Ratings based on 662 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom salt lake coty

Posted Mar 23, 2015
The hotel is nice but the room service food was horrible!!! Super fatty chicken wings and a frozen pizza
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Utah

Great hotel close to shopping and events

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Nice for a quick weekend getaway. However, be sure to stay higher that floor three on Saturday night if you want to get to sleep before 11 PM. We could hear the thumping from the music in the club below.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wyoming

boutique hotel with gourmet restaurant

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: I like the atmosphere of the rooms and the luxury feel of it.
Cons: I can't think of anything.
Location: City Creek shopping mall is nearby. There are many small restaurants in the center of Salt Lake. My favorite is Gourmandise, a french bakery.
I love the Monaco. Staying at the Monaco is always a wonderful experience. It gives me the feeling of being on vacation in some exotic locale. I love that they are dog friendly, and that the decor is quirky and old world at the same time. The staff is always very friendly and helpful. The restaurant is lovely and the food is outstanding. It is gourmet without being pretentious and fussy. Wherever I go, I look for Hotel Monaco first!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose, CA

Convenient, comfortable

Posted Mar 4, 2015
This great little hotel was a welcome find in the heart of downtown SLC. I loved the fun decor, the animal print bathrobes were super cool, and the bathroom was spacious and clean. Comfy bed, great TV, all in all, a fabulous experience!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness
Location: Right next to Salt Palace Convention Center and only one block from City Creek.
You'll see in other reviews that this was an old office building converted into a hotel. They did a nice job. It's definitely clean and made with high quality materials. While it's nice and comfortable, I can't say I was wowed by anything. It's just a nice, clean hotel. For me the location is the best things going for this hotel. It's a short, nice walk to the Salt Palace Convention Center and to City Creek.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Saint George, Utah

Vacation after surgery

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Staff was very helpful when I did ask for ice, I received a bag of ice still no cups
Cons: advertise an accurate description of the view, repair broken drinking fountain. Cups in the room. Cups come in handy when brushing your teeth.
Location: I didn't stay the 3 nights I had booked, I left after the 1st night. Checked in at around 9pm and checked out at 6:30 am the next morning
I booked the room which was supposed to have a city or mountain view, the view was of the parking garage. I had just had surgery and need to take some time to apply ice and relax. There was no ice I had to ask for ice, there was no cups in the room for water. The drinking fountain down the hall had only a trickle of water coming out of it, I would have had to suck the water from the fountain. This hotel was at 4.7 out of 5 stars but I was looking for a quiet few days to myself with my wife and I just did not enjoy the stay. Had I not wanted to stay at the Hotel but just to sleep and leave the room it may have been ok. However I felt I should have access to water and ice and if you advertise a view then it should not be of a parking structure. Not having a cup or two to drink from makes it a little hard to brush your teeth and rinse. It not very appealing to my to stick my head in the sink to access the water from the tap.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff extraordinary; middle of city

Posted Feb 16, 2015
The convenience of the Monaco location for shopping and culture in Salt Lake City is without compare. The staff was pleasant and very sociable in all encounters -- couldn't be improved on.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Be careful

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Pros: The Bombara restaurant attached to the hotel is fantastic. Afternoon drinks in the foyer is also nice.
Cons: My room was small and looked towards a car park. The room was nicely appointed though.
When asking for a taxi, you will need to specify a taxi, rather than a private vehicle. The hotel likes to call up private vehicles and it can become a real nuisance. They are not trustworthy. They will try to rip you off and they can not provide you with a tax invoice. They will also ask for cash, and refuse to allow credit card transactions. I assume it is so the fare is not traceable. Perhaps there is a kick-back to the hotel staff - so specify that is must be a licensed taxi. This happened to us on numerous occasions whilst on our recent trip to the U.S., even though i thought that i had made it clear that i wanted a licensed taxi and not a privately operated transport. It is dodgy!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom St George, Utah

Nice hotel if you are not on a budget

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Pros: It is a beautiful hotel located in downtown Salt Lake City. I highly recommend the restaurant. The staff was helpful and courteous. Clean rooms.
Cons: It would have been nice to have an option for free parking or a continental breakfast.
Location: The hotel is within walking distance to a wide variety of food, entertainment, and shopping.
The Staff was very friendly and helpful. The food and service at the restaurant was exceptional. The room was a bit small/cramped and we could hear the elevators run most of the evening. The hotel provided no free parking, but the valet service was very efficient. We stayed two nights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2015
great staff who really went out of their way to make sure my stay was pleasent.