Ratings based on 179 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fordie from Kent

hotel in good position with good facilities

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: The staff were very helpful and friendly. The décor in the public areas were really good
Cons: All the rooms should be of a good standard decoration wise. Comfort should be of importance. More room should be allowed for movement in the room
Location: Fantastic, Bournemouth just down the road, Poole and Christchurch near by a must to visit, not forgetting a visit to the New Forest
Unfortunately given a room that had a disappointing view, ie. enclosed in buildings with all the pipes wires etc to look at. Room too hot, not enough ventilation. Bed uncomfortable, more like a futon, wooden bed, thin mattress, headboard not solid, so pillows went through the slates. Not enough room at end of bed and window, kept knocking feet and knees when passing, husband tripped and fell over. Shower rigid, unable to move into position. Soap dispenser too far down from shower making it dangerous to stretch and reach. In need of decoration as there were water stains that had run down the wall from the roof. Outside room smelt of strong paint as they were in the middle of some redecoration.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Neil from Bristol, UK

Not a bad hotel, in a good location.

Posted Jun 26, 2014
I had booked into the smallest and cheapest room which is being offered. So when I entered the room I was not surprised about the small room, the only down side of the room was that it was next to the lift, meaning I could hear it at times, and there wasn't a view from the window. On the plus side, the staff was as helpful as possible, and the one small problem which I noticed in the room I informed the front desk, and this was fixed in about 5 mins, and was given some free drinks at the bar due to the fault. I was also informed that the hotel offered a free taxi from and to the train station which is a good benefit. One thing I would advised is the hotel is fully assessable for wheelchair users. Overall I would happily come back to this hotel, although I would pay a better room to enjoy the view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent value for money and great location

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Very polite and helpful staff! Excellent value for money considering location and quality of hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff, lovely hotel

Posted Jun 21, 2014
The only issue we had was the temperature of the room it was so hot we found it difficult to sleep
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by KTriz from Burnham UK

Friendly staff and close to the beach

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: The location and the decoration. It's close to the town and beach and the bars. it also has a bar, pool and great breakfast.
Cons: The beds, parking, the room price
Location: Town centre is a 10 minute walk away, parks and the seafront attractions. The beach is right in front of the hotel. The pier is about 5-10 minute walk
I liked the decor and the style of this hotel, my room was spacious enough for me and I had everything I needed. I was a little disappointed that at the price I paid for my room it didn't have an alarm clock and I had two beds pushed together instead of one queen or king bed, in fact I must say that was the most upsetting thing as one mattress was depressed and then there was an uncomfortable ridge in the middle. I've paid for a cheap cheap BnB in Bournemouth before and had a really comfy double bed, so I really didn't get this at all. I thoroughly enjoyed my breakfast though. The staff were really friendly and welcoming. I didn't have the water issue that people seem to find most upsetting, it was fine, a couple of minutes and the water was hot, but for the price I paid I expected a really swanky shower and really expensive fittings. I felt my room price was about 40% too dear for what I got. I definitely feel I've stayed at more prestige hotels for much much less.
2 out of 5
by Mark from WILTSHIRE

Definitely Disappointing.

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: The location is good, far enough out of central Bournemouth but close enough if you need to get in.
Cons: The bathroom/shower head (certainly the one I had anyway). "Double room" - not in a million years. Advertising needs to state these rooms are small.
Location: Good location. Clean good beaches nearby with cable car facility if needed to take you down to sea level.
After several recommendations I can only say how disappointed I was with my stay here. At ground level it certainly seems quite grand albeit a bit dark. However my room, for which I paid full price, was nothing great at all. Very small for a double which turned out to be termed a "comfort double". Bathroom very outdated with horrible floor tiles & the smallest shower head ever (maybe 1.5 inches in diameter). Very difficult to get the right mix on the shower due to very old type taps which didn't work that great & were almost positioned right against the back wall tiles. Sheets/bedding, etc all very clean - no complaints there but the room was excessively hot due to the heat of the day (it's only June) & the fact that the towel rail was permanently on (broken thermostat) & the radiator itself appeared to be on too. Had to leave main door onto corridor open for several hours to let heat out - Propped it open with my bed (Yes the bed was that close to the door). Several guests smiled as they went by in the corridor clearly aware why my door was open. The TV was small & positioned right up by the ceiling, the channels pixilated most of the time & the remote didn't work very well. Outside space seemed fine & pool although small, perfectly adequate. "Free" parking is a bit of a nightmare as nowhere near enough spaces but as it is free I accept you can't really complain that much. Service was ok but not outstanding. At the end of the day this is a 3 star hotel but not worth £100pn
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anna from Sydney

Good location close to beach and pier

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Grand old hotel, lovely breakfast, friendly staff. Only problem was room above us had creaking floor boards, so sounded like someone was stomping around in heavy boots and wondered if ceiling would hold up or collapse on top of us. When they stopped, everything was lovely again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for beach and town.

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Liked the staff, lovely terrace, good breakfast, good location
Cons: Carpet in bedroom was very old and likewise the tv.
Location: Close to beach and town centre for shopping.
Good value, great location and very friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karen from Sittingbourne

A lovely Art Deco hotel opposite the beach

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: Art Deco style, very stylish and looks quite recently refurbished. Nice outdoor area to sit and have a drink and a swim.
Cons: Limited parking, once parked, it's not easy to get another space especially when busy. If you just want a relaxing time then you don't need to move.
Location: Bournemouth Pier, a lovely park very close by to quite a nice high street with lots of shops.
We stayed for a long weekend and was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It is opposite the beach but it's quite a long walk down to the beach for those with walking problems but there is a lift just along the road which takes you down. Outdoor pool was lovely and as we were lucky with the weather, it was just like being abroad. There is waitress service around the pool and we ate twice in the restaurant and the food is good standard. We had room at the back overlooking the car park but the rooms on the front have sea view and balconies. The only down side was the bed was a bit springy and the room a bit on the small side but nevertheless very adquate, with plenty wardrobe space and tea/coffee in room. Overall a very enjoyable stay and would definitely stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: The pool area and breakfast were good.
Cons: This is a refurbished old hotel. Although it is done nicely, it means that there are still a few problems, such as hot rooms, noisy floors etc.
Location: Great beach is a short walk. Also, worth a drive to the beach at Sandbanks.
We arrived early so checked in and had lunch while we waited for room to be ready. We still had to wait after 2.30 when the room should have been ready. When we finally got to our room it was extremely hot (>30 deg). No air-conditioning and window that would not open. They tried to fix it and ended up putting a portable air-con unit it. However, this was pushing out as much hot air as it was cold and had no effect. As we had a 12 week old baby with us we told them we could not stay in this room. They were full so they offered us room in a sister hotel. We had to move, but the quality of the sister hotel was much lower. We ended up in a very uncomfortable twin room above a very noisy wedding reception!! They offered us a free meal to compensate and the next day we moved back to the original hotel in a better room. On reflection, a free meal did not compensate the inconvenience of the moving as well as the poor room we ended up in on the first night.