Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Independence, MO

Comfortable bed, but you better bring ear plugs

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Comfortable bed
Cons: Needs some major soundproofing in the room. With the water shortage in CA the Jacuzzi tubs might not be the best idea.
Location: Easy to find, close to 605, 5 and 105 freeways.
Staff was pleasant. Very old fashioned check-in system, couldn't give me a receipt when we checked out. Room was roasting when we entered it, but looked clean and cooled down quickly. Bed was very comfortable. Coffee maker, larger fridge, microwave. Windows need updating - you can hear everything anyone is saying outside the room and can hear traffic. WiFi did not work. Nice selection for breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: good breakfast
Cons: Have rooms ready in time and have them cleaned properly
Check in for the hotel was at 3 pm. I got there at 3:15 pm and they didn't have any rooms cleaned. The receptionist claimed they had a busy day the day prior and staff was trying to get all the rooms cleaned. They told me it would take a minimum of 30 minutes before I could check in. The fridge had old smelly food it was obvious they didn't clean it. I wouldn't recommend this hotel. The staff was nice, but someone needs to manage the place better.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

OK Hotel With Some Major Issues

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: the bed, location
Cons: staff response to room issues
Location: down the street from Golf N Stuff (the best mini golf in the country, IMO), Wilderness Park, lots of really good Mexican food, Stonewood Mall
My family stayed in this hotel from 7/1/15 to 7/5/15. The air conditioner leaked water on the floor during our entire stay and after two nights there was a wet spot on the rug about two feet wide and five feet long. We reported this to hotel staff after the first night and they said someone would be up that day to clean it up; no one every showed. We reported it to hotel staff again the following day and again said someone would look into it; again no one showed. Hotel staff finally offered to move us to another room the afternoon before we left, but we were unwilling to move six large suitcases and several other large bags into another room that we were going to be in for less than ten hours. There was an odor of something...rotting that would come and go in the closet. The smell of someone smoking would occasionally come into the bathroom. However, with all the issues this room had, the beds were extremely comfortable. In fact, they're probably the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever slept on. The hotel was also well located to my family that we visited while in Downey and very close to the I-5 and I-605. I've stayed in at least a dozen Comfort Inn's over the last 10 years and usually have a generally good experience. Given the price I paid for this room, I absolutely will not stay in this hotel again the next time I'm in Downey.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Low quality

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Bed was comfortable and had a lot of pillow.
Cons: A lot.
Location: Area seems to be doing a lot of updating and new establishments going in.
The hotel is currently in renovation mode. I was not made aware of this at all. The workmanship of the renovation is poor and not much attention to detail. Staff I encountered were very pleasant. Parking was a bit tight. There was construction debris and projects happening everywhere. The place was very run down. I understand having to renovate, but would expect to be notified of this. Since I was staying for work and not vacation it was not a huge deal. My wife and kids would not have stayed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Place Convenient....

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: Convenience for visits to my relatives.
Cons: Complete all of the renovations.
The rooms are always clean and comfortable. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Unfortunately, this place always seems to be under some type of renovation or change involving construction activities that take up limited parking spaces, making a lot of noise during the day. Still a convenient place to stay for me.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 8, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by philip from Las Vegas

reasonable and friendly

Posted Oct 18, 2014 on Hotels
It is fair priced hotel and clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Martinez, CA

Central location in Downey, Ca

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: The staff was friendly
Cons: Their cleaning supplies
Location: On a main street and across from an mall
Room had a very strong chemical smell, but everything else for good. Based on that, I will never stay at an comfort inn again. Staff was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2014 by sachin, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. Sincerely, Sachin General Manager Comfort Inn - Downey 5628033555
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels