Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Milton Keynes

Great location

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Location: This is a hotel to stay in if your in Dublin for the craic
Hotel situated within Temple Bar so all bars, restaurants etc. within minutes walk. Also most tourism sites easily reached. We were a bit concerned about the noise reported in other reviews on this hotel, but we stayed Mon-Wed and had no problems. Room (209) was of a decent size and very well set up with all that we required for our stay but had no view whatsoever as it overlooked a central shaft. Hotel was spotless andand appeared well looked after. Staff were excellent all-round. Did not use the hotel restaurant as too many good choices within minutes so can't comment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Great location.

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Location, right near Temple Bar District.
Cons: All went well. No complaints.
Location: On the River Liffey and close by to Temple Bar Area, very convenient.
Nice hotel, great location, very courteous staff. The room was very clean and comfortable. A little noisy, we could here the music and the people down in the bar area, but I guess that just depends on where your room is.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bristol, England

Beautiful hotel in a brilliant location

Posted Aug 20, 2014
The Clarence is a beautiful hotel located overlooking the river Liffey in the heart of Dublin! The hotel is well maintained and has some beautiful features. The staff are hard working, friendly and extremely helpful! The rooms are large and kept to a very standard, with tea/coffee making facilities, fresh towels and toiletries changed daily! Over a brilliant hotel in a perfect location to explore Dublin. Would definitely recommend to anoyone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas

Temple bar gem

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: The hotel is within walking distance of all Dublin tourist attractions.
Cons: Was not able to watch PGA championship on hotel tv, but my wife was happy. Temple Bar area is rowdy at night which might not appeal to everyone.
Location: Walked to everything
Hotel Clarence on Wellington Quay is a perfect location for Dublin visitors on holiday. Rates are reasonable, rooms are large and comfortable, staff is wonderful, restaurant is good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Patrickfrom Brooklyn

One of the Best days in my Life

Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Top notch all the way will be back soon!!!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

A hotel in the centre of Dublin

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Everything !
Location: Templebar district,Irish pubs and music.A huge variety of eateries.A short walk to all the finest shops,museums and historical sights.
The Clarence is in the centre of The Templebar district,which hums with action all the time.The hotel itself is a peaceful haven.Stylish rooms,comfortable beds,everything to hand. Foods was superb .And the staff are excellent,friendly and attentive.Do go to the Octagon bar,the barman makes the best Cosmopolitan cocktail !
5 out of 5
Recommended
by les weekesfrom ireland

Friendly Staff

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very friedly and experience staff and the Resteraunt was first class.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Maryfrom Delaware

Overnight in Temple Bar

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: The staff were very nice
Cons: Sound proof the rooms that face into Temple Bar
Location: The hotel is located in the epicenter of the Temple Bar section of Dublin. It is near Trinity College ,Grafton Street and Ha penny Bridge.
The Cleaver restaurant was excellent and the hotel staff was very accommodating. The only negative was the room location. The rooms that face Wellington Quay are quieter. The rooms that are in the rear of the hotel are exposed to a lot of street noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarahfrom Philadelphia, PA. USA

Old World Service With A Trendy Twist

Posted May 18, 2014
The Clarence is conveniently located on Wellington Quay just a two minute walk from the trendy Temple Bar area. It is a ten minute walk to Grafton Street, Trinity College, and O'Connell Street. The staff is friendly and extremely courteous. The hotel room was large and comfortable, and the bathroom was also fine with a large tub, but oddly no outlet for a hair dryer. Unfortunately, it is also located next door to a night club, so if you are located in a back room, beware. The noise will continue until after 3 a.m. It is a nice property, but unless you get a front room or are a heavy sleeper, you might want to think twice before booking. I'd recommend it for its staff, service, and convenience but with reservations.