Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Centrally located, comfortable and clean room

Posted Jul 4, 2014
Pros: Location and some staff were excellent
Cons: WI FI and the culture of service . Staff attitude was very variable.
The hotel was beautifully located and very central. My room on the side was very comfortable and very clean. It was very good but for being located above the loading dock so I was woken very early with deliveries, garbage disposal etc. The breakfast was 22 euros .......I think that was expensive. WI FI was a hassle! It suffered in comparison to The Marriott in Leipzig where we stayed for the Bach festival the week before. The Leipzig Marriott was absolutely outstanding.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Liz, thank you very much for your recent visit and for your comment. We are very sorry, that you were not satisfied with the location of your room. We gladly would have checked during your stay, if a change to the other side or to the inner courtyard would have been possible. In addition to the sumptuous breakfast buffet we also offer a continental breakfast for 13 € per person and day - maybe this would be an option for your next visit? We are very sorry, that obviously there were problems with the internet connection. We would gladly have checked this during your stay. We would be pleased to get another opportunity to welcome you in our hotel and to show that we can do better. Best regards Heidrun Waschhausen General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Thomas from London

Perfect location

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Brilliant location and excellent staff.
Cons: Extra pillows would be good - we asked for them and they were supplied within minutes.
Location: The Frauenkirche, Zwinger, Hofkirche, Furstenzug are all essential visits within a few minutes of the hotel. The new synogogue is also recommended.
Fantastic few days in Dresden staying at the Steigenberger Hotel de Saxe. The central location could not be better so we were able to walk everywhere - and there is lots to see in this beautiful city. The hotel could not be faulted for comfort and the friendly and helpful staff. On one day the restaurant was closed for a private function but we had no complaints as we did not intend to eat at any stage in the hotel, partly because we enjoy the variety of exploring local restaurants and because there are so many really good eating places within 5 minutes walk.
5 out of 5
by Jimmy from Glasgow

excellently located city hotel..walk everywhere

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: quiet and comfortable with excellenet location
Cons: pricing of food
Location: evrything nearby
Did not eat in hotel...breakfast price at 22euro crazy...within five minutes walk plenty of choice at 25-50 % of price...dinner not tried in hotel. No bath robes...no pool...hotel very comfortable for sleep and wifi.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Night work

Posted Feb 28, 2014
The hotel management decided that it would be better to have a company working I change tiles in lobby in the night. Steady hammering woke us up at 1am. Then we could change the room. Strange! Hotel staff was nice and couldn't do anything. Steigenberger never knows about a VIP Expedia access. Somebody should tell them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Centrally positioned. Perfect in all respects.

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Hotel centrally positioned, close to everything - museums, theatres, Semperoper, restaurants to suit all tastes and budgets.
Staff friendly and helpful. Our room was large, comfortable and warm (with temperatures of -12 on one particularly cold night). Our flight back to the UK was late on a Sunday evening, but our luggage was put into safe storage from check-out time at midday and ready for collection when we returned at 3.00 after a leisurely lunch. A perfect place to stay - very highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel good position

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Excellent stay only problem was Internet connections absolute nightmare even hotel admitted it was difficult to negotiate All else was great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stunning hotel, perfect location

Posted Dec 27, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by Lulu from Chicago

Christmas Market in Dresden

Posted Dec 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel was beautiful, and conveniently located next to the Dresden Frauenkirche. The staff was pleasant and helpful, and our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. We were disappointed that we had to pay a surcharge for the internet. At the other hotels during our vacation in Germany, free Wi-Fi was provided.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mrs. Lulu, it was our pleasure to have been able to welcome you at our hotel. Thank you very much for taking the time for a comment. We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and service. It is only through constructive criticism, such as yours, that we are able not only to maintain, but to improve constantly our standard and service. We are happy to announce, that from January 2014 we offer WiFi included in the room rate. We are already looking forward to the opportunity of extending our hospitality to you again on your next visit to the heart of Dresden. Best regards Heidrun Waschhausen General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Juniper from Ohio, USA

Great Location

Posted Aug 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
You cannot beat the central location of this hotel. It is within easy walking distance to many sights as well as restaurants. The room was clean and very comfortable. Our only complaint was the expense and difficulty in accessing the internet.