Ratings based on 565 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom United Kingdom

More than expected at a nice price!

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: Architecture and really comfortable beds
Cons: breakfast
Location: it is far away but the bus is right outside
The hotel is gorgeous, the breakfast is okay (I was expecting better because of the whole quality of the hotel). It is really far away from the city center (20-30 minutes in bus) but the good point is that you can pick a bus in front of the hotel and when you are back the bus left you just in the door, so that´s a good point.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, FL

Great hotel, friendly staff

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros:
Rooms were excellent, the staff was friendly and helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cambs

Lovely hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2015
We had a lovely stay in Dublin, the hotel was a great choice as its just out of the city centre but only a short taxi drive in. Beware of taxis from the the airport! It should only cost 35 Euros , we got stung for 55 Euros!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London, England

Top hotel on lovely grounds

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: Big rooms, huge bed great shower large grounds for walking in and a great breakfast.
Cons: My wife and our friends found the hair dryer in the room was underpowered and kept over heating and had to be turned off to cool down, only concern.
Location: great walk around the grounds, bus stop right outside, great pubs and restaurants within 15 mins walk.
We had a wonderful weekend break in Dublin at this lovely hotel. It was nice to be away from the business of town and relax when we wanted to but be within 6km of town when we wanted that. Staff were very helpful, breakfast was great all in all very enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester

Beautiful hotel near city

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Cons: The only complaint we had was that the wifi was down for over a day which we needed to plan what we were doing and there was no back up option.
Location: Bus stop just at the top of the hotel, easy to get into the city.
The hotel was absolutely beautiful, we didn't want to leave. The room was well decorated, comfortable and peaceful. We also had a meal at the hotel's Italian restaurant, the food was delicious and for a great price. The staff on reception were lovely and told us exactly what buses we could catch to the city from the hotel, and booked us a taxi back to the airport when we left. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely old house now a hotel.

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Most importantly the staff. Friendly, helpful and considerate. We felt welcome and we felt we mattered. Special mention: chambermaid and reception.
Cons: We have stayed in more luxurious luxury rooms, but have no complaints. Road access from south a bit awkward first time in the dark.
Location: Nicely located about 4 miles from Dublin city in a pleasant area, free parking, on a good bus route. City, sea, mountains all within easy reach.
The house has been nicely converted to a good standard with new accommodation and catering wings. The garden area is still large and well tended. Breakfast on day one was excellent and the grab-and-go early breakfast on day two was much appreciated as we had a boat to catch. This will certainly be a hotel of choice on future visits.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northern Ireland

An excellent hotel set in beautiful gardens.

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: The heating in the bedrooms.
Location: It is in a good location between the city and the port of Dun Laoghaire so if it's the buzz of the city or a breath of sea air you want neither is far
We enjoyed our stay very much and although it was Christmas and the hotel was very busy the staff were always warm and friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them, they could give lessons in how to welcome guests. We only had one problem and that was trying to regulate the heating in our room - it seemed to be impossible to get an even warm temperature.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Knoxville, TN

Anti-social hotel.staff & not centrally located..

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Hotel staff was not friendly at all, the ice machine was broken (we asked for ice & someone did bring a bucket to our room), they do not even offer free local.phone calls, there were no restaurants within walkng distance or even any that would deliver. The grounds were pretty but that is the most positive thing I can say about my stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Downstairs is ok couple of doors need replacing.

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Downstairs and food
Cons: Bedrooms
Downstairs ok looks good, reception ok, couple doors require replacing. Bedrooms are terrible, cracked tiles on floor, tiles dirty on wall, 2 pillows on bed no bottled water, how did it get 5*
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor condition

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Had meal in restaurant downstairs very nice and good value. Staff were very nice and helpful. Bedrooms upstairs very old fashioned, no bottled water only 2 pillows on the bed, bathroom was dirty cracked tiles on floor grout missing and dirthy. I wonder how it has 5* rating definitely not 5*. Downstairs nice, grounds nice