Ratings based on 506 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel even if a little dated!

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Size of the rooms and comfort.
Cons: A bit of an uplift.
Location: All of Dublins attractions were within walking distance.
Pros: Great location, big room and very comfortable. Con: Quite dated, some parts of the room were obviously old and needed a little maintenance. Nothing too bad just generally old.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent location.

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: location, location location
Cons: furnishings etc could be upgraded
Location: Merrion Square, National Gallery, Leinster House, Trinity College. wonderful place to be in.
Old fashioned but pleasing hotel in an excellent location in the centre of Dublin. A good choice if you do not mind foregoing the luxuries of a 4 or 5 star and just want a decent place to stay in the centre of town.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom texas

Nice hotel close for walking to. Historical places

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: Elevators so we did not have to carry luggage upstairs
Location: Museums , galleries , libraries , cathedral, shopping , university
Close to sites that we wanted to visit. This was important. We live in an area that doesn't include much walking and all of the things we did were within walking distance without much stress.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Handy for most things

Posted Sep 29, 2014
No problems. Pleasant staff, decent food and overall a good place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, Canada

Nice Hotel just a short walk from the City Center

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: See my comments
Cons: Standardize breakfast for all guests ... considering the price you pay for the room it should be included.
We were actually booked into the Mont Clare however on arriving were informed that due to an overbooking situation we were being upgraded to the sister hotel, the O'Callaghan Davenport, located just across the road. We were comfortable with this change as The Davenport is rated as a four star and we were also given complimentary breakfasts to compensate for the inconvenience. Overall we enjoyed our stay in this hotel. the room assigned was large, clean and comfortable. The rooms seemed very sound proof with no noise from the corridors. Breakfast was a typical full Irish breakfast selection and we were offered substitutes to the normal scrambled eggs by the waitress who said she would arrange for eggs to be cooked any way to our liking. We found all the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is situated in central Dublin just a short 10 minute walk from the center of the city where all the action is. The facilities are somewhat limited compared with a typical 'four star' north American hotel. We only observed one quiet bar and adjoining restaurant other than the breakfast room. No sign of lounges or outside lawns or even a swimming pool? Also guests should be aware that despite past Irish traditions of including breakfast with your booking, the OCallaghan hotel doesnt always include this. Some guests have it included while others do not and considering it is 15 euros it can be expensive for a family .
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Go0od for an overnight stay

Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
I thought it was good for an overnight stay, but I could have missed my flight because I did not receive the requested wake-up call.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Gerfrom Sligo

Super Friendly and professional staff

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff were very helpful and firendly. Even though we arrived early they did there best to accomadate us and give us a room as we needed to get ready for a wedidng we were attending that day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Shrubfrom Canada

Great Hotel in Great Location

Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location close to all the sites you would want to see, but in a quieter part of town. Park is right across the street. Book of Kells is right behind it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Good Hotel

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Central location for all amenities, friendly & helpful staff, room cleaned daily.
Cons: The steps at the main entrance are very steep, there is no slope as an alternative so not easy dragging a suitcase up the steps on your own.
Location: Within walking distance to the shops eg Grafton Street & sights Trinity College,St Stephens Green, National Gallery of Ireland .
The entrance to the hotel was difficult to manage with a suitcase as there were quite a few steps and very steep, there was no alternative . The rooms were clean my only comment is that the duvet on the bed was far too heavy & quite old fashioned, I asked the staff if a single sheet could be provided, which was put on the beds the next morning. The restaurant in the hotel although convenient, was over priced for breakfast, luckily there were coffee shops nearby as an alternative. There is a taxi company that the hotel uses so always easy to order a taxi when needed.