Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Keith from Suffolk

Quirky but fine.

Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel looks a bit quirky on the outside but it really is fine. Everything is clean and the service is very good. The bar is well-stocked and the food is very good. I would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by T. from New Zealand.

A lovely, historic hotel.

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: I liked everything from the photographs and quirky sayings on the walls and ceiling of the bar, to the friendliness of all the staff.
Location: The hotel is very central. As we were only there for one night I can only say that there are a couple of pubs nearby!
My brother and his mate from Australia and myself from New Zealand stayed at the Castle Hotel on October 28th, 2013. We were flying home the next day and wanted to visit a relative who lived nearby. The staff were extremely helpful when we tried to get a taxi (although none were available). Everybody was friendly and made our short stay very enjoyable. A highlight for me might seem silly to others but I can only eat bacon when it's really crispy so don't usually ask for it for breakfast but I was assured it could be done and it was!! Little things like that will not be forgotten!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by the happy traveller from Manchester

Revamp on the way!

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
I found a tiredness to the place and think they may be at the start of a renovation project, I certainly hope so as it could do with a freshen up. I had to move rooms due to the top floor room making awful plumbing noises all day and night, but the owner said they had never had a complaint before! - Hmm.. To be fair the owned did relocate me but at the front of the hotel and for such a small town, this road is unbelievably noisy all times of the day and night (boy racers racetrack apparently!!) the breakfast was strange in that you had to order ABSOLUTELY everything, (except orange juice) so you had to guess what they had in stock. when the food came it was piping hot and fresh. i found the rate i paid to be a bit overpriced for the facilities else i would have rated it higher
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by cps from suffolk

good breakfast with comfy beds

Posted Sep 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
A nice clean hotel with good service. Our bedroom was next to the main road so slightly noisy on Friday night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Herts

Great home cooked food

Posted Aug 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel,good real evening meals & a good breakfast.. Staff very friendly and whole place very clean & comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
by the wints & darvills from sth yorkshire

fantastic service

Posted Jul 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
excellent stay at castle hotel. owners and staff very pleasant and sociable.The restaurant is a must superb food and great selection. Breakfast delicious.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CL from Cambs

Overall an pretty acceptable stay.

Posted Jun 1, 2013
Pros: Good sized comfortable room!
Cons: The fact that the evening meal was served with differing accompaniments not described on the menu, with no explanation as to why!
Overall an acceptable and comfortable stay. Room was a decent size and comfortable too. Slight disappointment in that the evening meal was served not as described on the menu and yet another table ordering the same dish were served as described on the menu! If I order something I want what it says on the menu not something completely different unless an explanation is given at point of order ad to why I can't have what the menu says, which did not happen in this case. This is just a minor hiccup and would not prevent me from staying again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by steveo from Buxton

Posted Mar 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice old fashioned hotel in the town center. Good bar and food excellent. I would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Denver

Posted Nov 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel was very good, the food was good, the bar service was good. The condition of the room was good and clean, the bathroom was also clean. The only issue with the room was that the socket outlet was lose in the wall, which needs to be fixed. The hotel is situated in the main part of town near a number of restaurants, however the menu is very good and didn't need to go out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 12, 2012 on Hotels.com