Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

close to local eateries and down town areas;

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Spacious rooms and location
Cons: B/Fast buffet is poor. Air-condition (too cold, even after adjusting thermostat and fan speed)
Location: down town nearby; local eateries at walking distance. less rushy streets nearby good for walking.
too cold inside rooms and in corridors; rooms spacious, clean and comfortable; but the attached toilets are sub-standard for this hotel (they resemble the cheap motels in some GCC countries). Restaurant fine with excellent girl staffers from Philippines. Bars and sports club (!?) disappointing.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom london

Good hotel however uncomfortable during the night

Posted Nov 16, 2014
It was my second time in Dubai (October 2014) I love this city and for sure it wasn't my last time there! Capitol hotel could be very nice hotel, location is great , close to Jumeirah open beach, short drive to Dubai mall, employees were very helpful with any request. However in the night changes into very strange place due to night club downstairs. As a young European woman I found myself more dressed than those local ladies standing outside or at the lobby (everywhere you can read about strict dress code),however many times I received some dirty looks when me and my husband walked through the hall to our room in the night hours. Once we were witnesses of the fight between 3 men. I think all this night issue ruined that great experience in this hotel. It's not a great advertisement and unfortunately it looks very cheap and it's intimidating for a normal hotels visitors. Last year I have been at Mercure hotel (just next door) where standards were really high, so I would definitely prefer Mercure over the noisy and cheap Capitol. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for families with kids or couples.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Couldn't Sleep

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Workers
Cons: Close down the noisy nightclubs and remodel
Location: Access to hotel is difficult but the area is close to Diyafah Street which has many restaurants.
We paid for 4 nights but had to leave after 2 nights. We simply couldn't sleep from the noise. The hotel has a number of loud night clubs on the ground floor and another on level 5. The loud music starts at 10 pm and ends after 3 pm and you cannot escape the noise. Apparently guests do not observe the non-smoking signs since our room had a smoking odor. The bathroom is very old with mold in bathtub. Staff was very courteous as is the case with hotel workers in the Gulf and they were sorry to see us leave.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cigarettes and working girls

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Do you like to wake up to cigarette smoke and the smell of working girls? Then we have the place for you! The hotel is a little aged, which means a little run down (nothing too bad) with the bonus of very large rooms. But none of that matters compared to the billowing clouds of cigarette smoke and the smell of 50 years of debauchery baked into the carpets and walls. Never again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom abu dhabi

nice hotel close to everything in dubai

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: hospitality and room space
Cons: they have blooked certain amount from my credit card and i will see when they will return it!
we have enjoyed our stay and moving to different distinations and back to our hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom England

Very nice hotel.

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Fantastic holiday. Dubai is just great. Hotel is very close to the docks and many restaurants. Excellent door staff. Very pleasant and courteous. I would stay at this hotel again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by Khanfrom Istanbul

Too far away from major attractions

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: Spacey rooms
Cons: Everything needs to improved
Location: Accept a cab ride for at least 15 minutes to either direction.
Staff is generally ok but the hotel infrastructure is very old. You can not get any meaningful service from business centre. Food in terrace restaurant is almost impossible to eat. Any place except the rooms are very dirty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Travelerfrom Nepal

Great place great price

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
I really enjoyed my stay at capitol hotel. The staff was only some what helpful when I had some problems but that was the only downside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maxfrom London

Nice location

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: They had a few restaurants and food was good.
Cons: Free internet service should be available to the gusts or I personally wouldn't go there anymore.
Location: The location was in a good and safe area, close to interesting architectural buildings. Nice views.
The hotel was great and I was happy with all except for not having a free internet service. I was expecting this free service from a four star hotel, I was very disappointed when I was told I had to pay a lot of money to use the service per hour. This issue should be sorted I had a friend staying in a two star hotel in downtown she had a free internet/wi-fi service available so I do not understand this hotel trying to charge the customer fortune for what should have been a part of standard service.