Ratings based on 306 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2015
central location, good service, somewhat noisy on weekend nights
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

Great location to the Gaslamp Quarter

Posted Feb 3, 2015
My wife and I attended the San Diego Black Film Festival, locally screening films at the Reading Cinemas in the Gaslamp Quarter. The Keating Hotel made our stay even very comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom ohio

Perhaps the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: the beds were comfy, loved the decor.
Cons: try an area rug under the bed and padding behind the headboard to muffle a bit of the sound?
Location: close to everything.
this hotel is surrounded on 3 sides by night clubs. one...Coyote Ugly. I love to party and have a good time, however, I'd like to go to my room, shut the door and go to sleep. the concrete floors only resonated the heart thumping bass. seriously, our bed was vibrating with the sound. when my hubby called to ask if this was normal, the guy said, yep. when asked if all rooms were this loud he said...I don't know. when asked what time the music stopped he said, dont know...they don't give us a copy of their schedule. nice customer service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Awesome Boutique Hotel walk to everthing

Posted Jan 30, 2015
Staff was great and friendly. Hotel in great renovated condition. The only negative is the Bar under the hotel and the hard rock hotel on the corner. Since there is no noise ordinance the loud music and cigarette smoke permeates the hotel even on the 3rd floor, lasted until about 2am each night. To the hotels credit they did add an extra dual pane window to cut down on some of the noise, but its hard to claim a non smoking hotel in my opinion when that's all you smell in the reception lobby and elevator..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom CT

Perfect Downtown Location - Modern, Cool + Quirky

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: Location - walking to a million restaurants. Close to the bay. About a mile from Balboa park. By the mall. Quirky/fun room. If you like modern.
Cons: The room could be a bit more practical. I.e. no bedside lights, and a few other minor things. Barebones services. Slow elevator.
Location: Eat, shop, visit Balboa park Zoo and museums (short uber ride or walk a bit over a mile), enjoy SD bay.
My wife and I split our trip to SD into 2 days here, two days on Mission Beach and 2 days at La Jolla. It was a great way to explore the city. I ran from different locations every morning, and then we explored what SD had to offer during the day. Perfect location to explore downtown restaurants, SD bay, the outdoor mall, and Balboa park (zoo, gardens, museums). We used Uber to move around instead of renting a car for more distant locations and this worked out great. We chose this property for the central downtown location. You can reach a million restaurants within a half mile radius. I ran in the morning to Balboa park and Embarcadero. We liked the hotel itself fine. The room was modern, quirky and fun. There was plenty of storage under the bed. The espresso machine in the room was nice. The tech in the room was state of the art circa 2005, but who cares. Turn down service includes a few chocolates every night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles, ca

Perfect for couples

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Hotel itself was quiet and each room was secluded because of the small number of hotel rooms. Room was huge and the bath and shower were so relaxing. The perfect place for couples to come and have some privacy. We stayed during the week, so it was relatively quiet on the streets, but I could see it getting noisy on the weekends. Overall great stay!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mehr Schein als Sein.

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Etwas enttäuschend fanden wir, dass das Zimmer ohne jegliche Aussicht und somit stock dunkel war, ohne Licht anmachen kann man sich da aslo nicht aufhalten. Von einem Fitness- und Spa Bereich zu sprechen, ist absolut übertrieben. Es sei denn, sie meinen mit Spa die wohl in anderen Zimmern befindlichen Jetbäder. Die Fahrräder sind nur in der ersten Stunden kostenlos leihbar, danach zahlt man 10 Dollar pro Rad und Stunde!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Would recommend nice and clean hip and cool close to everything
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reasonable hotel but too noisy

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Too noisy with a nightclub next door. Unable to sleep. Hotel double charged me by accident
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Andrewfrom San Diego

Swedish Jail Cell

Posted Dec 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Its like staying in a swedish jail cell.