Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rob from Blyth

Excellent staff let down by poor standards.

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: The staff and distance to town centre.
Cons: The breakfasts, the bathroom services, the electrical plugs and the breakfast services.
Location: Barrys hotel is located just minutes away from Dublin town centre so there is plenty to do
The staff at Barrys hotel are excellent no qualms about that. However when me and my partner went to our room it was very small and the bathroom only had 2 towels and no toiletries. However the main concern was the bedroom itself there were 12 wall plugs only 3 of which worked the others when tried killed my laptop instantly aswell as the rooms television. The bed, when it was made by the housekeeping staff, was replaced with fresh sheets that had brown marks on that we did not dare to think about the origins of. The breakfast was appalling no buts about it. I attempted to have a slice ot toast but the toaster did nothing but warm the bread after 10 minutes and my partner attempted to have a rice cake but it had been there so long it was solid and she could not even bite it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Ok for a night.

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel itself is an old building. Thin walls. Bathroom/shower extremely small. Room clean. Like most hotels/B&B I stayed at, the heat (radiator) is only turned on during certain times in the evening, so it gets very chilly at night unless you are well tucked in the blankets. Wifi reachable only near lobby. Walking distance (~5-10 minutes) to several restaurants (including Vietnamese, SUBWAY, Irish diner) and public/airport bus. ~20 minute walk to center of town/tourist area. Nice Abby and park nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Gareth Lawrence from London

Posted Nov 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very friendly, helpful and efficient staff. For the most part the area near the hotel featured attractive Georgian buildings and Great Denmark Street itself is an pleasant road. But walking to the hotel from Busáras I found the area around Parnell Street to be slightly intimidating. That said, the overall experience I had at the hotel was very positive with staff who took great concern over the comfort and convenience of the guests.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Owen from Dublin

Rude service. BE AWARE!

Posted Nov 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
The front desk employee was rude and not helpful. I informed him that the lock on my door was not working. He told me "that was just the way it was"... so at any time someone could have just pushed my door open and entered and/or stolen all of my belongings.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by mazda323 from Donegal

Posted Nov 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
listen for the price that i paid i didn't expect much but was satisfied and left happy, if you pay peanuts you get monkeys but the staff i met were friendly and understood everything. as for the location, for the purpose of my visit this hotel was 100%...thanks
3 out of 5
Recommended
by M from Cork

Posted Nov 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room window needed repair & light bulb out, but bed comfortable/ good pillows.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 5, 2013
We loved the location of the hotel...close to the city centre without being right in the middle of all of the action. The staff was very helpful.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Service good, room not

Posted Oct 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
The service staff were wonderful. The room left a lot to be desired. Bed was lumpy, with springs poking through. Window didn't always shut, and it can be a noisy neighborhood
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Chunky from España

Mixed opinion

Posted Oct 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very central hotel, with all-night shops nearby. Good value in centre of a major world city...as long as your standards are not too high. In general, needs a good bit of refurbishment. Decor is very dated. Potential to be a beautiful old-style Victorian Dublin hotel, but owners have let the years drain it of its old charm. Road outside is fairly quiet for a big city. Bedrooms are kept as clean as they possibly can for this ageing hotel. Beds are comfortable enough and there are loads of pillows. TV's in room have not been upgraded to the modern Irish system so forget about relaxing and watching TV. Guy at check-in was quite nice but girl at check-out was not. She looked as if she hated her job. Although supposedly a non-smoking hotel, smokers were not controlled in any way and the stench of smoke was rife and vile. Constant banging of doors woke me up at a very early hour, depriving me of much needed sleep. Baggage storage is disgusting and not secure. I was handed the key and sent downstairs to lock up my belongings by myself leaving an open opportunity, if I was that way, to search through other people's bags for valuables without being noticed. It was filthy and had loads of rubbish bags (unclosed!) thrown in there too, making me feel I was leaving my bag in a rubbish bin. This hotel could be a lovely gem in the centre of an amazing city, but the ownership have allowed it to become quite rundown.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Under renovation

Posted Sep 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very warm welcome by the receptionist. We checked into the room which was full of saw-dusts & not tidy yet! Changed into another room which was so small. Never been in such a small shower cubical. They upgraded us with the full breakfast. New owner had just bought the hotel 3 months ago. Loads of repairs needed.