Ratings based on 1,195 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom spokane, wa

Great historic hotel for a great price.

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Nice hotel for the price. Would definitely recommend if going to a show at knitting factory as it is half a block away. The staff was great and the whole building has a real nice historical element to it. I will say it's a little loud downtown at night but maybe I'm just not used to it living in the country. All in all I would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2015
The hotel was nice but no impressed with the parking. The staff was very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom BC

Disappointed

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Good cleaning. Not sure what can be done about roof mechanicals.
Location: INB, Bing Crosby Theatre, Fox Theatre, Knitting Factory. A few restaurants close by.
We have stayed at the Montvale a few times. This time was not the best. A lot of noise from mechanical on roof (we were on the 3rd floor) and outdoor noise was quite loud. Maybe to be expected as this is a downtown location. Pillows were uncomfortable, bathroom floor was sticky, and carpets felt and looked like they hadn't been shampooed in quite awhile. Staff were pleasant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming, but terrible street noise

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Hotel is charming and fun, but windows didn't close all the way and the street noise from folks leaving bar/restaurant below as well as the sirens of the city kept going until past 02:30 am.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom eastern Oregon

Great old Hotel, great location

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: The charm and the location to the river and downtown
Cons: Maintenance could be improved. Some of it was just sloppy. Parking fees added up after a few nights.
Location: Walking distance to a lot of the attractions in that end of Spokane. Anthonys restaurant was a wonderful setting for our anniversary dinner.
We really enjoyed our stay. Because we had read many of the reviews we knew what we were getting. The staff was great , the location was wonderful, and the charm of the hotel was just what we expected. We really enjoyed the extra space of suite 307 and the front top floor location really helped keep the noise down. The room seemed drafty and I don't know why. Since it was cold outside we used the fireplace extensively and enjoyed it immensely. The hotel reading areas and the coffee service were really enjoyable. The hotel could use some maintenance and I would say pride in maintenance would make the stay just a little more enjoyable. Overall, it was just what we expected and it was a very enjoyable few days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Olympia, WA

Enjoyed unique atmosphere.

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Pros: Atmosphere and comfort.
I spent two nights at the Montvale in March. It was conveniently located in the downtown area and I loved the central gathering spot on the second floor with coffee/tea available and sofas and chairs to visit, rest and read. The rooms were small, but very comfortable. Strong Wifi. Very pleased with the accommodations. The only negative comment I have to make is the lack of parking. There was none allocated for the hotel and we had the option between paid lots or street parking. I had a hard time locating a metered spot after 7:00 PM when the pay ends and I had to be up and out by 8:00 AM Saturday before it was once again metered.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Too loud. Could hear everything! Beautiful building but we couldn't sleep because of noise!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom WA

Good location

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Everything was great except the windows of our room did not shut all the way. The noise from the street kept us awake late into the night. You could even smell the cigarette smoke from people walking by. Our room was on the 3rd floor.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Spokane, WA.

Not what I expected.

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: The room was clean and inviting and the bathroom was very large.
Cons: Fix the skylight and cable, get movie channels, fix internet, bring back continental breakfast. Just provide more for the money you charge.
Location: Location is good but there's no hotel parking, you either need to be dropped off or pay a small a lot for parking. There's plenty to do downtown.
There was water leaking from the roof where a skylight was broken and instead of fixing it they just draped a tarp over it. The beds were so soft that you couldn't really move. I never thought there would be a such thing as to soft of a bed but there is. For the price the only amenity they had was the free coffee and tea. The cable kept going in and out so watching tv was a challenge. The internet was sketchy at best. There were no movie channels of any kind. I guess I just expected more from a place that charges so much.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Mesa, AZ

Not as comfortable as we expected.

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: It's a beautiful historic building. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was large and clean.
Cons: Adjust the room temperature. Provide coffee makers in the room. Free or affordable, accessible parking.
Location: It's right downtown in Spokane in within walking distance to many venues.
Our room was very warm and stuffy. We had to leave our window open all night and it was still too hot. There was train, traffic and plane noise all night. There are no coffee makers in the room. It is difficult and expensive to find a place to park. We left after one night.