Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Finland

It can not get better than this!

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: The entire package, see my earlier comments.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: He hotel is as central as it can get. Walk around the old town and enjoy!
Previous reviewers have probably covered everything, so I'll just add some things that comes to my mind. We were upgraded to a wonderful room, the service is amazing and very friendly, the hotel with the michelin star restaurant, big pool area, great terrace, wonderful small rooms and libraries, the entire castle-like building at the river - amazing! There was a big festival when we arrived, so I called the hotel and said I am not allowed to drive to the hotel (roads closed) - so they offered to meet us wherever we park, get us and the luggage to the hotel - and drive our car to the hotel when possible! And if you went to, say, France to a hotel like this you would probably be spending 5x compares to Casa de Calcada. We actually liked it so much that after we visited the Douro area we came back to this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barry from London

Wonderful Stay

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Great hotel with excellent staff who could not have been more helpful.You must try the restaurant which was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by fruit farmer from Okanagan BC

5 star hotel, great service

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: All good
Cons: Nothing
Location: quiet town with a few shops and restaurants, 45 minutes to Porto
Very good restaurant, well appointed, great staff, all we expected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lil' Hesk from Manchester UK

Elegant and Comfortable

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Stunning setting, beautiful grounds out of this world food. Luxurious bedrooms, classically styled public areas. This hotel is truly difficult to beat. We only stayed 2 nights as we've been travelling around Portugal, wish it could have been longer!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tracy from London

Beautiful hotel in the most beautiful location....

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: Absolutely everything!
Cons: I don't believe there is anything that could be improved on.
Location: Quiet location, small village with coffee shops and an amazing tapas restaurant! The owner was so welcoming and helpful and the food was fantastic.
My husband and I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and the whole experience, from start to finish, was wonderful! The hotel is beautiful and the staff were so attentive and helpful. Our room was amazing, we had a beautiful view of the River. Breakfast was fantastic and the service impeccable. Amarante is a small but wonderful town, very picturesque. We hired a car and drove to the town of Porto twice, which again, is the most beautiful town. We will most definitely be returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gail S. from Porter Ranch, CA

Wonderful! Wonderful!

Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
You are treated like royalty from the moment you walk through the front door.The service is impeccable. Our room was gorgeous. When we were taken to our first room, while it was beautiful, my husband decided he wanted a view of the river. For a small upgrade fee, we were given even a nicer room. At every corner of the hotel, there is something interesting to look at. There is even a secret room for you to find. We even played a game of pool in the game room. Unfortunately, it was too cool to go for a dip in the very nice pool. The Michelin rated restaurant is worth the price. You will not get the large portions typical of Portuguese cooking, but you you will taste an elegant delicious meal served by professionals in a lovely dining room. Here is another example of a Portuguese hotel that if it were in the U.S. it would be two to three times the price. My husband would have loved to have taken the hotel up on the "golf experience" offered at a very reasonable price but there wasn't enough time. I also want to mention that the historic area is just across a small bridge at the base of the hotel driveway. Truly an outstanding place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Maria from London

Fabulous hotel with wonderful views over the river

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Pros: Everything, especially (see above) the open air swimming pool and the parks around it ... on the 4th floor! Spectacular sights...
Cons: N/A
Location: Amarante is lovely in itself, but for us it meant a convenient and central place to travel to other fantastic areas nearby.
We spent two glorious days at this hotel and loved it, of course. Perhaps the most memorable part of it is the entire 4th floor with its open air swimming pool and marvellous gardens: unforgettable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very good hotel

Posted May 3, 2013
Pros: the patio - it get afternoon sun and the high tea was lovely.
Cons: nothing
Location: in a little town that has a few very interesting shops. The bus stop is about 10 minutes walk from the hotel and its worth going into Porto for a day
Room was lovely, staff were very friendly and attentive, food was superb. Would defenitly go again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janet from Manchester, UK

Relaxing & Beautiful

Posted May 1, 2013
Pros: The Hotel itself, the staff, the food, the cleaniness, its location.
Cons: It was a shame that the pool was closed for my stay, seasonal...the pool would benefit a removable covered roof, and be heated? To be used all year?
Location: Stunning location.
4 night stay 22nd April 2013. Absolutely stunning, loved it!! Superb Hotel, Superb Staff, Superb food. The Hotel itself, very charming, beautiful style. All the staff were lovely and very helpful, Margarita was particularly helpful to me and I was very grateful for that, since I was travelling on my own. The Food was second to none and lived up to its Michelin Star. Gorgeous setting, amazing building and beautifully well kept. Charming gardens, both at the entrance to the Hotel and higher up behind the Hotel surrounding the pool area. Gorgeous views. Amarante is also very beautiful and a quirky town in some ways, very picturesque. A little hilly in some parts, but that all adds to the charm. Lots of Churches and cultural buildings to visit. The Bridge and the River Tamega, lovely, so peaceful, there is also a very nice park, enough shops, cafes and restaurants, but all in all quite a laid back place, away from the maddening crowds! Then its in an amazing place also, to tour the surrounding area, i.e. the Douro Valley, because its basically slap bang in the middle. I was fortunate the weather was particularly nice that week, I used a hire car and travelled a bit in the area, it was lovely and the roads are great.