Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Quiet hideaway in Dorset.

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Nice B and B in a remote location (car is a must). Great base for walking and seeing Dorset. Bed: Comfortable room. Clean enough but could be better. Bed wasn't the best. Rubbish mattress and squeaked every time you so much as turned over. Breakfast: ok. Fruit was old and the cereal was slightly stale but they provide a good choice including a fry up. As a pub, it wants to be a local pub for local people which is fine but seems to need the business of the "residents". Most staff very friendly to us but on at least 2 occasions we were left waiting to order a drink while the landlord chatted loudly to locals (having made eye contact and ignored us). Eventually served by "staff". Food was mediocre and over priced. And things on the already limited menu were unavailable. The menu on the website not even close to what they offer (I'm writing this in March 2015 - in case that changes)! Except the carvery. Excellent carvery. Good value! A number of Hall and Woodhouse pubs in the area offer a better menu at reasonable prices with excellent service. We opted to eat at those instead. All in all we would probably not stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly and comfortable place to stay

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Warm welcome. Clean rooms with very nice on-suite shower room. Nice touches included complimentary bottles of water. Great value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cornwall

Excellent B & B just North of Dorchester.

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pros: The friendly staff and excellent food, particularly the game casserole (you don't need extra side dishes like chips!!). The location is superb.
Location: Ansty is a beautiful little hamlet with other gorgeous hamlets nearby. Ideal for walkers or anyone wishing to explore Dorset in any direction.
My partner and I stayed for three nights at The Fox Inn at Ansty and had a memorable, for the right reasons, time. Ansty is in an excellent location for exploring Dorset. We found it ideal for travelling to Purbeck, Lulworth Cove and Durdle Door, and also to Bournemouth and Christch Church. The staff were superb and made us very welcome.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Kingsbridge

No Mobil Signal and wireless not available in room

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Food was good.
Cons: Wifi
This pub hotel was a lot further off the beaten track than I expected! When I arrived I was surprised to be told the only reliable wireless signal was in the bar as it advertises free wifi. Got to my room and realised I had no mobile signal, no landline in the room and therefore no contact with the outside world. On returning to the bar to use wifi I was told mobiles dint work anywhere in the pub.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Zoefrom Windsor

Lovely 50th birthday celebrations at The Fox

Posted Dec 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
We have just returned from a one night stay at The Fox , a family get together to celebrate my 50 birthday. We chose it as it was a good meeting point for family members living in Windsor and Bournemouth - not too far to travel, and it meant that no one had to host or cook dinner. A bonus was that we coul bring the family dog. The location is lovely, amidst countryside with thatch cottages and lovely walks. Sharon and Keith are amazing hosts, so friendly: they really make you feel welcome and treat you as individuals. The food was great and the rooms were lovely. It is a lovely, clean, comfortable country Inn. The only thing that stopped me giving full marks is that an open fire woul have made it perfect. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jeremyfrom France

Excellent stay

Posted Dec 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fabulous!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Christophefrom Lyon

L'authenticité à la sauce anglaise

Posted Nov 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Le 4/5 pour le quartier est à relativiser. Il n'y a pas grand chose dans les environs. Mais c'est pour cela que c'est bon ! En somme, excellent pour ceux qui recherchent la tranquillité du Dorset, glauque pour les "excités".
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Clean and very friendly

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
All the staff were amazingly friendly and went out of there way to make our stay as smooth as possible . The breakfast was great with fresh local ingredients .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay for business

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Warm welcome and well looked after during my visit.