Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well centralized

Posted Apr 27, 2014
I was there and then I left. But my time there was good and the staff were very helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by sean from london

Nice hostel locaation.

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Nice hostel, very friendly staff who are always happy to help, unfortunately didn't wake up intime for breakfast but heard it was good, private and communal facilities in good clean condition. The security presence is very clear and erasures the safety of your stay (CCTV, pass keys on entrance)
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

They moved us to a horrible hostel

Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cara from Edinburgh

Quiet hostel close to the action

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Avalon House is in a great part of town - close to Temple Bar, Wexford St, Grafton St etc - but on a quieter street so there's no loud drunks outside. Staff and security is great. Pillows are pretty nonexistent but apart from that it's comfy and clean. I've stayed there on five trips to Dublin now - can't get anywhere better for location and price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Riley from Vancouver, Canada

Location is the key perk for this hostel

Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
I think young backpackers will like this place. It is close to everything in Dublin and has lots of activities. I had some reservations about the dorm my sister was staying in. Normally we don't mind mixed dorms but most places have an age maximum of 35 or so. There was a middle aged gentleman in her room - while he was perfectly nice it was awkward for her. The breakfast was minimal - I would have been happier if I had the ability to toast the bread. The room are cramped but provide the basic necessities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Minneapolis, MN USA

Good location, not so great room

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Pros: Location/Price
Cons: The bathrooms
Location: Very near St. Patrick's cathedral and some fun bars and restaurants, and a short walk to most other things
Stayed at Avalon house for our first 2 nights arriving in Dublin. It is very easy to take the public bus to get to the hotel and is located a short walking distance to most spots and night life. Main area is fine and has a cafe connected to it which is nice and also where you eat breakfast. We booked a private room with private bath for 2 people. We are not picky travelers, but our room was pretty bad. Had 2 single beds that were quite small and the way the room was setup was not able to push beds together, which for a couple can be a little annoying. Then our private bathroom was probably the worst. Smallest sink i have seen with little soap dispenser above which made it impossible to wash face/hands. Shower was just as small. After using the bathroom each time, I felt dirtier leaving than going into it. Not sure if this was just our room or all double rooms. Shared bathrooms even seemed better. So maybe if you are down for the hostel experience this could work, but for couples prob not.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by david from cork

very basic

Posted Sep 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
very basic, breakfast was minimal, even for a hostel, the room was tiny an beds were uncomfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gordon from Wisconsin - USA

Reasonable Lodging - Dublin

Posted Sep 17, 2013
Pros: Reasonable cost. Spacious common areas. Proximity to city center. Close access to public transportation.
Cons: Coffee.
Location: Everything to do in/near city center of Dublin.
Friendly, helpful staff. Clean facility. Near city center.