Ratings based on 401 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bournemouth

Very nice hotel!

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: The squeaky floorboards!
This is the second stay at the Royal Exeter Hotel and once again, it did not disappoint. The room was comfortable and clean, the staff were efficient and friendly and its position is perfect - close to the town centre and the beach. The 1812 Bar is a great place to unwind and the food in the restaurant is delicious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom York

Good hotel...close to the beach

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness
Good stay in a nice hotel with breakfast included in the price. The en-suite was spacious and was cleaned daily. The hotel was to Bournemouth priory and restaurants.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room smelled strongly of cigarettes

Posted Nov 8, 2014
There was a strong smell of cigarette smoke which hit us as soon as we opened the door and the balcony just below our window was strewn with cigarette butts and other debris which we didn't want to question! It was very noisy until the early hours of the morning in our room as it was just above the outdoor decking area and the fire alarm went off 3 times during our 2 night stay. All in all we were disappointed with our bedroom and although the room was cleaned the curtains still reeked but we were advised that the hotel was fully booked and we could not move to another one. We were not offered any other discount or compensation and will not be going back.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Very noisy hotel

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Very close to BIC which was purpose for our trip. On arrival we were told they couldn't guarantee a quiet hotel as had a live band from 10-12. This was not mentioned when booking and our room was right above the stage donut was not quiet enough to sleep till after 12.30am. Also had 2 false fire alarms so all in all not a good night sleep
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Elin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Always booked up but my best in bournemouth stays
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Nickfrom Winchester

Great location, friendly staff value for money

Posted Oct 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was clean and the staff were very friendly. Good service although there was no seperate Residents Bar and it took a good 20 minutes to get a drink on Saturday night. very conveniently situated for the BIC Centre at which i was attending a conference.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

All Fine

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
All very nice
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Dean Wallfrom Portsmouth, UK

Weekend noise beware

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Late night bar under hotel open until early hours on a Friday and Saturday night. Kept us awake until 2am both nights. Main light in the room didn't work - reported to reception three times over the stay and not fixed (didn't realise places still used old style light bulbs!). Other than this the room was large and spacey. Radiator right next to the bed was noisey too. Great location and cocktails in the bar good. A quiet getaway midweek but deffo not on a weekend. For the price I paid it was acceptable. But unless I wanted to be up partying I wouldn't stay again.