Ratings based on 267 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by linda from northern ireland

Nice hotel a bit expensive

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: Just the character
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Location not bad
Went to breakfast around 10am only to find very busy and 2staff on .Dissapointing service was slow and not a lot of cooked breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming hotel near center of Dublin

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: I liked that it is small and has charm. Quiet area not far from temple bar. We walked there in about 20 minutes
A charming hotel which was once a Schoolhouse. Done in a comfortable craftsman decor. The staff was very accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Apr 26, 2014
I would stay again.lovely hotel.Cosy.I nearly did not book when I saw some of the pictures by others of peeling paint,but I am very glad I did.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Convenient location, helpful staff, and very accommodating to the guests needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good quiet location 15min walk into town

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Location good, friendly staff, quiet room
Cons: Staff training as breakfast was a little chaotic
Location: Not in the centre of the city but good if you like to walk. There is a restaurant called Dobbins very close by which is definitely worth a visit.
Staff very friendly and hotel nice and quiet. Breakfast was good when it arrived but staff need training as they were not acting as a team and things quickly became a little chaotic. If the hotel was very busy, this would become a problem. Hotel beginning to look a little shabby and needs some upgrading in respect of decoration.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lou & Toni from New York City

Quaint Hotel in an Old Schoolhouse 18 Mar 2014

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Best thing about this hotel is the staff. ALL the staff will go out of their way to make your stay more comfortable.
Location: Hotel is located on the Grand Canal close to Merrion Square and Aviva Stadium. Far enough from the hustle of city center but within walking distance.
We could not be more pleased with The Schoolhouse Hotel. We were given a nice size room upstairs which had no view but quiet for sleeping. Bath had great water pressure and an old fashioned pull chain toilet which complemented the hotel's old world charm. Pleasant restaurant with a strong menu and a lively bar with several beers on tap.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CB from London

Great hotel with character

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: The history and character of the building and the friendly staff.
Cons: Our steak was a little overcooked so a little room for improvement there.
Location: Near the city centre so close to most amenities and close to the Aviva stadium.
Stayed here for the six nations rugby match. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the building has been converted sympathetically and the facilities are good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 11, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Dec 19, 2013
A delightful find - great location, very friendly and helpful staff, very comfortable room, excellent breakfasts. We will definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Kathleen from Rochester, NY

Convenient and comfy

Posted Dec 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay - hotel staff very friendly and helpful, hotel pub welcoming, close to O'Connell St and Temple Bar action (walkable, bus stops close), but quiet in the evenings. Setting (in a neighborhood, on a canal) was lovely. Bus stop (Airlink to Airport) right across the street.