Ratings based on 824 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Nice hotel close to many visitor attractions.

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Lovely hotel, very clean and staff were always polite and willing to help. Husband found bed was quite hard but overall very happy with our stay. Ate in restaurant and bar and would recommend. The only thing missing for me was a fitness suite but as I walked all over Dublin it probably wasn't needed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

Expected more

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Food at the restaurant was good.
Cons: See above
Location: Nicely centrally located in the city. Close to the rail station. Great breakfast at "third space"d
For those that travel overnight and arrive in the am, the 3pm check in time is a burden. Check out time was 12 noon and hotel shuts down the room air conditioning at 11 in the morning. So we are rushing to leave because we are uncomfortable. If I paid these prices I expect to have air conditioning up to the time I leave. It just left me with a bad taste in my mouth.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

city break

Posted Sep 10, 2014
we stayed at the hotel for two nights and had a really lovely time. The staff were really friendly and the food was of a very good standard. The hotel itself was in a really good location with easy walking distance lots of attractions including the zoo and Guinness store house and if you want to go into town there is a tram stop right out side the hotel which is very hand indeed. we had a lovely stay and we would recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel Near Guinness Brewery, Zoo

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Location: Great location with train station and bus stop nearby. Walking distance to a lot of the main attractions: Dublin Zoo, Guinness Brewery, Temple Bar...
I really enjoyed our stay at the Ashling. It was one of the few hotels we could find that could accommodate 4 persons. Our room was clean and comfortable, and offered a good amount of space. To turn on the lights, you must keep a room card in a slot. The hotel offered free Wi-Fi, which worked well throughout the hotel. I even used it to Skype home while lounging in the bar. We arrived about an hour or two before check in time (3pm) and the room was already available. There is an option to check in early for the fee of 30 Euros, but thankfully we didn't have to pay since the room was ready. Also, when we checked out, we were able to keep our luggage in the hotel's luggage room while we went to the zoo prior to leaving Dublin. The hotel was in a great location with the train station and bus stop nearby. It's walking distance to a lot of the main attractions: Dublin Zoo, Guinness Brewery, Temple Bar District, Trinity College, etc. We didn't try the breakfast as previous reviews suggested walking to nearby places for a cheaper, better meal. One morning we walked to Third Space (about a 10 min walk) and had a great Irish breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

A week in Dublin!

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Big rooms, king sized bed, very clean, renovated/ modern etc.
Cons: Longer hours for room service with wider selection.
Location: 2 min walk to train station, 5 min. walk to Phoenix park, 10 min. walk to Guinness storehouse, 20-25 min. walk to city center.
Me and my girlfriend stayed at this hotel while we were in Dublin for a week. Our room was bigger than most rooms in hotels and was very comfy and clean with a king sized bed. The location was great (2 min. from the train station, we could take the tramway right next to our hotel, running every 15 min or so, the hotel was located 2 KM from city center which made it nice and quiet etc.) The personnel were very helpful an friendly. The first room we got was facing the main street (with tramway et all). We could hear a bit of street traffic. We asked to be switched and the next room was located in the back and was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel Excellent location

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Zoo, Museum and Guiness Factory close by. Good location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Far away from the "city"

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Like so many travelers, I relied on TA for my hotel choice. Overall, at a 4.5 I felt I was in pretty good shape going into the stay at the Ashling. I realized we were in trouble a little bit when we were driven through the "city" and past it about 2.2 miles. The Ashling entry is nice enough - but it is clear they haven't put the money back into this property. Pictures are of the hotel - but probably about 10 years or so ago. Hotels must be maintained and freshened up - this hotel simply has not kept up. Wireless was about the only bright spot in all honesty. Spend a few extra Euro and stay closer to the action.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Plano, Tx

Our stay in Dublin

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Room was very nice and bed was great. All amenities were provided and staff attended to our needs quickly and efficiently.
Cons: Servers at breakfast buffet should be more attentive. Room service meal we received when we arrived was not very good.
Location: As stated above the location was a bit of a challenge, taking the tram was convenient but could be dicey depending on when you were riding.
Hotel was very nice and we enjoyed our stay. The location was a bit far from the city centre and it was necessary to catch the tram each time we wanted to go in town. At times the riders of the tram were a bit rough around the edges and provided some discomfort for a traveller not from Ireland. Room was very nice and bed was great. All amenities were provided and staff attended to our needs quickly and efficiently. If I had any negatives it was the attitude (or lack of an attitude) of the servers when we ate breakfast. I've never quite experienced a staff that was concentrated so much on stacking the plates and organizing the tableware, cleaning tables and completely ignoring the diners. Granted it is a buffet, but the servers in the main dining room never once came to our table to see if we needed anything, we had to hunt them down and ask for what we needed. It was if they were purposely avoiding eye contact so that they could go about their business cleaning and stacking. Food at breakfast buffet was very good however and had a great selection
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Lovely hotel to relax and feel at home.

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Hotel Ashling is a very comfortable and relaxing hotel. The breakfast is varied and service is excellent. We also went out on a day tour and on return found we had left the safe open with cash and passports in full view. To our surprise nothing had even been moved we thanked the staff for there honesty which is unusual these days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cheltenham

Ideally positioned for city break.

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: The position of the hotel, friendly staff and comfortable rooms.
Cons: Restaurant menu, limited choice.
Location: We visited the Jameson's Distillery, Guiness Store House, Trinity College to see the Book of Kells and court the Luas (tram) to Grey Stones
Nice hotel, well positioned near Hueston stationed, we brought a Leap Card at the airport which covered all our travel during our 3 day visit, don't go to the expense of a taxi to get from the airport to the city, just catch the 747 bus outside the airport door with your Leap Card and it takes you right through the city, the last stop is Hueston Station.