Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Will from USA

Good inexpensive stay in Dublin

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Internet
Location: Great Location. Right in Temple Bar
Stayed here with 4 friends for two days. Right in the heart of Dublin. Easy access to every point in the city. We walked everywhere, except when it was raining. Nice bar attached to the hostel. The free breakfast is more than I expected. Overall a good stay. Recommend it if staying in Dublin for a few days and want to see the whole city. Right in Temple bar, if you want to go out for a while. Had no problem with the noise. The only thing was that internet was a little slow, but worked. I am happy with the stay, perfect location.
3 out of 5
by eve from new york

Nice in theory

Posted Dec 3, 2013
The room was abused and stationed behind the hostel laundry room. Everytime they came in the hallway the door would slam. Free "breakfast" was toast or cereal with coffee or juice and there was no seating available. In addition the free "welcome drink" was a half pint and can only be redeemed before 6pm, which is impossible if you are trying to hit shops that all seem to close at 5 or 6 or if you're sightseeing before attractions close. They don't let you leave with your room key and they don't check to see you are who you are when you request your key. My friends came in to get the key and they gave them someone else's. Real nice. The bathroom smelled very strongly of bleach which I suppose in a place like that is a good thing, and the bunk beds were loud and the mattresses very thin (cheapest ikea you can get). Putting the top bunk's comforter under me made a huge difference. They also don't provide hair dryers and charge a 20 euro deposit if you need one. The room rate was very expensive and if you walk 5 extra minutes each way you can have much better accommodations with much better breakfasts at half the price and no vomit on the sidewalk in the morning. I'm not very picky and I can rough it I lived in worse- but the lack of security despite their stringent check in policy along with the price for what you get is not worth it. Try the townhouse on lower gardiner and it's like getting one night for free- plus the staff is incredibly friendly and your things will be secure
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Pengo from USA

Reserved apartment room, got hostel room

Posted Sep 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
There are apparently two types of rooms at the Gogarty and we ended up with a hostel room instead of an apartment room. Location is great ... in Temple Bar. But you pay for it with noise. At night, it seemed liked there was no glass in the windows because the music was so loud. The breakfast was good and the ability to use the kitchen at any time was really useful. The hostel gives a coupon for a free drink at Gogarty's Pub and a free CD with Irish music and a free walking tour of Dublin. Probably wouldn't stay there again ourselves, but encourage people who don't mind loud music all night to consider it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Saclacy48 from California

Fun neighborhood but has some drawbacks

Posted May 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
We used the penthouse apartment and were pleasantly surprised. The are 6 two bedroom, two bath apartments with kitchen, dining room, living room with flat screen TV, and small balcony. The furniture is well used but the twin beds were comfortable. The hostel area is on the lower floors and the dining room and bar are on street level. Lots of partying late into the night so there is noise. For 2 couples it worked well. Lots of bars and restaurants in Temple Bar area and close to Trinity College
1 out of 5
Recommended
by humdrum from australia

Posted Apr 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
The worst hotel we have ever been in, an absolute disgrace for the money wouldnt let my dogs stay there.only offered bunk beds, one towel between 2 adults, cold toast that everyone had handled, couldnt swing a cat in the bathroom, very noisy just like sleeping on the streets.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Great location but nothing more

Posted Mar 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Location was great. This hostel is right in the the heart of temple bar, surrounded by nice restaurants and pubs with great entertainment. I have stayed in Dublin many times before and I can honestly say that this accommodation was the worst I have ever stayed in...Our room looked like a tiny prison cell with a bunk bed, one chair and one small desk. Nothing else. We couldn't even sit down to relax or anything...It was cold and drafty in the room and it was absolutely freezing during the night despite the small radiator. No kettle, no sink...very limited and basic. We only wanted to crash there for one night before we departure back to England but it was terrible and I don't think I could recommend it to anybody....Great pub and restaurant though...really good entertainment choice and nice food although the prices of the drinks were so much higher than in other pubs in temple bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jimmy

Posted Feb 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Comfortable, great location. 2nd stay and will book it again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by dave

ideal

Posted Sep 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
This is a great place to stay..very affordable considering its location..very clean rooms with helpfull staff...definatly be going back.....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Excellent!

Posted Aug 30, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very friendly staff, rooms were all that we needed. Location right in temple bar! For the price, this was an excellent stay!