Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice staff and location, dated hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Leaky taps, creaky floorboards that keep you awake, paper thin walls, dated decor all add up to a hotel that needs money invested. The staff, location and breakfast were all very good, shame about the building
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newbury

Lovely hotel!!

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Lovely big rooms Nice beeakfast Helpful staff Good location not far from sea and shops restaurants etc
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel close to the Cliff,s as the name inplie

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Perfect one night stay with a good breakfast too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Hit and miss

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Difficult stay due to the cheer competition being in town. Bathroom had a towel rail so hot it was scalding - completely overheated the tiny "double - ocean view" we had booked. Dreadful bar service/night staff (in contrast to the very helpful people on reception) who grumped, was very angry when we returned corked wine (and gave us a cheaper bottle as replacement) and begrudgingly gave us warm water with a single cube of ice when we asked for a pint. Wouldn't stay again - for £130 I was expecting a decent room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Location ok but management could be better

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: The location is excellent right by the beach. The service staff are lovely.
Cons: Housekeeping and the management of the hotel and its leadership
Location: 10 km long beach on your doorstep. Ample parking. Amenities freely available in hotel next door e.g. indoor pool and sauna. Bike hire on the beach
Towels in the bathroom old and frayed. No hot water in the morning with no explanation given. Breakfast served at 7.30am instead of 7am. There is a generic brochure in the room which refers to the Cumberland hotel next door. No specific reference to any information for the Cliffside hotel. No dinner was served on Sunday night. When I complained to the hotel duty management I simply received a "sorry" but nothing else. Housekeeping clearly needs to improve.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Anna from Bristol

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fab stay, staff were amazing, really happy and will definitely return.
3 out of 5
by david

Hotel needing refurbishment

Posted Jun 13, 2014
On the positive side we had a room with a sea view The shower was the worst trickle I have ever experienced in literally hundreds of stays in hotels all over the world My wife was kept awake by very noisy people wandering the corridors and at one point was worried they would get in our room Quite a tiny and slow lift to our room on the third floor Nice pool outside and sheltered from the wind
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Leanne from Somerset

Good location, tidy hotel.

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: Location and breakfast
Cons: Air-conditioning would be a vast improvement as rooms are very warm. Customer service
Location: Beach and town nearby. Town has plenty of nice shops, restaurants and bars.
Good location, close to the beach and only 10 minute walk to the town. Hotel was tidy and clean although a bit dated. Room was tidy but no air-conditioning. The weather was only about 20 degrees but the room was very warm even with the windows fully open. We did ask for a fan and this was provided but it didn't make much difference to the temperature. The bar was well stocked but there was never anyone serving so we always had to ask at reception before we could be served regardless of the time of day. Breakfast was very good but finished at 9.30am. Overall I would recommend this Hotel and with a little more attention to detail and customer service it could be very good. Last disappointing shot - I left my phone charger in the room. The hotel did find it but didn't phone to let us know they had found it. When we contacted them they said there was an automatic charge of £5 to return it by post. I know they have to cover their costs, but this would have been a nice gesture to return it free of charge.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mr Conway from Somerset

Fantastic Service, Warm and Friendly

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
I would recommend this hotel to a friend. Well i already have and he is thinking of booking for him and his girlfriend. excellent service warm and friendly welcome. brilliant views and location. Would defiantly be returning.