Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great spot, incredible service

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: pretty much everything.
Cons: would be great if the hot tub were open past 10/11. i understand why, but we were on vacation and looking forward to a hot soak before bed. oh well!
very cozy, charming aesthetics and a simply delightful staff. the hot tub wouldn't heat up for us but that's my only complaint (and it turns out we may have been trying to get in shortly after closing). complementary breakfast vouchers for the delicious diner across the parking lot was the icing on the cake. and not just rolls and cold cereal -- a full on hot breakfast of your choosing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Curt from Detroit

Small tidy Motel.

Posted Mar 3, 2014
The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was pleasant. would recommend to a friend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cleanest, friendliest, hotel we have yet stayed in

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Very accomadating owners. Wonderfully clean rooms. On the small size, but we weren't there to stay in the room!! "Crisp sheets" was the phrase that pushed me to the side of booking this hotel, and that was exactly what we got! Fresh, crisp sheeting, great shower, hot tub out your back door, coupons for breakfast at the diner almost next door, a great experience. Let me say it again, really wonderful hosts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Travelgirl from Champaign, IL

Hidden Gem!

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Pros: Decor was modern & reflected the area. There's a rear entrance patio area with a hot tub, gas grill and adirondac chairs for those with a longer stay
Cons: The mattress was a little too firm for me.....otherwise I totally enjoyed our stay!
Location: It's an artisan area on the Kalamazoo River and Lake Michigan, you have beaches, shops, eateries, Saugatuck Dunes rides. Downtown Douglas is awesome!
We had such a wonderful stay here! The area is beautiful with so many things to see and do! Shopping is fab! Our hosts were so inviting. He showed us to our room and gave a tour. The room was spotless!!! I love that he even went into the history of the area and gave us a few pointers on the local eateries.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Otta from Ann Arbor

Saugatuck/Douglas Stay

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Pros: close to the state park, good breackfast, clean roomss, friendly staff
Cons: nothing
Location: the hotel is next to the main road, but it's quiet at night
Nice quiet motel if you are in Saugatuck/Douglas area. The motel property is well maintained, staff friendly and helpful. Nice backyard with hot tab.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sena from Indianapolis

Nicely revamped hotel close to everything.

Posted Jul 25, 2013
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Maybe a room darkening shade. Kind of light in there.
Location: Beautiful beaches, great shops and antiques, restaurants, wineries and breweries. Checking out James Brandess' art is a must.
My husband and I stayed her recently on a getaway. The Saugatuck/Douglas area has always been one of our favorite places, but it can get a bit pricey to stay there in the summer. I saw the Blue Star while looking online for a place to stay. I am picky about where I stay and spend quite a bit of time researching hotel reviews. The rates at the Blue Star were very reasonable and the pictures looked promising. It turned out to be a great choice. The guys that run it are very friendly and helpful. The place itself has been completely renovated and has everything you need. Very clean and comfortable with modern decor. It even has a kitschy plastic molded moose head over the bed. They supply snacks, juice and water for the guests. There is a microwave, mini fridge, closet and modern TV. The sheets and comforter smelled like fabric softener. Nice! Outside there is a covered patio that runs the length of the motel. There are two Adirondack chairs for each room and a deck with nice furniture, and a new and very relaxing hot tub. They give you coupons for the restaurant next door which serves breakfast all day. Which means you don't have to wake up early to catch breakfast before you check out. It was a little brighter in our room than we are used to, but overall a really good experience. We went to Petoskey and Mackinaw Island and stayed at the Blue Start Motel again on our way back home. Highly recommend and have been telling my Indianapolis friends about it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ginny from Colorado

Very nice.

Posted Jul 16, 2013
Pros: It was spotless, and offered a goody basket plus water and juice free of charge, and a breakfast coupon.
Location: Shopping and the Oval Beach on Lake Michigan
Our room at Blue Star was very nice. This is an older hotel that has been tastefully updated with modern ammenities and tastefully decorated. Everything about our room was spotless. Despite being on the road it was relatively quiet. The room was small, but who spends their time in the room with Lake Michigan's beautiful Oval Beach and shopping within driving distance. They also offered a coupon for breakfast at a restaurant just a short walk away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Linda from Ohio

Great little place to stay!

Posted Jun 25, 2013
Pros: Friendly manager-owner, great bed, nice back yard off each room, close to downtown Douglas and Saugatuck.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to downtown Douglas and art galleries, short drive to Saugatuck.
This is a lovely little motel very close to downtown Douglas and Saugatuck. Very friendly owner-manager! The most comfortable bed I have ever slept in with wonderful bedding as well. A lovely little veranda off the back of each room to rest and enjoy the lovely yard in the back of the motel. Highly recommend this sweet place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from Northville, MI

Nice hotel centrally located.

Posted Jun 17, 2013
Pros: A neat spot centrally located.
Cons: Room size.
Location: Excellent
A good experience. We would return if the opportunity presented itself..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tony and Brian from Bournemouth, UK

A gem of a place

Posted Jun 14, 2013
Pros: The deck and hot tub area
Cons: Found nothing wrong with the place
Location: Great location, with some great bars and restaurants within walking distance!
A modern refreshing take on the traditional American motel. So glad we found this gem of a place. Perfect location and great facilities, the staff and owners were so friendly and helpful. Can't wait to visit this part of America again some time and paying the boys of the blue star motel a return visit