Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The best of the worst.

Posted Jul 4, 2014
What can I say? If this is the only four star hotel in Doula, I CRINGE to know what anything less would look like!!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bernard Mokam from Atlanta, GA USA

Conveniently located with dedicated staff

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Compared to most hotels in Douala, the quality of service of the Meridien is superior. While the hotel is conveniently located, its infrastructure and amenities need some upgrade. It was pleasing to see that the hotel management is working toward that. The staff is well trained, courteous and very professional. The rooms are cleaned although the room rate remain high compared to international standards. Overall the stay at the hotel is pleasant
2 out of 5
by Ben from New York, NY

Too expensive for what it is.

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Pros: It is cleaner than most hotel in town and the beds are OK for an hotel of this sort.
Cons: The staff is quite nice overall. But the amenities of the hotel quite average and the price too expensive.
Location: The hotel is located in Bonandjo, the administrative district of Douala. It is more secured and quiet.
The room rate is too high and the service quite mediocre overall. There is absolutely nothing that justified the price charged by the Meridien in Douala. The rooms are quite modest, the food quite average and the hotel design is actually quite ugly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robert from Chandler, AZ

One of the best in West Africa

Posted Dec 17, 2013
I have stayed in several other SPG brand hotels in the region and this hotel stay was by far the best. Very friendly and accommodating front desk staff. I ate twice at the outdoor poolside restaurant and the wait staff was the most friendly I have encountered in Africa. Food was good. room was clean, shower was hot, property was safe. I will definitely return on my next trip to Douala.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Fraserdyce from Aberdeen

Douala stay

Posted Nov 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Short stay in Meridien Douala and hotel is a good standard for West Africa. Good service from hotel to and from the airport. Rooms clean, reasonable wifi access and food fine in hotel with good breakfast selection.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Souleymane from Bangui

Has improved since my last stay

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Pros: The food is outstanding and staff is friendly
Cons: The hotel feels old and would need to be refurbished
The first night I spent in this hotel recently was horrible, the elevator wobbled, the TV did not work and there was no hot water. There have been significant improvements since, my room was clean, there was hot water and the TV worked. The Hotel could invest in some lighting in the corridors which look a little gloomy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Bidness from tx

just ok

Posted Sep 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was just ok. Overpriced but no too many options in Douala.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Justin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ana Maria

Posted Mar 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was short but wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Aurelie from Newport Beach, CA, USA

An oasis in the city

Posted Oct 16, 2012
Le Meridien is an oasis in the city. I come back every year.