Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Greg from Melbourne Australia

Elegance in the Douro

Posted Feb 1, 2014
Pros: The restaurant: breakfasts lovely, dinner sumptuous, wine impeccably selected and served at (as usual in Portugal) a ridiculously low price.
Cons: The drive there - but of course that's out of the hotel's control
Location: It's all about the wine really. Touring the quintas, imagining the Douro in its 'wild river' days, finding rare treasures in the cellars
Drove to Pinhao from Porto and spent two nights at the beautifully appointed Vintage House, part of a 2-week visit to Portugal with a focus on wine. My advice would be to take the train and pick up your rental car in Pinhao: the drive is so tricky that you miss the magnificent views (we would have missed them anyway due to fog but the advice still holds). The Douro region is fascinating and there are numerous quintas open for inspection and sales even in low season; the Vintage House staff can point you in the right direction. Pinhao is nothing special to look at but is well positioned with a few nice places to eat; there are river cruises which weren't running when we were there and I'm glad because we enjoyed a train ride to Pocinho and back instead.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Classy hotel in port country overlooking vineyards

Posted Nov 15, 2013
Pros: Everything. Impeccable rooms, common areas, food and vistas overlooking vineyards and river.
Cons: Nothing
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by AB

Amazing

Posted Sep 17, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing to be improved
Location: The Douro!
I simply cannot fault the experience at the Vintage at all. From the moment we arrived and were offered a glass of porto wine, the excellent dinner with matched wines, the comfort of the rooms and the facilities of the estate. Amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by CA from NY

Great position in gorgeous landscape

Posted Aug 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Wonderful hotel in a magical spot in the Duoro Valley. Very much worth the trip. The only negative was the dinner. There are better places to eat nearby. But not to be missed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ag from Copenhagen

Perfect!

Posted Aug 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
The best! Rooms, breakfast, service, restaurant, pool, tennis, garden, library bar, view - everything was good. Stayed in 116 and 117 with door between. Both rooms with large terrasses, beautiful view to the Douro and the boats passing by - direct access also to a very romantic garden. Breakfast served in the most romantic patio... Recommend this hotel for a stay in the Douro Region.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Connecticut, USA

Perfect relaxation

Posted Jul 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel met all expectations and was one of the nicest stays we've ever had. The restaurant, surrounding area, boat ride up the Duero all great. The staff let us check in early and out late in order to extend our stay around the boat ride.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Julian from Western Australia

A hotel to relax

Posted Jul 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
My wife and I loved this hotel. The restaurant food was the best we had on our trip to portugal
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Miss Betty from Las Vegas

Great location in Pinhao

Posted Jun 25, 2013
Pros: The ease of planning the our activities and reservations. Pretty location on the river.
Cons: The wine sommelier knew very little about wine and the wine served with the pre-set menus was cheap and terrible.
Location: DOC restaurant was fantastic. The private rabello boat ride was really fun and beautiful.
Through email, the concierge arranged everything that we asked for and wanted to do. The day activities were just what we wanted and was a great time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gina from Portugal

Perfect for experiencing the Douro valley

Posted Jun 10, 2013
Pros: The hotel's location right on the river is excellent; many pleasant public areas/rooms
Cons: This was our second visit and like the first time, we had to wait 30 min+ for our room to be ready.
Perfect hotel for a visit to the Douro valley. Comfortable rooms with good river views, a decent breakfast and generally good service. Dinner in the restaurant was good, but not excellent - the location and service were better than the food and I'm note sure it was worth the higher than average bill (for Portugal). On the positive side, I noticed that the staff handled a very challenging guest very well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted May 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent staff. Very helpful.