Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Location was OK Hotel really old. 91 steps up to our room, no elevator. The entire floor sloped down to one side. Quite noise on a thursday nite.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by G.G. from New York

Bridge House Dublin (Ireland)

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Pros: Central location, inexpensive price
Cons: staff could have helped with taking luggage up the stairs
Location: You can walk to half the places you'd like to visit from here
I booked this via the internet because of its central location. It's a great base to tour central Dublin. It was also relatively cheap compared to other nearby hotels. Therefore I did not mind that it was very spartan. The room is the size of a monastic cell; The old t-v set only received 2 channels; The two towels in the bathroom were small and thin; No shampoo or soap was offered. Breakfast is not included. The room had no air conditioning. My biggest problem: the hotel has NO ELEVATORS. I had to drag a large suitcase up 5 flights. (The reception area is on the 2nd floor.) Still, the room was clean. While not completely quiet ... it was QUIETER than the two other hotels I'd stayed at in Temple Bar where pub noise kept me up till 4am. I would return in the future if the rates remained comparable.
2 out of 5
by Monteve

In the heart of Dublin but...

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms could use an update
Location: Bars, restaurants and pubs.
Room was a bit tired and not exactly what we expected. Be ready for lots of stairs on the way to your room. But the location is great and right near the heart of the city, restaurants and bars.
2 out of 5
by Julia from London

It doesn't work, so what?

Posted Apr 6, 2014
The only positive thing about this place is that it is very close to nice eateries and venues - Temple Bar. The check-in was half an hour later than the booking confirmation stated. Although the confirmation promised WiFi in the room, it did not work. The annoyed receptionist told me it had never worked, and that she was not the one to put info on the site.She went on, like, so it doesn't work, what do you want me to do? I mentioned the review, and the reply was 'no problem'. I was offered to come downstairs from the 4th floor whenever I needed the Internet, even in the middle of the night. The luggage rack in the room was broken. The following day, however, I was - with apologies - offered a room on the 1st (I would still call it the 2nd) floor, and there was no sign of annoyance in the same receptionist this time. Apparently, the review did matter. WiFi was still unstable, so I was able to connect but not use it. The shower cabin was shabby - either moulded or just broken enamel, the shower itself was sending water in all directions, and there was no TV remote control in the room. At this stage I gave up and decided it was only two more nights. Finally, the sound travels between rooms, so it is not the quietest place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, clean but the staff are unwelcoming

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: The location was really good.
Cons: The receptionist on check in as she was rude, the phrase Iron Lady comes to mind.
We checked into the hotel at about 9.30pm. We was greeted by the most unwelcoming receptionist ever? Would it of hurt to crack a smile. She was dismissive and sent us to our room. The room was dated but very clean. Need new beds but other than that was ok. I rang the receptionist to ask about the WI-FI and she put the phone down on me. When i rang back she said I had to come to reception. She was on her phone texting so that why she couldn’t be bothered to read it to me over the phone. I don’t see the point of her she is useless. I rang her for a hairdryer too and she put the phone down. Great Service, thanks. On the second night of our stay we had a different receptionist and she was really nice, the other one should get some customer service training from her.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very central, but loud

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Central location
Cons: No shampoo in shower, not enough blankets, pillows too thin
Location: Temple Bar location - lots of bars
This is a good hotel if you want a very central location - right in Temple Bar. It's probably best if you're planning to stay out late though. We were kept awake every night until at least 2am by all the noise coming from bars and partiers outside. The window did nothing to keep the noise out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Sunil from North London

A great base for tourists

Posted Feb 1, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location. Although, the hotel is easy to miss so I was grateful to The Turk's Head bouncers at 11.30pm! River Liffey is in sight.
Cons: Reorient the room(s) so plug sockets are accessible & there's room to pass the beds Heating controls/thermostat Better pillows
Location: You're on the edge of Temple Bar = City Hall & Dublin Castle Walk Trinity College's grounds (not the paid guided one though) Riverside
The location is brilliant - walking distance to everything even in the omnipresent rain! - having City Hall/Dublin Castle at the bottom of the road is a great marker + Airlink Express bus stops 1-2mins away. The hotel itself is quite shabby & if your window is open, Porterhouse opposite is LOUD into the wee hours - city types should be fine with this. The radiator controls didn't seem to work, wifi was good when there but away from reception, I lost connection often (''~) The bathroom I had could do with a shelf above the sink, a towel rail & somewhere to hang clothes but the shower worked really well ;)
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Elbie Richter from Limerick

Location fine, rooms clean, service bad.

Posted Jan 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Price was good, but would rather pay more for friendly service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Dean from Canada

The bridge house

Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel its self was quiet but when the bars let out at night it was very noisey. The bed i had was worn out, the room was clean and the bathroom was clean. The location was very good close to everything. So i wasn't too bad
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2014 by Irene, Hotel Management
Hi Dean, Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience on the website. We hope that will see you again very soon. Kindest Regards, Irene
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by iamextine from Canada

Needs work!

Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is amazingly located. Right in town and easy to find. The hotel itself is very run down, our room had mold in the walls and was not very clean. The sheets were clean, but the bed was pretty awful. Needed replaced badly. It wasn't too noisy but we were on the top floor, I would imagine the bottom floors are unbearably noisy with the street noise. It is an ok hotel if you are just resting your head and that's it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2014 by Irene, Hotel Management
Hi Iamextine, Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience . We are upgrading our facilities and the bedrooms as well .We do apologies if we give you the wrong impression at this stage . We willing to see you again and we hope you will change your first impression about our lovely accommodation . Kind Regards, Irene