Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Potters Bar

Lovely hotel near to Sherbourne

Posted Apr 29, 2015
Pros: The staff
Cons: The wifi in the rooms.
Location: Very near the town of Sherbourne with its ancient abbey.
This is a lovely hotel a short drive from Sherbourne. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were clean and well equipped.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Shropshire

Welcoming, friendly and comfortable.

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Its quiet, efficient and friendly environment.
Location: Peaceful rural location, but within easy reach of Dorsets many attractions. For example = Corfe Castle, Abbotsbury Swannery, Lime Regis, Sherboune etc
The hotel staff were friendly and courteous and made us most welcome. The bedroom was comfortable and the room service excellent. The lounge was comfortable and the open fire added to the ambiance. The menu was varied, providing plenty of choice and the Full English Breakfast set us up for the day. The meals were hot and the restaurant service left nothing to be desired. The quiet rural setting of the hotel enabled us to have a restful break. Will recommend this hotel to our friends.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Traceyfrom Cambridgeshire

Very enjoyable weekend !

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
Lovely rural location but only a stones throw from Sherborne, beautiful hotel, very helpful staff ..nice breakfast, dinner in the restaurant on Valentine's evening was very good ... I had the fillet steak, delicious !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joannefrom Camberley

Fantastic

Posted Nov 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was in a beautiful setting. Staff very helpful. Evening meal and breakfast delicious. Woukd definitely return
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom australia

In beautiful area

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: The area of Sherborne is very beautiful and only a 5 GBP cab fare from Sherborne station
Cons: The furniture in our bedroom no. 9 was poorly arranged.
Staff very helpful. Breakfast could be better. Fresh fruit should be offered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very Relaxing

Posted Sep 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here on the last night of our trip and it was very good. Lovely hotel, great room, good food and helpful, friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in beautiful country setting

Posted Sep 10, 2014
This is a lovely, family run hotel that my wife and I stayed in for a midweek break. The staff were very friendly and exceptionally helpful, even managing to rustle up a hot water bottle to ease my pregnant wives stomach pain. We found the room very comfortable and well appointed as well as clean. It is a picturesque building in even more picturesque surroundings, and the nearby town of Sherborne is lovely as well as boasting an Abbey Church and two castles. I would recommend it to our friends and family.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mark & Lindafrom Lake Como, NJ

Cosistently good

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed here 10 years ago, and it was just as nice as the first time. The hotel itself and the staff & food were all top rate. Our room had a gigantic baolcony and a four poster bed, and a newly redone bathroom. The only complaint is that the mattress needs to be replaced. It was not comfortable at all. Hopefully it is the next thing on their 'to do' list.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom UK

We'll be back!

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Location: Sherborne is beautiful, well worth visiting. Several National Trust properties within reach.
Where to start? With the warm welcome and information about interesting places to visit. Continuing with the pleasant room and comfortable bed. Then there was the friendly, attentive service and the quiet atmosphere. And finally, some of the best food we've ever eaten. We had a great time and can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Thomas familyfrom South Carolina

Charming hotel in glorious countryside village

Posted May 2, 2014
Pros: The staff, the location, the amenities, the grounds, the restaurant - everything was perfect!
Location: The village is charming with lots of local walks on byeways and footpaths.
From check in until we left, every detail of our stay was just wonderful. Oborne is a quaint village with charming people and The Grange looked after us so well. Dinner in the restaurant was outstanding! We'd love to go back again on a future visit to Somerset.