Ratings based on 310 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Carrickfergus

Different but friendly.

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Facilities good but bedroom too small for two people. Meal was very tasty but spoilt by road workers noisily laying tarmac outside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Very central

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Location: Very good
Very poor aspect from window overlooking commercial yard with industrial noise very Early in morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, convenient location!

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Location: St. Stephen's Green, Grafton Street, Marion Square, River Liffey, Trinity College, Temple Bar
From beginning to end, we were overwhelmed by the staff, location, and atmosphere of the Shelbourne Dublin Hotel. Walking out the door was a pleasure since St. Stephen's Green is right across the street. They strike a nice balance between formal and relaxed--not too stuffy.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Poor bathroom

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Very poor bathroom with no bath, a plastic shower curtain and a pull down plastic chair. Incredibly poor for a 5 star hotel at almost €300 a night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

The best hotel in Ireland

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: Can not improve on perfection.
Location: Within walking distance of most sites.
Clean comfortable and the best beds. I have no more to day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant but unauthorised payment taken from card

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: Character, ambience, history, location and breakfast.
Cons: Customer support and ownership of issues.
Location: Excellant location with parks, restaurants, bars, shopping and theatres nearby.
Very pleasant stay but disappointed and annoyed when we learned that the Shelbourne had incorrectly taken unauthorised payment of c.140 euro from card after paying balance on departure. Only partly resolved after numerous phone calls (no response to email to customer relations) and discussions with Bank. How can this happen ?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No room at the inn

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Upon arrival we were told there was no bedroom for us and we were taxied to another hotel not of our choice .Our stay was only 3 nights and we spent the first night away from the city centre worrying where we would be sleeping the next two nights. If the hotel had made this known to us we would have been prepared for this but obviously emails and phones were not working.The 2nd and 3rd nights were spent at this hotel , breakfast was splendidly spread out but actual content could be better.Placed next to draughty air conditioning we asked to move tables quite politely we thought however this was made into quite hard work (simple request one would have thought). Would recommend however maybe phone the hotel to check your booking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds GB

The best in the City.........The Shelbourne.

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: The ambiance,the very helpful and courteous staff,the most comfortable beds and the bar !!
Cons: Nothing !
Location: Situate opposite St. Stephens Green proximate to all local transport.Taxis always available to take you to various places of interest,suggest you walk
Wonderful Hotel in the very heart of Dublin,I would not dream of staying any where else in Dublin ! Hope to be back next year if not before (God willing)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from USA

Everything A Hotel Should Be

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Everything. Great location, great restaurants on premises, very helpful and cheerful staff. Rooms on par for an older hotel but very clean and modern.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: Very centrally located. Just across the street from St. Stephens park. Was excellent to take our child and let him run and play. Close to shopping.
The Shelbourne was a delight in every way. My wife and I and our 2 1/2yo son stayed there for 4 nights and were quite impressed. The staff were great. We only had a short time and the Concierge, both of them, were exceptional in arranging activities for us. The location can't be beat. Very central area with great pubs, sights, and shopping all within easy walking distance. We ate most of our meals in the hotels restaurants, which we found were top rate. We had dinner at the Saddle Restaurant and decided on the very special wine pairing meal offered. They offered a 5 course meal with dishes that were on their menu at different times during the hotels 100 year history. The sommelier paired each dish with a wine to suit and I have to say, she knows her business. It was perfect! We have had wine pairings before but this was by far the best and I can't recommend it enough. I like to list any downsides on these reviews but honestly, for perhaps the first time, I simply cannot think of any for this hotel. This will be the only place we stay if we get the chance to return to Dublin.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Excellent hotel opposite St Stephens Green.

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Great hotel close to Grafton st. We walked to many attractions but buses opposite if needed. Rooms lovely staff exceptional and the food was wonderful. A truly 5 star experience