Ratings based on 254 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Views from room not what expected

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Good location outside town on the sea, and only 5 minute walk to Ploce gate
Cons: Better description of rooms on website so you know what you're getting for the price
This hotel was expensive, but was pleasant and had a great location, a 5 min walk from the old town, and with great views across the sea to the old town from the restaurants and 'beach' area. We booked an expensive superior sea view room hoping to benefit from this location, but the room we were given had only a small door shaped window inset with shutters. This meant that the view was indeed lovely if you stood literally in the window, but was not visible from anywhere else in the room. This was in contrast to the photos on the website with wall to wall glass windows (must have been from the new block). We queried the room at reception but where told this was the only superior view room available, we were offered the option to upgrade to a room with a balcony and more visible views, but at a further premium of €50 per night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

One Night Stay

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: Standard of service / had a good deal / restaurant, bar , beach & parking facilities / views / walking distance from old town yet quiet.
Cons: Only the wardrobes in room 307!
Location: Old town is 10 minute walk (maximum). Public beach 5 is 5 minutes walk away. The port in the old town has boats for Lokrum island & Cavtat etc.
Visited in October when the weather was excellent - 25 degrees & good enough to swim. We requested a later check out as our flight was in the evening & we thought we'd use the leisure facilities. Check out was at 4pm & they upgraded the room to 307. This faced the lift to go direct to the pool / swim deck, so that was ideal & very kind of them. The room/bathroom/ balcony were all clean & well equipped - only issue was none of the wardrobe doors would shut properly & their internal light would stay on as they couldn't close without wrestling with them- seemed a bit rickety for such an establishment! On the beach area (concrete platform), the attendants were evident & helpful even though it was out of season - we were tempted to have lunch at the restaurant by the water, but we just had drinks on the loungers, however the beach restaurant seemed busy & all customers seemed happy with their food. The breakfast buffet was the only meal we had & it had a huge range & was well stocked until the last minute of serving. Prefer this location for hotels i.e near to but just outside the old town - it has lovely views of the city & Lokrum island. Usually stay next door at the Villa Argentina & can honestly say that they have different styles, but are about the same standard. Probably prefer the Argentina's pool scene, but I think the range of restaurants is better at the Excelsior.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey. England.

5 minutes walk from the romantic town of Dubrovnik

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: The Hotel has a great sense of peace and also offers excellent facilities. All the staff are courteous and well trained. Excellent value for money.
Cons: The hotel, with all its staff, is doing a great job as it is.
Location: Dubrovnik offers a walled city with history to explore, many good value restaurants, shops and market stalls. Boat trips to beautiful locations
The Hotel Excelsior and the historic town of Dubrovnik are inextricably linked. A 5 star hotel with stunning views from many bedrooms to both the sea and the old city. In fact from the private beach area, restaurants, bars and balconies of the hotel, there is a view to one of the most picturesque sights anywhere. The fact that this is all five minutes walk from the Hotel gives it one of the best vantage points anywhere in the Adriatic. Since I was last at this Hotel,in 1973, it has upgraded itself significantly: indoor swimming pool, gym with personal trainer, hair and beauty salon and the choice of 3 different restaurants. There are also several upmarket shops for watches, jewelry and clothes. However, it is the quality of staff who make the hotel. All the staff, whether it is at reception, the waiters and waitresses, the bar staff and those ladies who change the bed linen, are all very polite and well trained. They all care about you as an individual. You genuinely matter. Nothing is too much for them. This all the more impressive given that this whole area was heavily bombed in 1991/ 92
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Alone time

Posted Oct 19, 2014
It was my bday,and the hotel surprise me with flowers and a cake. I was not happy with the first room I was given, I went to the front desk, and I was offered two room to choose from. This is by far one of the best hotel I've stayed in. They are all about their guess. I will and have recomend this hotel to friend. Thanks for a wonderful week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Cons: nothing
great hotel - great location, close to the old town, great facilities - indoor pool, spa and outside 'beach' area on sea front with sun loungers. staff were great - we mentioned we were on our honeymoon and they upgraded us and gave us complimentary champagne and lilles. great breaskfast - selection, and location or breakfast room with sea views
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lebanon

Nice hotel closed to old town and beach

Posted Aug 18, 2014
We were two couples in our early 40's Breakfast could have been reacher They definitely need a better concierge service if u plan to go out of Dubrovnik They only have an indoor pool 😕
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Great facilities

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Cons: Has Croatia (which is in the EU) not heard that smoking in public places is illegal. Most unpleasant in restaurants in town and in the hotel.
Lovely hotel and spa. Nice outdoor seating and access to swimming in the sea. Old town hotels can't offer that. 800yds to walls of old town. Hotel has nice beach restaurant and excellent food. Good breakfast too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Excellsior Hotel Dudrovnik

Posted Aug 4, 2014
We stayed in this Hotel for one week it was excellent experience . What a lovely breakfast with champagne to start with and the service you could tell it's 5 stars from reception to waiter and cleaner and porter very helpful. The position of the hotel only 10mn walk to the old town. What about having shower with l'occitane shampoo conditioner and soap massive rooms and bathroom. Good time,good experience surely we will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A spacious, comfortable hotel in an ideal location

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: A sense of space and calm throughout the hotel. The breakfast variety was superb.
Location: A short walk to the old city and within walking distance of the cable car with its panoramic views. The old city and the walk around its walls should
Just a few minutes walk to the old city and with its own sea bathing. The room was very large and the bathroom was nearly the same size. It only had a view of the street but it did not matter. Extremely comfortable with a double bed larger than I have ever seen. All of the staff were extremely helpful and willing to please. The buffet breakfast had a huge variety of items on offer plus you could order special items from the menu. I would recommend this hotel to anybody who wanted to visit Dubrovnik and its environs.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Nice hotel, great location, poor service

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: setting and location
Cons: wait staff
Overall nice hotel, but the service at the bar and Thai restaurant was terrible. I found the wait staff to be slow, our meal at the restaurant took over 1 hour to arrive, and the restaurant was not busy at all. While waiting for our meal, the wait staff never came by the table to check up on us or refresh our drinks. In fact, the wait staff were off to the side talking to themselves and chatting with other guests who were Croatian. The same situation occurred at the bar. After the waiter brought our drinks, he literally never returned. We finished our drinks, and wanted another. We waited 45 minutes, but the waiter never returned. Finally, we got up and walked over to the bar, paid our tab, and left. No apology from the bartender. Meanwhile, our waiter was off chatting with other guest who were Croatian, while we were left waiting for service! I left this hotel with the impression that the wait staff did not like foreigners. Never had this happen before. It is unfortunate, and we will not return