Ratings based on 241 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom L.A.

charming guest house with European feel

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: charm; friendly, attentive staff; delicious, plentiful breakfast; comfy bed and clean bathroom/linens; convenient proximity to Dublin attractions
Cons: small room showed signs of wear (water stains on ceiling, some carpet stains), but otherwise clean; WiFi connection needs improvement (inconsistent)
Location: within easy walking distance of Camden Street's ethnic restaurants (try Neon!) and pubs, Georgian neighborhood, St. Stephen's Green, National Gallery
Overall, we had a positive stay for two nights. The immediate neighborhood (residential and office buildings) doesn't have much in the way of amenities, but there are plenty of options within a reasonable walking distance. The dining room has a view of historic row houses with brightly painted doors and the street is lined with large trees. Staff was friendly and attentive and very helpful with expediting check-in and check-out, scheduling a taxi to the airport, restaurant recommendations, and orienting us to the neighborhood. Kilronan House is a good bet for guests who prefer a small, traditional hotel to a bland, corporate hotel experience or a hostel, and/or who want distance from Dublin's congested tourist center and don't need the latest state-of-the-art amenities. Ask for a room that doesn't face the street, as traffic noise can be disruptive. We'd stay there again if we could get a slightly larger room (it was a tight fit for my 6'3" husband!) and there was no place to lounge except for the bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom providence ri

second time here

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: the staff
Cons: the door handles on each room
Location: Grafton street, st stephans green, dinner, clubs etc
love this place, very comfortable, the staff make it all work great breakfast walking distance to the green and Grafton
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent staff!

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Outstanding and friendly staff! Delicious breakfast! Very nice room. Great location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Saskatchewan, Canada

Lovely hotel in great location.

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: breakfast was great and staff was friendly.
Cons: It would have nice to have a larger room - ie, somewhere to sit other than the bed. The bathroom was, however, very spacious.
Location: Within walking distance of many of the interesting sites of Dublin and close to restaurants and pubs. Would say location was excellent.
Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Also, they were knowledgeable about the area and made good recommendations about where to eat, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne Australia

Nice hotel full of character

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: Lots of character.
Cons: A way to get bags up to the higher floors.
Location: Located in a long row of Georgian style houses on a fairly busy street. However I was not disturbed by any road noise.
I enjoyed my stay here. The rooms were warm and comfortable. The hotel provided a lot of old word character. If you don't like old buildings with narrow stairs, lots of old style furniture don,t stay here. But I loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NC

Nicely situated, relaxing and polite.

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: Place, style, breakfast, attitude
Location: Walkable to most of the older bits of Dublin.
This was the final leg of our trip and a perfect place to wrap it up. Staff very helpful, offering Irish coffees when we came in, etc. Loved having a skylight we could open.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Nice hotel. Great location. Beautiful, old building. Friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excellent séjour

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Pros: Tout.
Cons: En ce qui nous concerne, il correspondait à la description et à notre demande, donc, très bien pour cette catégorie d'établissement.
Cet hôtel est situé à 10 - 15 minutes de marche du centre, dans un quartier tranquille et aéré. L'accueil y est fantastique, le personnel d'une extrême gentillesse. L'établissement, un peu vieillot mais si typique, est plein de charme. Le petit déjeuner, varié et copieux (salade de fruits, pancakes, full irish breakfast, jus de fruits...), est servi dans un cadre cosy. Notre chambre était confortable, très propre et dotée d'une excellente literie. Notre séjour était parfait.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very friendly and hospitable staff

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: Comfort, style and generosity
Location: Within walking distance of city centre -10 minutes
We were offered Irish coffees on our return to the hotel in the evening, which was a generous and lovely gesture. Breakfast was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

Lovely, welcoming and comfortable B&B

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: They ask you to arrive for 2pm earliest, but if you ring they will be more than happy to accommodate you earlier. I came at about 11am.
Cons: The shared bathroom, though sparkling clean, didn't have a light switch so it was difficult to go at night! The internet was also a bit temperamental.
Location: Just to also mention about breakfast. Lots of choices from Full English to omelettes, pancakes, cereal, fruit etc. all included in the price.
I had Room 17, a cozy but weirdly spacious double bedroom with in-built shower and washbasin. The hotel staff are extremely polite and approachable - even though it was a full house during my stay, I felt like a valued guest. I was really pleased to find fresh white bedsheets and white hand towels aplenty. A few reviews I read prior to booking said that the floors, sheets and upholstery were stained and dirty, but that was not my experience at all. The washbasin was also lovely and clean. I will say however that the shower seemed quite used - the base was off-colour and had mould and limescale around it. I didn't really feel like stepping inside as it had clearly seen better days. In general, because it's an old Victorian house, it may be a little on the run-down side as far as interior decorating goes. Personally, this wasn't an issue for me. I saw no cobwebs as all, which means it's extremely well managed. You'd have to try and look very closely at the edges of skirting boards, behind furniture and deep into crevices to feel bothered by the fact that the paintwork etc. wasn't perfect. As far as I was concerned, I felt very much at home. The hotel has carefully considered the needs of its guests. The amenities were great. As I said, lots of hand towels and flannels etc. There was a hairdryer, soap, main light switch above the bed (wish I had this were I live), TV, chair, wardrobe, side tables, two socket panels, separate light for shower, iron with ironing board.