Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Luxury Delux room.

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Was not expecting room, service and food to be so good in an Inn.
Location: Very tranquil located out of the way in a tiny hamlet but not far from Dorcester and Weymouth.
Staff very welcoming and did everything possible to make a pleasant stay. Food excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great spot for a one or two night stay

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Needed somewhere near Afpuddle for a wedding and this fit the bill perfectly. Very helpful friendly staff, comfortable rooms and a spacious shower, satisfying fried breakfast in the mornings and in a beautiful location. Would definitely stay again if I was in the area or passing through.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Overnight Stay June 2015

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: It was unusual but lovely.
Location: Walking. Close to Cern Abbas and not too far from Dorchester.
A little gem in the middle of the English Dorsetshire countryside - 1.5 miles off the main road with no passing traffic!. The food was fantastic with adequate choices. Staff were very friendly and helpful. A full English breakfast was again excellent. We stayed in the Annex, a converted Skittle Alley! For a special occasion this would be an ideal quiet location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Very quiet and peaceful character hotel.

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Scenery. Peace and quiet. "Away from the maddening crowd!"
Cons: Not much. The outdoor seating could be a bit smarter but I'm pushing it!.
Location: Lovely country walks, photography, closest town is probably Blandford Forum or Dorchester both with loads of restaurants and cafes etc.
Very quiet and peaceful hotel. Bit of a trek, but lovely scenery. Nothing around there so bring a good book and enjoy some of the fine wines and the excellent dinners provided. Really nice staff and very flexible as I was late for breakfast and they were more than willing to still serve me. Great dining in the evening and some very fine wines. Try the watercress soup!!! Healthy and delicious!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from upminster

Peaceful Break

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Two days of excellent food and lovely service in a very comfortable room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mark from Ware

Excellent Country Pub.

Posted Feb 27, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent pub in superb surroundings. Food first rate. Stairs difficult.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Historic Country Pub

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff, very comfortable room,excellent food and local beers
Cons: Internet connection was a little slow
Location: The pub is handily placed to explore the lovely market towns of Sherborne and Dorchester. Great walks to enjoy nearby in "Thomas Hardy" country
We were made to feel extremely welcome by the friendly staff, Facilities in the room were of the highest standard and the king size bed was extremely comfortable. Despite the bar/restaurant being extremely busy on both Friday and Saturday night, our two meals were excellent and served without delay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Felt right at home

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: See above
Cons: There is only one thing I would ask them to improve on and I dont even know if it is possible........improve the Wifi, it was.......frustrating!
Location: Bit out of the way but only a short drive to Dorchester and Weymouth
The Inn is lovely, bar inviting, food was excellent, staff could'nt do enough. Felt like I was driving to the end of the earth but was actually only a 20 minute to Dorchester. Really nice little get away from it all location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Great hotel, bit off the beaten track

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Excellent stay, great breakfast, was a mission to find at night in a storm with minimal signal, but ok if you can read a map and find Plush! Would go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Elaine from Chelmsford

Hotels . Com over charges

Posted Oct 11, 2014 on Hotels
A wonderful stay , but you have overcharged as the rate for a next day booking should be half of the fee whuch you charged . I would appreciate this being sorted. . The fee was taken by Hotels. Com