more fun to be had in the other two bars. We loved the music. Beware if you go to bed early and you don't like music.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from chesterfield

hotel is in a good location

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: It is convenient to the beach and park,It has atmosphere and the staff are very helpful. The breakfast was very good
Cons: The room was ok ,but the floorboards were very noisy and it was impossible to move about the room quietly.
we stayed in this hotel for one night on our visit to see relatives in Bournemouth.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sylvia from Scotland

Michael Bolton Concert BIC 24th May 2014

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Car parking facilities. Free WiFi in rooms. Courtesy and helpfulness of hotel staff.
Location: Near to prom and beach as well as shopping area. BIC just across road which has events on almost constantly and Aquarium within easy reach.
Absolutely loved the hotel and thought the staff were wonderful and so obliging. Loved the food and facilities in room, also too that hotel has own car parking facilities...excellent !!! As I say I was there for few days holiday plus taking in a Michael Bolton concert which was at the BIC so hotel was in a perfect location and as Wheels Festival was on over weekend I definitely had a bonus and truly loved the atmosphere created by it all. I would definitely go back to the Royal Exeter and have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone who wants a hotel near the prom and beach but also within easy reach of shops and restaurants.....no hesitation whatsoever !!!
2 out of 5
by Customer

NOISY HOTEL

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Breakfast. Nothing else.
Cons: Staff, creaky floorboards, awful noise!!!
Location: Convenient for NIC.
I was greeted by a receptionist with limited english who informed me that this was a noisy hotel and that I might not get much sleep due to the night club. Of course this was not mentioned when I booked!!!!!!!!! Simply awful customer service!!!!!!!
2 out of 5
by Simon from Fareham

Tired Hotel in need of immediate renovation.

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: Close to the beach and amenities.
Cons: Interior decor and windows badly needed replacing as they wouldn't close as the wood had swelled
Location: Useful for Bournemouth beach, the BIC and the town centre (Winter Gardens).
I picked this hotel for its location and the reviews were reasonable. I paid more than I normally would for a hotel believing I would get better quality but in fact this hotel was a lot worse than many more modern and friendly b&b's that I have stayed in. The room was a pokey little attic room on the third floor where the windows wouldn't shut because the wood had swollen yet we needed them closed for the wind and the noise from the bar downstairs which went on beyond midnight. The decor was decades out of date and the walls and ceiling badly needed painting. The breakfast was awful as we were served a full English that had obviously been sat around for a while as it was all dry and overcooked. We found a table ourselves as there was no staff to greet us at the door. Avoid this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lively hotel great location

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Great hotel staff fab location fab. 1812 was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rich from BH24

Nice hotel with a relaxed atmosphere

Posted Feb 27, 2014
The Hotel is looking a little tired and dated. However the staff were all friendly, attentive and very helpful. The room was clean and tidy although the water pressure from the shower was a bit erratic. Breakfast was excellent. Overall a very good 3 star hotel.