Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Stu

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by JDSJH from Reading

Disappointed

Posted Sep 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Host was a very pleasant person just a shame accommodation had numerous issues which need to be addressed. Bedroom was dark with a very strong smell of dampness due to a previous water leak in the bathroom which had resulted in a large damp patch. To disguise / cover up damp smell in bedroom, an air freshener had been placed in bathroom. Restaurant seemed understaffed. Our first morning we waited 20 minutes for breakfast and never saw any staff, we gave up and ate out! Restaurant was infested with flies. Felt whole building required a complete steam clean and staffing issues to be addressed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Need to upgrade Shower
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from London

Lovely location.

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Staff was friendly, although it did take awhile for our food to be served at dinner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ks from Pinner

Brilliant Location

Posted Aug 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel is clean great location.Staff were friendly.The only downside was bed wasn't comfortable!We loved the fact that The countryman inn has an interesting history.It was chid friendly :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Canadian Family

Average room, bad dining experience

Posted Aug 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel room was comfortable. Went down for dinner and was told our meal would take 40 minutes to prepare, it actually took 75 minutes. The food was not worth waiting for as one meal was not edible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by GaryN from Gloucester

Great B & B

Posted Jul 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location and friendly staff. The room was clean and large, with a large comfortable bed. The only issue was the room only had a roof light , rather than normal windows, which gave a lot of light in the room. The problem was there was no blind on it so at dawn the sunlight came right into the room at 5am. Once a blackout blind is fitted the room would be great. The owner said he was intending to fit one soon. He said there were two rooms like this. The food was good as well and saves going out to find somewhere to eat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by James from London

Recent refurbishment has done wonders

Posted Jun 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stayed here last year and since then the hotel has gone through a major refurbishment. It has worked wonders. The rooms are clean, the service is mostly friendly and it helped make my stay very enjoyable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gavin from London, UK

Good hotel for couples

Posted Mar 7, 2013
Pros: Room comfort and food.
Cons: The shower was hopeless.
Location: Well located for local tourist attractions.
Very nice place to stay and well located for local tourist attractions. The room was very comfortable including Sky HDTV and films, although being above a pub bar it was a little noisy at night. My only real gripe with the room was that the shower was hopeless, the hot water pressure was not enough to carry the hot water to the shower head....ended up showering on my knees, not good for someone 6 feet tall!!! The restaurant was good with good service, a really good menu selection and very good food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very pleasant location with total refurbishment of hotel having just been completed. Friendly staff but service was a little disjointed - probably due to having just re-opened. Willingly stay there again. Very well worth staying at.