Ratings based on 265 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Jul 24, 2014
We stayed here on an overnight trip to Dublin with our four children aged 9-16. The rooms were beautifully clean and the beds cosy and comfortable. The breakfast was a treat for all with a superb assortment of fresh and cooked foods. A central location and friendly staff were the icing on the cake.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Very nice hotel close everything in central Dublin

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Luxurious bed and bathroom. Much nicer than most European hotels. The staff was awesome
Cons: Internet service left something to be desired. My devices were not able to stay connected more than 15 minutes. Pretty frustrating.
Location: Hotel is right near St. Stephens Green and all the tour buses are right across the street. There is so much to see within easy walking distance.
Was only in Dublin for 4 nights but the hotel is superb and its well trained staff were a delight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, Florida

Great experience.

Posted Jul 17, 2014
I have found my hotel for all future trips to Dublin. The Shelbourne was a recommendation from my well-traveled, airline pilot brother who has never ever made a hotel suggestion before even when asked. He said it was amazing and I would have to agree wholeheartedly. The staff was incredibly accommodating and really went out of their way to please. The location is directly across from St. Stephen's Green and the Grafton Street shopping area is very close so the location can't be beat. While it is a bit pricey, you know this when you book the room and I liked that they included internet access and other services that many hotels tack on to a seemingly lower priced room. As Warren Buffett says, "price is what you pay, value is what you get."
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First class and traditional.

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Lovely room. Well located hotel. Great breakfast. Friendly staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andy from London

A nice enough hotel, but understaffed

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Central location, grand public spaces, clean and tidy.
Cons: Poor levels of service, apparently caused by insufficient staffing levels.
Location: Facing St Stephen's green, at the heart of Dublin. A prime location.
A one night stay, in what I assume was a 'budget' room although this was not reflected in the price. Public spaces were in the grand style, and impressive. We were on the second floor, which was in need of a refurb, the room was small, clean and well presented with facilities, if a little tired around the edges. Closet space was small, and the in-wall safe inadequate. Returning to the hotel at 11.30 on a Friday evening, the entrance lobby and bar had an unfortunate 'beer on the carpet' smell usually found in pubs around closing time. Staffing was insufficient. I never did get the concierge to answer the phone (although having left a message with the front desk, I did eventually get a call back). The 'one button for all services' feature on the phone is a nice idea - if it gets answered, which it didn't on a couple of occasions. Checkout was a 10 minute queue of frustrated guests and two charming but overworked receptionists. There is no excuse for this level of staffing in what is supposed to be a 5* hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic hotel in a great location

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: It's expensive of that there is no doubt, but it's so comfortable and staff so lovely and the breakfast is fantastic.
Staff, from the moment we arrived, were incredibly helpful and responsive all you could ask. It's the first time we've stayed but we will return, best hotel in Dublin.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob

Great Place

Posted May 17, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Location: The location is just at the edge of Stephen's Green, right off the Grafton Street area, in short close to everything but insulated from the hubub etc.
The Shelbourne is THE place in Dublin, and has been for nearly two hundred years. As usual everything was precise, as it should be. The food was beyond great. Staff always on top of everything. Recommended highly!!
2 out of 5
by john from co.tyrone

clanger.

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: used to be much better
Cons: better staff not good enough for the rates they charge
very disapointed .they checked me into aroom that was already taken .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gill from London

Nice treat

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: The bar and lounge room looked amazing. I didn't get a chance to utilise either, but from the outside, definitely on my next trip!
Cons: The rooms were comfortable,but a bit small for the star rating. We were on the 8th floor, which had a bit of a 'wall' view.
Location: Centrally located, on St Stephens Green, and in very close walking distance to the restaurants and shops.
The hotel is centrally located, and is steeped in history. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The fitness facilities were good for cardio and weights, and the swimming pool was excellent. There is a steam room and a sauna but no jacuzzi in the spa area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by blackboardqueen

One of the greats

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: location, service, ambience
Location: grafton street, dail
Lovely stay- concierge team are really great. FoH staff are very very professional, but maybe a wee bit more corporate than in the past.