Ratings based on 264 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Vendée

Hôtel bien placé

Posted May 13, 2015
Hôtel bien placé et agréable. Sauf la chambre 17, nous étions au sous sol. La petite fenêtre donnait sous unun escalier, impossible de voir le jour, ni le ciel ! On avait l'impression d'être a la cave ! De plus nous étions donc sous le tramway qui faisait trembler les murs a chaque passage ! Heureusement il s'arrête entre 1h et 7h:-) Ceci dit, nous y étions seulement pour dormir. Personnel du petit déjeuner très sympathique et bon petit déjeuner de qualité. Chambre très propre. Bon souvenir général....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2015
Super séjour. Hôtel très agréable très calme et très bien placé. Le personnel est très accueillant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom METZ

Hôtel confortable mais bruyant

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: Tout sauf le bruit
Cons: Le bruit pour cette chambre
Location: Tout était à proximité, les commerces, les moyens de transport, les musées. Nous avons visité tous les musées à pieds.
Bruits: -des trams passant dans la rue -des Irlandais hurlant beaucoup en sortant "bourrés" à 2H du matin de la Disco située en face de l'hôtel. -de pas et de chaises à partir de 6h30 jusqu'à 10h du matin car notre chambre était située sous le salon du petit déjeuner
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Il

Just as noisy as reported

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: The location
Cons: Get rid of the shower mold. It's not that difficult
We read reviews about this hotel but chose it anyway because of the reasonable price and great location. First the positives. The location is a 2 minute walk to St. Stephen's Green and easy walking to Grafton St. and Temple Bar. The bed was clean and comfortable. The hotel receptionist was helpful, the breakfast and breakfast staff very nice. On the negative side, the lobby furniture is shabby, the 3 flights of stairs with our suitcases was more difficult than expected thanks to the shallow awkward step size, the club across the street was alive with noise all night(well past 4AM) and there was mold on the shower tile. I expected the noise thanks to reviews, but it was way louder than I thought it would be. Don't know if earplugs would have been enough to help. We found street parking close by that was free after 6 PM. Otherwise it is 1.5 euro per hour. We didn't need to find the recommended parking lots thank goodness.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

Nice guest house in Southern part of Dublin

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Spacious, clean room and friendly staff.
Cons: Better reading lights and sliced cheese at the breakfast buffet so no-one has to touch the cheese to get a slice.
Location: Situated just South of St Stephens Green, in walking distance of the city centre and the main shopping street.
Had a lovely holiday in Dublin, made even better staying here. We had a nice, big room with a huge bed, fairly quiet compared to other places. It felt cosy and homey and the staff were really friendly and helpful. Only down sides were; not enough light in the bedroom if you wanted to read and at the breakfast buffet, every guest had to touch the cheese it they wanted some as it was not sliced. Not very nice and hygienic. But overall it was a lovely place, well worth a stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A very good place to stay !

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: - Nice Locality - Pub just opposite to the guest house which is nice too.. - Supporting Staff
Cons: - Didn't find the breakfast menu interesting, also need to stock more stuff as couple of things were finished when we reached.
Pros : - Nice Locality - Pub just opposite to the guest house which is nice too.. - Supporting Staff Cons : - Didn't find the breakfast menu interesting, also need to stock more stuff as couple of things were finished when we reached.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

go somewhere else. No really - go somewhere else

Posted Feb 26, 2015 
Next time I am in Dublin, I will not stay at Albany House. While the hotel is a reasonable distance from the city centre, the hotel itself is in very poor shape. The check-in clerk was ever so smooth when announcing "Just take the stairs to the sixth floor. Your room is number 42". The room had wall paper peeling off the wall which complemented the 1920's basic furniture. The wi-fi in the room was very poor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Oxford, England

Friendly staff, good location, historic building

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Good location, friendly staff, decent breakfast included, comfortable, spacious and historic
Cons: Room temperature (too hot) and 2 single beds pushed together advertised as 1 king size bed
Location: Shopping in Grafton Street (5 mins walk). Trad music to be found on Merrion Street (10 mins walk). Temple Bar for nightlife (20 mins walk)
Beautiful, historic town houses come together to make the Albany House Guest House. The location is good, close to Grafton Street and good trad bars of O'Donoghues and Doheny & Nesbitt on Merrion Street, as well as walking distance to Temple Bar, Ha'Penny bridge and other attractions. Guinness Storehouse is about a 25 minute walk. Rooms are spacious and with high ceilings that reflect the history of the building. Bathroom facilities are good, with a walk in shower and good water pressure and temperature. Also good, for both the age of the property and compared to a lot of purpose built hotels, is the proliferation of power sockets for those all important chargers! Negatives with regard to the rooms are the temperature (very warm) and the 'king size' bed actually being 2 singles pushed together. We had a problem with noise on the first night. The guest house fronts onto Harcourt Street and across and down the street is a nightclub, with all of the street noise that brings. The ground floor room (101) is on a well used corridor to reception and the breakfast room which results in banging doors and loud conversation early in the morning too. Best to ask for a room at the back of the guest house, which is much quieter, and precisely what we did after this experience on the first night. There was absolutely no issue with this from the staff, who were wonderfully welcoming throughout - from reception, to breakfast to the night porter.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Evertfrom San Diego, California

Not worth it

Posted Feb 24, 2015 
Decent Hotel and it would be a lot better if it had better isolation from the street noise. The noise from the tram passing by was very loud and the sounds of drunk people yelling in the middle of the night woke me up multiple times. My room was next to the main street so that probably made it worse. ALSO... The way they give you access to WiFi is ridiculous. You need a voucher per device and it only lasts 24 hours so you HAVE to walk to the front desk every time you need a new one, since they don't give the codes over the phone. Very silly way to do this and VERY inconvenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Lovely bed and breakfast...in the heart of Dublin!

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: It's a Grade II listed Georgian building and it's beautiful original features were amazing....high ceilings and beautifully decorated.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Beautiful park....fabulous shops and bars! Plenty of places to eat...be sure to bring your walking shoes.
We stayed for nearly a week in this B&B and it was so worth it, our room was massive and so comfortable. It's situated right near all the tourist attractions so we were able to walk everywhere, the staff were so helpful...nothing was too much trouble! Breakfast was delicious and so fresh, all in all I caan't recommend this place enough....only thing I would mention is I purposely booked a room at the back due to reading reviews of noisy revellers and I'm glad I did because the student vibe around St Stephens Green can be Very noisy, as can the trams....