Ratings based on 1,054 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Barrie Ontario

Royal Marine, Home away from Home

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Friendly, good location,
Location: Middle of Dun Laoghaire
I've stayed at the Royal Marine on multiple occasions and have always had a great experience. I particularly like the "no problem is to big" attitude from the staff. They are always very accommodating to special requests. The ambience of the Bay feels more like a community centre with the comings and goings of people having coffee a meal or small business meetings. Clean rooms. Fantastic location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brighton

Good location in centre of Dun Laoghaire

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Health club, size of room
Cons: Little bit of refurbishment
Location: Centre of Dun Laoghaire, handy for the dart.
Good value, lovely big room, though it could do with a little bit of redecoration. Large, comfortable bed, sofa, coffee table and balcony. Small fridge which is a nice touch. Shower and separate bath. A lot of noise one night due to people in the smoking area outside the bar, but apart from that was very quiet. Very warm feel to the hotel. Could do with a few more staff in lounge and bar areas. Health club is gorgeous - you need to bring a swimming cap and flip-flops though!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St Albans UK

A truly WONDERFUL & HAPPY HOTEL

Posted Dec 2, 2014
The Royal Marine hotel most certainly lived up to it's well known reputation. The Spirit of the place touched us immediately. We were so warmly welcomed that we felt a at home straight away. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We enjoyed the luxury of our room being cleaned daily, especially the crisp clean sheets on our beds. For breakfast, we had so many choices: traditional Irish freshly cooked or continental with a generous selection of fresh fruit too. With unending pots of tea, coffee, herbal teas or whatever. As we had lots of friends visiting us, we chose to have our meals in the lounge. We recieved no pressure to hurry up. Consequently our friends stayed for hours, relaxing in ambiance of the place. We will treasure our memories for always.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The lovely Royal Marine

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Great facilities and very helpful staff, I have travelled very extensively and I can absolutely recommend this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Anniversary Weekend

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: xx
4 days and 3 nights as a gift for Wedding Anniversary
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great old irish place to chill

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: great bed, great facilities, location for trip to bray +other small towns
Cons: reduce the price of the food & drink a little but all euro towns & cities are expensive.
Location: great transport hub.. buy a "tourist 3 day leap card", use on d.a.r.t + trains, all Dublin buses, & the trams, (laus). great value
excellent location for trip into Dublin by d.a.r.t. for xmas shopping., then back to hotel to chill out. great pool / sports facilities. nice food + some of the black stuff, (Guinness). great staff. no complaints, have stayed in a lot of irish hotels , this one is deserves high praise .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Land O Lakes, FL

Treated like royalty

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Pros: Service, food, cleanliness.
Cons: Nothing, really. Everything was excellent.
Location: Dun Loaghaire is a quaint town, a twenty minute DART ride from Dublin. Close enough for all the sights, and a nice place to return for the night.
We arrived early, and they gave us an excellent upgrade so we could check in at 11AM. Beautiful view, and charming town. The staff was excellent, our room clean an appealing. The hotel is older, which is part of its charm, but the rooms do show a bit of aging. Bathrooms were completely modern. Bed was soft and comfortable, and the food on site was excellent. In fact, several locals meet at the hotel for meals, which says a lot for a hotel. Close to the DART - train to Dublin and further. The beautiful pier is right out the front door, and out the back bar door takes you to a small shopping mall. Lovely town, wonderful, friendly people. My daughter and I had massages, too, and used the spa facilities, which were marvelous. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel, especially after hearing others bad experiences at some of the "nicer" Dublin hotels. We will definitely return to The Royal Marine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 6, 2014
The staff and service at our hotel was fantastic. It was beautiful, comfortable and well taken care of.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Quiet and quaint

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Pros: The best attribute is being in a quieter location away from the downtown core but with quick access when needed.
Location: Walking the pier and south along the coast is a great fresh air experience.
This was my 2nd stay at the Royal Marine Hotel having spent a week in September 2013. Both stays were terrific with staff being very courteous and helpful, the check in experience very smooth and the room being quiet and comfortable. Internet service was excellent in the room and in the lobby. The location itself is lovely to be able to look out over the Dun Leary harbour and the ability to open the windows for fresh clean sea air is an added bonus. It is a short 20 to 25 minute trek by train or bus from city centre but well worth it for a more quaint stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good 3 star hotel....not 4 star

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Thought it a bit dated...furnishings dated . Service in dining room chaotic .