Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Govardhanen Gopal from New Jersey USA

Excellent stay at Villa Rotana with my family.

Posted Jan 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
We arrived on Jan 12th 2014 afternoon at Villa Rotana. We were offered an upgrade from our room to a suite + wifi for the duration of our trip for a nominal price which we accepted. The room was not facing the front of the hotel facing the Burj, but in the back. We did not particularly have a problem with it. The room was spacious and clean. Our family consists of a 11 month toddler and a 6 year old, my wife & myself. We were very happy with the service. Breakfast was included in our reservation and we were very happy with what was offered for all of us. The staff was very helpful and answered all the questions and gave us good guidance for our Dubai trip. I would highly recommend this hotel, if you are traveling with children and are offered an upgrade to the suite, please take it. The space is well worth it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 29, 2014 by Kinan, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for the comment. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and were happy with our services and facilities. We are glad to know you find our rooms comfortable, spacious and clean. Your kind comments about my colleagues will be shared as it will serve an added motivation to us and thank you also for recommending our Hotel. Once again thank you for the feedback and You are welcome to come again for another memorable experience at our hotel. Best regards, Kinan Al Ghraoui General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Is nice.

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Was nice. Stayed 1 night and was clean and reasonable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 11, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Silvia from New York

A very pleasant stay

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Location: It's location is great because it is only a five minute drive away from the public beach, and a short walk away from the metro.
Our stay at this hotel was wonderful. The front desk was kind and extremely helpful. They took care of some of our problems immediately. The room was big, comfortable, and very clean. The breakfast was great and included a variety of different options ranging from Mediterranean cuisine to traditional Arabic foods. It's location is very convenient because it is only a five minute drive away from the public beaches, and a short walk away from the metro which is a good method of transportation when traveling to tourist attractions such as the Burj Kalifha and the Dubai Mall. We enjoyed a very pleasant stay and would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Anon from Manchester

Great location

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: Staff & location
Great location, great staff always willing to help. very nice breakfast buffet. Rooms very clean. Would definitely stay here again. Highly recommendeed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the burj for fireworks on New Years

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Tv in front room was not working properly. No free wifi. Was not given the room I paid for.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Bo Jiang from TX

Not for a family of 4

Posted Jan 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
(1) Booked a classic suite (2 rooms) for a family 4 for 3 nights thru Hotel.com and specifically requested extra bed. When we arrived at Villa Rotana, we were simply told there was no extra bed available. All their suites either has 1 King or 2 twin, but on the booking website, they let you book 4 persons per suite. If they can't guarantee extra bed, they should not allow people to book 4 persons per room. The hotel manager didn't make any effort to solve the problem and my husband had to sleep on the couch. (2) internet service was very expensive and only allows 3 devices per room. I read about this before the trip so I was aware, but with a family of 4 and multiple devices, this was a pain. (3) Most of the hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. The facility is spotlessly clean! However, these things don't matter so much when you don't have a good bed to sleep on. I would NOT recommend this hotel unless you are only traveling with party of 2.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2014 by Kinan, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your concerns following your recent stay with us.. First and foremost please accept my sincere apologies for the negative experiences during your stay with us. We understand the situation must have been difficult with the two children in the room. As a standard, we try our level best to meet each and every request of our clients. The period wherein you stayed with us was a high occupancy period with a lot of families with children in house. Our children policy states that the suite can accommodate 2 children below twelve years free of charge in the same room in existing bedding. Any requests for Extra beds can be made which will be subject to availability and charge. We have put in efforts towards corrective measures since we received your feedback. I hope despite your experience you will still afford us to serve you again. Thank you once again for providing us with your valuable feedback Sincerely yours, Kinan Al Ghraoui General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by A verified traveler

Close to Metro and Malls

Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel is clean and the staff is very friendly. The breakfast is OK but to crowded. The surrounding neighborhood is vacant but the malls are one stop away on the metro. This property does not serve alcohol. They also way overcharge for internet usage. I would not stay here again for the last two reasons listed above.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2014 by Kinan, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at Villa Rotana. All reviews are well noted and will be shared to my colleagues as we continuously strive to improve our service and facilities and only through comments by our valued guests we will be able to do so. As we don’t serve alcohol in our Hotel, we do offer wide selections of mocktails and fresh juices in our Moka Café Restaurants which open 24Hrs. Should an opportunity bring you back, we would be happy to welcome you back again in the Hotel. Sincerely, Kinan Al Ghraoui General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Danno from Sydney

Excellent 4 star hotel

Posted Dec 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good stay. Nice room. Great value for money. Service can be a bit slow but they did try and we're very courteous. Would Reccommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2014 by Kinan, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to write us a review following your stay at Villa Rotana. We are glad that you have a good stay and find our hotel great value for the money. I have noted your concern with regards to the “service is slow”, I have taken a good note of it and would appreciate if you can provide me details on what you have experienced in order for us to avoid the same problem occurring in the future. We deeply value our relationship with you and committed to providing you the highest level of service. If you have further concerns or comments regarding this matter kindly let me know. Thank you once again for providing us with your valuable feedback and we are looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back upon your next visit to Dubai. Sincerely yours, Kinan Al Ghraoui General Manager