Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location!

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Very clean and comfortable, no noise at all from downstairs bar, don't let that put you off! I stayed there for a whole bank holiday weekend and there was no music on at all. Location fantastic just a bit tricky finding the hotel on the first day!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Lower your standards before booking

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Cons: Cleanliness. Remove all carpets. Fix the hand railings.
This was by far the worst night I have had in a "hotel" and my family and I travel A LOT. The hotel was filthy, stained and falling apart. I was shocked at the stains and horrible smells in this place. We booked a "family room" which would be a double and 2 twins. They didn't have it that way so they brought in a mangled cot that had definitely seen better days. There was no fan or AC so we had to have the window open as it was 25 degrees and we were on the 3rd floor. I made my kids keep their shoes on. We had 4 large suitcases and they put us on the 3rd floor with no elevator. We were awake all night because it was above the bar that is part of the hotel, and there were drunks playing soccer and fighting in the street until 4am, and it was too hot to close the window. Normally, I give great reviews, but I am so sorry to have to post this warning so that others don't make the same mistake we did. We were in a pinch and had prepaid so we couldn't change hotels.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Wouldn't return

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Decide if you want to run a dirty, loud nightclub or a hotel. You cannot do both out of one location.
Location: The location is good. Right by the river. A short walk to Temple Bar.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Excellent Location

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Size of the rooms and location. Also the staff were efficient.
Location: Lovely arty area with classic Irish pubs in the Temple Area, a ten minute walk from the hotel. 15 Minute walk to Grafton Street Shopping area.
We had a good stay at the Abbey Hotel and found the location very convenient as it is literally in the heart of the city. However, you should be aware on the saturday night you will need ear plugs for the loud noises of the surrounding night clubs, but other than that our stay was pleasant and the rooms were a great size for the two of us in a twin room. Also, it seemed as a result of the buzzing bar and night club in the basement of the hotel, we awoke the following morning with no working hot water. However this issue was fixed by the next morning.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible but very good location

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Cons: everything
Location: good location
Good central location, near everything. The rest very dissapointing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Glenny from Fermanagh

Good...Location

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Location
The hotel is situated right in the middle of Dublin's shopping district and only a few minutes from Temple Bar, plus it's on a LUAS line so it's great for getting out and about. Following other reviews, I requested a room at the back which was peaceful (or would have been if not for the seagulls!!). There is no elevator so the trek upstairs to the fourth floor was not quite enjoyable ( especially at night after a skinful of porter!). The shower only worked on cold setting, but the bath was nice and roomy and there was plenty of hot water. This hotel is great as a base for getting your head down after a long day's touristing in Dublin, but not for a long term stay. The staff were also very pleasant and helpful, even if the reception desk was unmanned 90 percent of the time!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

I loved this place...even with the little problems

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: The staff...they were just grand!
Cons: Hot water, please!!!
Location: See first statement
It's above a restaurant in a noisy part of Dublin. I mean noise until 4 a.m. The restaurant below was small, but served lovely food. The rooms, well, some issues...but for the most part they were fixed when I told them of the issues. I rarely had hot water to bathe in (I was there for a total of four days...had it the first, the last three were barely warm to freezing). There were hardly any amenities, but the rooms were cleaned nicely each day. It's so very nicely located. I was with in 15-20 minutes walking distance of major tourist attractions. Just down the block from a major street (Connolly Street) with stores and restaurants. I must add, though, Dublin should not be where you stay for long. I saw some on the street drug use, broken windows from a pub brawl that I could hear from my room, trash on the streets, homeless people sleeping on the streets, and some dodgey areas. (I know this comes with seeing "big cities," but for some reason I just thought it would be a bit different. If you want to see more than beauty in the land, visit outside Dublin. That is where I fell in love with the country. But I truly did love the hotel staff here. They were friendly, cheery, and ever so helpful! In Ireland tipping is not expected everywhere, but I felt the need to tip them because they were so lovely! That staff made the stay great!
1 out of 5
by Peter from Canada

No Wifi

Posted Jun 24, 2014
I wanted a double bed and wifi. Room was in forth floor with no elevator and no wifi. It was broke they said for a few weeks. Moved to a different room on first floor. It had wifi but just single beds. Was above a noisy nightclub and had no functioning TV.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from USA

great location, but noisy

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: location is incredible--staff was nice
Cons: air-conditioning so windows can be closed. replace roll-away beds
Location: just north of ha'penny bridge--lots of restaurants and pubs nearby
If we were younger and could have spent most of the night hitting the pubs, the noise wouldn't have been an issue, but we are middle-aged and were with our kids. The first night wasn't bad, but that was probably due to jet lag. Even on the third floor, though, the street noise was incredible. If the hotel had air conditioning, guests could at least close their windows and block some of it. The roll-away bed was a disaster--it needs to be recycled or tossed out (our son ended up sleeping in our bed). The staff was really kind, but we may have been misplaced. On the positive side, the location was perfect for walking around Dublin.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Shopping
by chloe from galway

Posted Jun 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location for shopping, abit daunting walking back in the evening as its off the main street, but would stay there again as it is a great price for an amazing location!