Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Close to the town centre but noisy

Posted Jul 29, 2014
We had booked 2 nights recently in a family room. Instead of having bunk beds in the room as advertised we were in a standard room where the furniture had been shifted to squeeze in a single cot for our child. The hallway floors are incredibly squeaky and lots of slamming room doors to contend with in the night. Our room overlooked the garden and the staff began setting up for a wedding reception at 8am on the Sunday morning. We were awake but it was annoying to have the noise outside so early in the morning. The swimming pool is only accessible through a separate door inside the hotel and it is very hot inside - if just supervising children swimming, be prepared to be uncomfortable if you don't like hit and humid environments. There are glass doors and walls surrounding the swimming pool so all the other hotel guests sitting outside can watch you as you swim or walk about in your swimming costume. We ate in the main restaurant and were very disappointed with the food. We had a set menu because that was all that was offered to us and the food was very unimpressive to say the least and really over-priced. We noticed after we'd finished our meal that other customers were eating different food to the meals on the set menu. It is a shame we weren't given the option of A la carte too. We decided not to stay the second night and cut our holiday short because of the experience there. Won't be going back again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay hotel, very noisy at night

Posted Jul 16, 2014
The hotel is pleasant enough, however some decoration is certainly required. Doors, paintwork definatly need attention. The hotel was so noisy we had no sleep for 3 nights. All you could here was the floor creaking whenever anyone used the corridor outside. Teenagers running riot through the corridors til all hours. The weather was lovely so as there was no air con we had to have the windows open but then all you could here was drunks outside the window, and delivery drivers at silly o'clock in the morning. The hotel was nice enough in a good location for bournemouth itself. But next time I will try elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Solihull

Lovely hotel, will return

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Staff, cleanliness, location, room, food, service and atmosphere were all huge plus points
Cons: Creaky floorboards, re-tilling the jacuzzi.
Location: Beach, shopping, park, restaurants, walks, exploring the coast line, sea food, local villages
Had a great time in Bournemouth with my girlfriend and my parents. I'm 19 and I have to say this area and hotel suited us (myself and girlfriend) and my parents equally, a brilliant mix of what could be asked for in the area. A very comfortable and quiet sleep even though we slept with the windows open. The floorboards in the corridors creak aggressively but we couldn't hear that from in the room. The breakfasts were fantastic and the service was brilliant, food being changed constantly to supply the demands of the customers. Will definitely return here again and perhaps even try the cakes and tea, and maybe even the very appetising menus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Bournemouth Stay

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Comfortable and quiet. Excellent breakfast with minimal grease on the full English. Nice enclosed rear garden. Gentle walk into town centre.
Cons: Not really. Fair price for a perfectly satisfactory hotel in a good location.
Location: Central location with all main attractions and restaurants a few minutes away.
3 night stay to attend a course in the International Conference Centre (10 minute walk away). Arrived by car. No trouble finding hotel....pink exterior helped! Good onsite secure covered parking but £13 per night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joe

Good but could be better

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Excellent facilities and location
Cons: Staff attitude towards the guests
Location: There was the food and beer festival which provided us with free entertainment for most of the weekend
the room was rather small. The tea and coffee facilities were 'hidden' in a cupboard and took us 2days to discover them. Staff attitude was good in most , but some never smiled and treated us very indifferently. The facilities of the hotel were excellent though.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weekend Break

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Stayed at this hotel 20-years ago so had been looking forward to my break. Boy!was I disappointed. Bathroom was not particularly clean. Carpet near pool very shabby as was the restaurant used for breakfast. Staff covering did not explain, simply showed us to the table and left us to get on with it. Not impressed this is no longer 4 star.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liz from Sussex

Beautiful hotel central location

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: The location, the building, the staff and the good atmosphere.
Cons: The parking was convenient, but pricey. There was a noisy fan running constantly at the back, which we did get used to, but may be a problem for some!
Location: Go along to Urban Reef for a fabulous meal or South Coast Roast (just down the hill) for coffee. The beach at Southbourne is more peaceful.
The staff were friendly and eager to please. Our custom made tea was a highlight! The room was beautiful, with a window in the bathroom and windows that actualty opened. Location was wonderful, close to the town centre and to the beach. Parking was not an issue as there is an underground car park.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by TB from London

Pretty good hotel and very good location

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: location was good and swimming pool was good for families (although shallow end at 0.9m isn't that shallow)
Cons: No real need for the car park entrance to be so narrow. Driver side bollard not performing any real function
Traditional hotel with character. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Could do with a lick of paint and fixtures/fittings are on the cheap side but overall it was pretty good value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Gurps from birmingham

could be very good

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was nice and the family room was great and the location was perfect. Unfortunately the hotel seemed to be understaffed. One the first day the corridor to our room was full of room service dishes and tray left outside of the rooms. It was like this all day until I mentioned to reception. Also lots of used dished left on the loby table. Same really as otherwise potential to be very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by HayleyD

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com