Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dayton, OH

Inside is what counts

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: The outside
Location: All kinds of restaurants, mal,l shopping. Rental car close by
The outside is a bit run down but the room itself was very nice. I have stayed in many places when visiting my daughter in Los Angeles and most of them were 4 & 5 star hotels. This being said my room at the comfort inn was as nice if not nicer than some of the rooms in other hotels that I have stayed in. My bed and bedding was amazing, so comfortable, the shower was nice . Contoling the temperature a/c in my room is very importatnt to me and I was able to keep my room just like I like it. The hotel is also located in a very convenient location by restaurants & shopping. I would definetely stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from E.

Nice rooms inside ugly exterior

Posted Jul 1, 2014
This hotel was pretty nice from the inside but from the outside it was pretty ghetto. You could see old furniture outside of the rooms and mattresses that they tried to hide from behind a big drape. Outside our room it smelled like urine. Before we got into our room there was a gang member waiting for a ride and that was scary and he looked pretty suspicious. The breakfast was okay and the rooms where actually nice and clean. If it had a better exterior I would give it a better rating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from whittier ca

Rude male office attendant

Posted Jun 20, 2014
At check in male office attendent was rude stated he would not take my card and then informed me to wait out side as he walked around so I left did not stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dee

Service

Posted May 28, 2014
Our stay was was great thanks to John who made it all possible. Thank you
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2014 by sachin, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Dear Gregory, Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our Comfort Inn Downey. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Jon Montoya Asst. General Manager Comfort Inn - Downey 5628033555
2 out of 5
by robert from san bernadino

Crappy place

Posted May 8, 2014
Rooms were well below average. Didn't even have a lamp/light in the bedroom area. Shower was tiny and water leaked all over outside of it because the curtains were so thing it just soaked through. The parking lot looked like a garage sale. There was stuff everywhere from hotel rooms. Walls were paper thin and you could hear everything outside and on each side of your rooms from the ppl next door. Was nothing like the pictures on expedia. Will never stay at a comfort inn again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never Again

Posted Jan 4, 2014
We would never stay there again. Tired rooms, not vacuumed, never sure if we would get fully stocked each day--sometimes no drinking/coffee cups and coffee. Our room didn't have a safe. Our friends' room did but it was broken. The pool was itty bitty. Certainly not up to Comfort Inn's standards.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2014
Dear, Please accept our sincere apologies. Please visit us upon completion of our renovation. We promises you the best place to stay in San Clemente. We did post in our Choice web sight about our remodeling. Give us a second chance. Armendo. G.M
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall the stay was OK. Got to the hotel and our room was not ready, although we were a little early. Desk clerk checked us in adequately and said to check back in 30-45 minutes. We did and room was ready. There was a lot of renovation of rooms occurring so the place was, not our room, somewhat messed up with rooms open and in the midst of being renovated and ladders and such laying around. The night went OK but one can hear the street noise from the room (we were in the back part of the motel). The noise sounded like wind and not true street traffic. In the morning the breakfast was a full breakfast, so that was nice. Overall the service was good and our stay was satisfactory. If I had to stay in this area again, which is very unlikely, I would look for somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Quality Staff

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel staff was very friendly. We stayed in two different rooms because I messed up the reservation and only booked one night and rooms were in limited supply the second night. The first night was in one of their older rooms and had a funny smell. The second night was in one of their newly renovated rooms and it was much nicer. The hotel staff was very accommodating with the fact that I messed up our reservation and had our second room ready for us to move our stuff in the morning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by Happy traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 25, 2013