Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel and breakfast buffet very good.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Not too big.
Cons: bath very high and not suitable for an older person to get in to use shower but luckily we had two bathrooms one of which had a walk in shower.
Location: Good location and bus stop quite close to go to old town.
Pleasant stay. Would stay again as long as we had a walk in shower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham

Nice hotel on rocky beach

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Cons: Requires entertainment and buffet restaurant at ariston requires a massive improvement
Location: 15 mins bus ride to Dubrovnik
Lovely hotel on rocks, no fight for sun beds and plenty of pools if don't fancy swim in sea. Breakfast good. Rooms very clean and fault with our air conditioning was fixed very quickly. The hotel is one of four situated in a group, 2 of the 3 restaurants on site were excellent. The hotels lacked any form of entertainment in the evening, however it was only a 15min bus ride to Dubrovnik which comes alive at night. Our standard room had no balcony and the view was of the car park which was disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kent, England

Great hotel, sea view to die for.

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Almost everything to be perfectly honest, with exception of below.
Cons: The "on the rocks" bar above the pool area never had enough staff to deal with drinks orders, nor food. Took sometimes 10-15 minutes just to order!
Location: Great location above the sea, with very good bus service into Old town. Short walk to sister hotels & local restaurants.
Used the Ariston for hub hotel for all guests attending our daughters wedding in Dubrovnik city. Wonderful location, with sea views to die for. Could not fault the facilities nor the staff who were very attentive and friendly. Bonus for all was the excellent bus service into Dubrovnik Old town, which was beautiful, taking 20 mins and running each way every 1/2 hr until 2am. There were 70 of us staying and all were so pleased with the hotel and particularly Croatia itself. All expressed their intentions to return and could not understand how Croatia never figured in our holiday plans before.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Unbeatable location!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: It's location. We had a spa hotel right next to the sea but with easy access by bus or walking to all the facilties and the city.
Cons: Nothing that I can think of - perfect.
Location: Bus to Dubrovnik walled city, or walk to beach and shopping. Boat trips, paragliding, jet skis, cable car in Dubrovnik and more boat trips
Looking at the other hotels by the Ariston, we think we had the best one. Built into the rock terrain in layers. 20 minutes by bus from the amazing Dubrovnik city. Brilliant facilities, food great, staff efficient and friendly, rooms spacious, clean and comfortable. Great bathroom. Wonderful views - gorgeous buffet breakfast on the terrace overlooking the sea every morning was memorable. Would highly recommend both the hotel and Croatia - we all loved it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by D Lari from San Francisco

Posted Jul 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful hotel. Great location. Rooms were large and well appointed. Service however was mediocre and not up to the standard of a 5 star hotel. Restaurants were beautiful but it took a long time to get served. Food was hit or miss.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by ana palomo from miami, florida

excellent view of the ocean

Posted Jun 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Hotel Ariston is located right in front of the ocean, is very clean , has comfortables beds, courteous staff and has an excellent breakfast buffet. The other meals were too expensive. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ariston Hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2014
Pros: I liked how clean the hotel was with plenty hot water and pillowcases changed daily. Robes and slippers were also in the room. Room service was good.
Cons: The bar snack order took 45 minutes to arrive. Was delicious but far too long to wait considering the bar was mostly empty.
Location: 15 minutes north of Dubrovnik Old Town. Number 6 bus to Pile Gate every 10 mins. No 5 to cable car every hour (roughly).
This is a lovely hotel graded as 5 stars but more like 4 stars. It is situated on its own rocky beach with an abundance of sun loungers. We read that some of the staff were rude but that is not our experience. A couple were gruff but that may well be just their nature. All were polite and helpful. We had no problem checking in early and were upgraded (by Mr Gruff) to a suite so my daughter and I had 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. This was probably because it was not yet high season and they may be allocating rooms all on the same floor. Nevertheless it was most welcome. Breakfast was more than ample with fresh fruit (strawberries, pineapple etc) breads, cereal, meat, cheeses, juices, and a selection of hot food. Gluten free catered for and soya milk without requesting. You could also, at a small charge, order a more personal choice. There were 2 outdoor pools and a spa suite with an indoor pool and a small gym. You can buy bus tickets from reception more cheaply than PAYG. Excellent bus service, although no-one queues on the busier return journeys so every man for himself. Spotlessly clean and well situated in Babin Kuk, for the Old Town. You could walk but on a short break, a 15 min bus journey is better use of time, and feet! Overall this hotel is fantastic value for money, giving you a high standard without high prices, when you spend so much time out and about. Recommend D'vino Wine Bar and the icecream to the right of the fountain just inside Pile Gate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ruby & Joe from NY, NY

Great location and amazing service!

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here 5/27/2014-5/30/2014 for the first stop on our honeymoon. The service was exceptional and they even left something very nice in our room upon arrival. We felt very welcome and special during the entirety of our stay. The location was perfect for us because the hotel is along the busline to Old Town Dubrovnik yet far enough away from the hustle and bustle of tourism. This allowed us to appreciate the other areas of beautiful Dubrovnik and get some much needed rest and relaxation in the outdoor beach area (cliff-side lounge chairs) with access to the ocean. The room was on the smaller side and the bed is not the most comfortable but all in all a great value. The breakfast spread, beautiful seaside view from our balcony, and wireless internet were also nice perks!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mike from Weymouth, UK

Cracking hotel on the shoreline

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: The staff were unfailingly helpful and friendly, and the hotel was top quality in terms of service and cleanliness. Wonderful sunsets.
Cons: Quality of the coffee in the buffet machines.
Location: Dubrovnik - enough said - consult Byron.
Very impressed by the facilities, breakfasts and other meal options. A few steps to climb from the beach, which has been created by infilling between the natural rock shoreline, which may not suit some, but otherwise all seem to have been catered for. Several access points to the sea, and sea water pools for adults and children for when it's a bit rough. A couple of small freshwater pools and an indoor pool higher up. It's at the end of the No 6 bus route to Dubrovnik Old Town (about 20 minute ride), bus tickets available from reception, but Dubrovnik (1/3/7 day) Cards give you multiple trips plus restaurant discounts and entry to museums/city walls etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by McSharon from Scotland

Excellent hotel, great views and comfort.

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: the location
Cons: nothing
Location: If you don't want to eat in the hotel, you can walk along the coastal walk in to Lapad lots of restaurants and bars.
Its a lovely hotel, although as some people have already mentioned it is definitely worthwhile getting a sea view they are amazing. Its only a short bus ride into Dubrovnik, the bus leaves every 10mins or so and it only about 100yrds from the hotel, the number 6. The bus then leaves again just outside the old town gates and runs until 1am, so its very handy. The hotel is very well looked after, we couldn't fault it, the food is excellent, and they serve champagne, (its probably just sparkling wine but so what) at breakfast which adds a bit of luxury. We loved our stay and wouldn't hesitate it returning.