Ratings based on 238 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Nov 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
A little let down for the price I paid. The room had some "wear" to it. Nothing horrible, but for the price, I expected more. There was late night noise out of the window from the outdoor neighboring pub. But the location is phenominal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Milton Keynes

Great location

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Location: This is a hotel to stay in if your in Dublin for the craic
Hotel situated within Temple Bar so all bars, restaurants etc. within minutes walk. Also most tourism sites easily reached. We were a bit concerned about the noise reported in other reviews on this hotel, but we stayed Mon-Wed and had no problems. Room (209) was of a decent size and very well set up with all that we required for our stay but had no view whatsoever as it overlooked a central shaft. Hotel was spotless andand appeared well looked after. Staff were excellent all-round. Did not use the hotel restaurant as too many good choices within minutes so can't comment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Great location.

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Location, right near Temple Bar District.
Cons: All went well. No complaints.
Location: On the River Liffey and close by to Temple Bar Area, very convenient.
Nice hotel, great location, very courteous staff. The room was very clean and comfortable. A little noisy, we could here the music and the people down in the bar area, but I guess that just depends on where your room is.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gunnar

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jørgen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Desdemonafrom UK

Posted Sep 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Eminently forgettable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by TCfrom Chicago

perfect execution, service bar none

Posted Sep 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
The service standards at the Clarence are truly exceptional. The front desk attendant completely made our day. He was attentive, polished, subtle, knowledgable and thorough. Everything else is as you'd expect - beautiful location, thoughtful amenties, well-appointed room presented spotlessly. But the service is what made it all come together. I say this as sommelier who's worked in hotels with higher prices and Michelin starred restaurants in both the US and EU - the service here absolutely knocks it out of the park and is easily what I'd expect from something 1.5x the price point. Thank you very much.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Abbyfrom NYC

Great Location, Great Service, BUT...

Posted Sep 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
I want to give this hotel 5 stars - I really do. The service is fantastic and the location can't be beat. The rooms are European sized, but completely fine for two people. Everything is exceptionally clean - from the front entrance to the guest rooms. What killed me was the room temperature - it was ungodly hot in our room. They gave us a cooling unit - BUT it didn't really do much besides blow hot air around our room. The alternative was to open the windows for a nice cool breeze - BUT there was a very loud bar below us. So, we could swelter or wear earplugs. To be fair, our friends who were on a lower level had no issues at all. So maybe just request a lower floor, but I would still pack the earplugs just in case. Or just go in the dead of winter when the heat will be welcome!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bristol, England

Beautiful hotel in a brilliant location

Posted Aug 20, 2014
The Clarence is a beautiful hotel located overlooking the river Liffey in the heart of Dublin! The hotel is well maintained and has some beautiful features. The staff are hard working, friendly and extremely helpful! The rooms are large and kept to a very standard, with tea/coffee making facilities, fresh towels and toiletries changed daily! Over a brilliant hotel in a perfect location to explore Dublin. Would definitely recommend to anoyone!