Ratings based on 199 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Richardfrom Granite Bay

Hotel with character in need of management upgrade

Posted Dec 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed at this hotel 20 years ago. It has gone down hill. The furniture is old. The sheets and towels are cheap. Management should do some simple improvements while they are waiting to remodel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Yakov

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Johnfrom Folsom

not ready for us

Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
room dirty, not vacuumed. bed not made properly, too few towels. furniture worn and scratched. sink fixtures leaked, hard to turn. disappointed, not good value for the money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kellyfrom El dorado hills

Great place

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had a great time. Jacuzzi tub in bathroom was a pleasant surprise. Beds very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ingridfrom Pasadena, CA

Definitely recommend the Sterling

Posted Oct 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
I enjoyed my stay here. It was clean, quiet, adorable and the staff were friendly. One caveat: the entire time of my stay, I couldn't take a hot shower, because the water stayed freezing cold the whole time. However, it was perfect for a short business stay: it's close to the convention center and plenty of eateries and cool touristy sights without being busy or noisy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Terry W

Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall very nice hotel. Magnetic room keys kept failing and they had problem with the front door lock. I've had much better breakfasts at other B & Bs. Started blowing leaves right outside our room window before 8:00. When I mentioned this to women who was the "mgr." she said "I have no control over this." Parking is not really very convenient. Bed and room were comfortable & clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Templeton, California

Beautiful old historical home hotel.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The authentic furnishings, the beautiful old windows, doorways, crown moldings, and general overall structure.
Cons: I have no suggestions for improvement.
Location: Perfectly located for a 15 minute walk to the Capitol bldg, the old Governor's Mansion, a live theater venue, and nice restaurants and coffee shops.
The Sterling Hotel was a lovely place. It was clean, comfortable, and the staff very helpful. We will definitely stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Stephanie Bfrom Auburn, CA

lovely, if slightly worn, hotel in central Sac

Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
stayed for one night with my husband in an upgraded suite. Hotel is historic (read: quite old) and it feels like a much older building. That said, it is very charming with extremely helpful, friendly, courteous staff and in a great location with several good restaurants within walking distance. a nice change from the "convention" hotels!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Historic

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had a very pleasant stay in the Crocker junior suite. Cool old building with lots of history. Nothing really 5 star fancy but very pleasant. Easy walking distance from some interesting parts of downtown. We will return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JR

Period hotel in downtown Sacramento

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Quiet, friendly, great location
Cons: Add a small fridge, and perhaps a more serviceable desk chair for working.
Location: About three blocks from the conference centre and the rest of downtown.
I was allocated this hotel in an Expedia undisclosed hotel deal, and was pleasantly surprised. About three blocks from the conference centre and the rest of downtown. Old building with big rooms, and very friendly staff. WiFi was fine but my room had no fridge, and the desk chair was not the best for working, but plenty of room. Huge jacuzzi tub (which probably explains Sacramento's water shortage!). Would happily stay there again at the right price.