Ratings based on 445 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Value. Nice beds.

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Construction next block on West side will be a problem in AM for awhile, unless you're up before 8. Friendly/helpful staff. Keurig's nice. Update/renovation nice, but still an older hotel. Beds comfy & nice, as are fixtures. Good value for the price without getting dirty, smelly or uncomfortable accommodations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver

Nice place, very central, affordable

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Nice renovation. Desk with plugs and light with strong wifi
Cons: restaurant and bar. The pool was closed but very small
Location: Eat breakfast across the road at Pauls. Downtown is full of Victorian style pubs with good food. The Museum is very good.
The reviews I read after I booked spooked me a bit, but they were wrong. The hotel is recently renovated with a moderne design theme - kind of boutique hotel look. The room I was in was very clean and everything worked well. What was great was the desk with lots of plugs and a work light which was great as I was working. The individual wifi address was a thoughtful addition. Staff were friendly and helpful, no heat problems, nice toiletries in the bathroom and pleasant decor. Parking is across the street. A short walk to downtown or a drive - parking is free downtown after 6pm (!) The restaurant and bar were not my style - the crowd was too MuMu for me, so I can't comment on the food. If you do want nearby breakfast walk across the road to Pauls. Original 50's restaurant, good prices and real food. Ill stay there again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Crappy stay at a crappy hotel

Posted Mar 16, 2015
On first appearance the hotel check in parking spots were surrounded by undesirable drunk men who made it uncomfortable. The rooms are small. The water from the bathroom faucet comes out brown for the first few seconds. The sheets were stained. The air conditioning control is actually for heat not air conditioning. Housekeeping left all the dirty coffee cups and empty pop cans in the room and did not replace the cups. The baseboard s in the room were all cracked around the carpet. Every picture frame had what appeared to be a dime sized hole covered up with plaster in the middle of the bottom of the frame. The environment was uncomfortable and left a creepy feeling. There are big vents/grates directly over the tub again a creepy feeling. I would never ever stay here again. One of the worst experiences. In fact because I couldn't cancel and get my money back. Which I tried. I will never book on this site again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I would stay here again

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: comfort, clean, location, price
Cons: Parking is across the street in an open lot. It seemed secure enough within view of front desk, but I thought it is good for customers to know about.
Location: Shopping malls, easy to get to downtown.
It is good for 1 or two nights of a very comfortable, central accommodation without the frills of tourism. The cafe offers a good breakfast reasonably priced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Berkeley, CA

My stay @ the Capital City Hotel in Mar. 2015

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Everything- but some of the guests.
Cons: Try to place older travelers away from over stimulated guests.
Location: It was well situated. I have been going annually to Victoria BC for the past 15 years and hope to duplicate it.
I was thoroughly impressed by the friendly & hospitalble quality of the staff and their concern for my comfort. The room was clean, open, inviting & comfortable in all aspects. However, the rooms near me were filled with young people who literally spoke loudly ALL night-interrupting precious sleep-this was the first night. 2nd night was worse due to a group of young ladies who all spoke at once @ 4:00 AM!!! & they were in the next room!!!! I called the main office & they did quiet the girls down- I am a frequent traveler and have stayed in many a hotel/estabishments etc. & sleep is too precious an item to dismiss. I will stay @ the City Center hotel again as the staff was outstanding. Hopefully without a rambunctious group.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK Hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Definitely don't like that they locked in a $200 bond for a two night stay that had been prepaid. Excessive and totally unnecessary.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Victoria

Nice Hotel!

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Great position + comfortable room + friendly services~
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OK

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: Big room and big bed.
Cons: See the above comments
Location: It is 10 minutes from downtown but it was not the best neighbourhood. Inside the hotel was safe but I was advised not to go out alone at night.
The hotel is OK but I had many little disappointing experiences. The staff is not terribly friendly. Some people are friendlier than others but the guy who came to fix the air conditioning was not exactly nice. The air conditioning was not working properly so it was kinda cold the whole night. Little hair was found here and there in the bathtub. The flash of the toilet was weak and required a couple trials. The TV was not working. The vending machine did not have a bunch of the drink in it (sold out). One night was OK though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Hotel staff was friendly and accomodating. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was not cleaned properly. The hotel is walking distance to several shops and restaurants. The room was a good value for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Everything was good except a little distance from the hotel to the downtown. (15 mins around by foot)