Ratings based on 166 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall a good stay

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Wonderful staff.
Cons: Swim hours for kids needs to be expanded.
Location: Super location with lots to do within a 15min walking distance including shops and several nice restaurants.
Overall this is a great hotel and the staff is just great. The room was nice and big and the beds were comfortable. Room cleanliness was ok as noted some cobwebs in a few spots. Our only real complaint was the swimming pool schedule that kept the family from being able to use in the evenings as all the time was set aside for adults only. If your kids have their harts set on spending hours in the pool, especially in that critical 'what do I do with them now' time after dinner but before bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Candice from Arizona

Lovely hotel in walking distance of train station

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: The staff was top notch. They were helpful and kind even when busy with parties (confirmations/baptisms are big and they host a lot of these events).
Cons: The rooms are in the process of being upgraded, so, once this is complete, it will be a big plus for the hotel.
Location: The hotel is located on top of a hill and is a short walk to the center of town where there are wonderful eateries and bars.
The hotel was a great experience. My husband and I were in Ireland for our honeymoon and found the whole hotel an intimate experience. We had asked for a quite room and they but us at the very end of the hallway in the corner. They also upgraded our room for free. All of the staff was wonderful and very nice. The level of helpfulness of the staff was one of the shining stars of the place. The room could use an upgrade decor wise but the bathroom had been redone and was beautiful. The room was also very roomy and intimate. We were worried about the bed size since European beds and American beds are different but they but us in a big, comfy bed (my husband is 6' 2" and we need the space). We had a nice view of the sea and Dalkey Island from our room. Though we only ate breakfast once at the hotel (it was okay), we tried their other eating options and enjoyed each one. The bars and bar staff are wonderful and, during our last night, they had a piano player so we were able to enjoy some dancing. The walk from the hotel to Dalkey and the Dalkey train station is about 10/15 minutes. The hotel is on a hill, so it is something to take into account when looking at walking to and from the hotel. But to be honest, with the type of eating and drinking we were doing on our trip, all the walking made if feel like we were earning each bite and sip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Marie from Belfast

First visit to Fitzpatrick Castle.

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: Quiet rooms and corridors you were unaware of others moving about. Entertainment in bars. Complimentary water in the room.
Cons: Coping with demand at breakfast.
Location: Nice restaurants and pubs. Good walks and costal views.
We enjoyed our stay as its a nice area -pretty village with beautiful costal views. The hotel is situated at the top of a hill, a good fifteen minutes walk from Dalkey village but if your are not a walker taxis are available. The hotel is old style , perfectly clean and welcoming staff. One minor complaint is that we had to queue and wait for hot food to be replaced at breakfast serving area while other food on your plate got cold.!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, great food!!

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Great hotel huge family room, lovely food and thoughtful staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robert from Dallas

Very nice old hotel on bay.

Posted Nov 28, 2013
Cons: If you drive to hotel, parking is extremely tight and limited.
Wonderful remodeled older hotel. Note: It is NOT a castle, but a castle atmosphere. It has a Dungeon Bar & Grill very nice. Only negative is location is extreme Southeast end of Dublin and takes 35 minutes from Downtown Dublin to travel to and from. Great indoor pool.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kelly from US

Beautiful location, lovely old building.

Posted Sep 24, 2013
Loves the experience. Staff and location were excellent. They made a small mistake on our room, and gave us free breakfast, which was by far the best breakfast we had in Ireland!! Only complaint is the beds are very hard by typical American standards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Marge from Scotland

Family hotel

Posted May 28, 2013
Pros: Friendly @ helpful staff
Cons: Dated areas needin a refurb.
Location: Suited us due to a wedding nearby
Staff very helpful @ friendly. Room looks like recently done up @ fresh. Bathroom old @ tired. Downstairs dated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Richard from New York

Great Stay

Posted Apr 30, 2013
Pros: Babysitting service was very convienient.
Location: If you like being a little bit outside of downtown, and like the "small town" feel, then this is the place for you.
One person up front was not helpfull at all, but the rest of the staff was extremely friendly and willing to help us. The hotel amenities were better than described, and the whole family was pleased. The staff helped us plan events even before arriving, and saw us through our whole trip. It was a great stay, and a good time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Shawna from Maple Valley, WA

Wonderfully Quiet Setting

Posted Apr 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff were friendly and helpful. The pool and fitness centers are busy but perfectly clean and large enough to handle the amount of people. Breakfast is extra but a great deal for a Full Irish Breakfast at 10 euros. It is only a short walk into the village of Dalkey where you can catch the train to Dublin for sightseeing. It takes under an hour to walk to the station and get to Dublin. There is a lovely, large park next to the castle where you can go for an easy hike up to the monument and you are rewarded with beautiful views of Dalkey and the ocean. The restaurants have great food but slow service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Josh from Wyoming, USA

Wonderful staff

Posted Mar 28, 2013
Pros: Staff
Cons: A few cosmetic flaws in the room
Location: Very good location for getting on the train. Safe neighborhood for walking around.
The staff in the hotel are fantastic. They were very courteous and helpfull. The lounge, restaurants and fitness center were top notch. Our room needed some work though. Some wallpaper was coming off, the ceiling was cracked and some bathroom tiles were cracked. The flaws did not bother me too bad though. I would stay there again anytime. I can't say enough about the staff they were great!