Ratings based on 181 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Excellent Hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: The rooms were huge. Staff friendly and helpful
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to the airport, Dubai Mall and the beach. They are not walking distance, but not too much in a taxis
Hotel in a great location for a short trip close to the airport, Dubai Mall and the beach. Staff were amazing and even helped when a taxis driver tried to rip us off. Could not fault anything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Great for a stopover or business

Posted Jul 5, 2014
This hotel is extremely nice and really a great deal. While it isn't in the heart of Dubai it does have all that one would need for a short stopover or business trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Brett from Australia

Nice hotel but beware of room size for families

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Clean and comfortable
This was a nice clean hotel, friendly staff. Only issue we had was that we had booked for a family of four and when we arrived there was only one King bed in our room. After complaining we were upgraded to a junior suite at no extra cost. We only stopped overnight and it was pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice, modern hotel...

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: Breakfast, cleanness,
Hotel is quite nice. However the location is quite confusing. Hotel name or location does not appear in 2 tried navigation. Also there are no special offers for Elite VIP members. Actually i was told by the receptionist who spoke with her supervisor that there are no upgrades or even anything special to Expedia Elite VIP members.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Elegant and luxuorous, yet very friendly, service oriented and professional staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant suprise

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Good value when booked as secret hotel, reasonable location, well appointed rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ali from Australia

Late Arrival

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: As above, rooms great, very good staff. Great value.
Cons: The nightclub for guest is just too noisy. Need better soundproofing.
Location: Location is nearer to the old part of Dubai. You could walk, maybe 20 minutes but not in the heat. Taxis are not expensive and drivers are helpful.
Did not check in until 2am due to flying in late. Was upgraded to a suite which was lovely. Staff on front desk were excellent. Only downside was there is a nightclub within the hotel and it was right below our room and was very loud and the whole room was vibrating with the noise. It wound up about 2.45am which was just when we were ready for bed so for us not a problem due to just arriving but for any other guests it would have been impossible to get some sleep. I did overhear a guest complaining in the morning. Breakfast was included and a good selection was provided. The concierge Joy was excellent, he was extremely helpful and a excellent asset to the hotel. The pool on the rooftop has a great view of the city and was surprisingly cold which in 40 degrees is very refreshing. We were leaving late so our bags were looked after post checking out and we were able to have a shower later in the day which was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Manchester

Lovely modern hotel that I'd go back to happily

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: Looks, food, rooms, staff, views, can't really complain about anything!
Cons: The taxi issue did get annoying after a while, but this is a product of the buildings design not of the hotel itself.
Location: 15 mins away from the Burj Kahlifa/fountains/mall area. Everywhere is accessible by the dirt-cheap taxi's so despite being out of the way its no issue
From the outside the Melia looks smart and modern, and inside it does nothing to dispel this with comfy seating and the fountains in the lobby. The rooftop pool and bar is quiet and the view from the roof of the business district skyline is spectacular. At night the pool area turns into a chilled out bar until the early hours. The rooms are modern and comfortable, kept very clean by room service. The restaurants in the hotel are superb, we ate out a lot on our trip and wished we had tried the hotels earlier! All staff were helpful and pleasant making life easier! I can really only see two issues with the Melia, both around taxi's, which you will be using a lot! Firstly no taxi driver seems to know where the Melia is! I don't know if its because its new(ish) or we just had less than knowledgeable drivers. The reception team gave us all little map cards so we can point to the location. One taxi driver told us that its not a regularly used hotel as its quite posh but in an out of the way location, so local drivers don't go there much.... which brings me onto the second issue. Only two hotels in Dubai have an underground entrance (no door out onto the street), you have to walk up the taxi ramp to get to street. This in itself isn't an issue (unless your lazy). The problem is, when the taxi guy in the lobby says he will get you a taxi, you can wait ages until one comes as there are none outside, and the hotel is on a quiet side road meaning few pass by to be waved in!
3 out of 5
by Jennie from New York

Melia experience

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: Food, friendly polite staff
Cons: The entrance to the hotel is dangerous because the only walk way is where cars drive down and up.
Location: In the middle of no where and a little far from the station. Also very difficult to find a taxi without having to walk at least 300m to find one.
The child's bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable. The bathroom and toilet did not have a lock. The air con worked very well. The room was cleaned nicely. Breakfast was great, but tea tasted horrible, milk not nice and coffee far too bitter. There were no milk in the room to have with the tea bags and coffee. Pillows were a little hard
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by zack

Excellent hotel, incredibly clean

Posted May 28, 2014
Was a great stay. The hotel isn't close to a metro station but the sheer size and comfort of the room offset any inconvenience that had