Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Danielle from Canada

Nice hotel!

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Nice hotel with a great pool and easy access to two different beaches. Not close enough to walk to the old town but the bus is across the street and takes ten minutes. Rooms are clean. Breakfast had lots of options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gee from Massachusetts, USA

Hotel Tirena

Posted Jun 17, 2014
The Hotel is not in the city, is in a quiet location with a pool and it's own beach. The #6 Bus stops in front of the Hotel every 10 minutes and goes into town--very convenient. Breakfast is superior with many choices and dinner buffet was quite nice. A very nice clean and well staffed Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Emma from London

Nice Stay

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Very pleasant hotel. Nice and close to the beach! Great buses into the old city. We really enjoyed our stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel for the money

Posted May 29, 2014
This is a brilliant 3 star hotel. It has great facilities, good staff and decent meals.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jane from Wales UK

Friendly, comfortable, conveniently located

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: I liked the location, the helpful, friendly staff, the cleanliness and the wide range of food choices with lots of fresh fruit and vegetables.
Cons: Tea/coffee-making facility in rooms would be welcome. Trees outside our balcony, Room 349, need cutting. They block out the sun, making the room dark.
Location: Convenient for bus number 6 to the Old Town. Good range of shops and bars nearby. Wonderful walks along the coast. Peaceful area with fabulous views.
The Tirena hotel was a super base to explore Dubrovnik from. It was so easy to get to the Old Town as the number 6 bus left every 15 minutes from outside the hotel. It's a couple of minutes stroll to the seashore and a beach with a snack bar. There are beautiful walks around the coastline right up to the new harbour where the cruise ships dock. There's a convenient small shopping development outside the hotel and the adjacent sister hotels. I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel. Everything gleamed. The buffet meals were excellent and catered for all tastes, with reasonably-priced drinks. It was lovely to come back to the peace and quiet of the area after the crowded city. We booked a trip to Mostar from "i Tours", the Travel Agents in the shopping precinct and were the only 2 passengers in a minibus with Mario, the driver. It was a fabulous experience having all the local knowledge from him and we were able to get through the border controls very quickly. We heard from tour groups that they had been held up for an hour or more as everyone in the coach had to be checked individually. I would certainly recommend this hotel. It's a 3 star but I think that's due to not having a spa, gym or indoor pool as you can use all those facilities in the sister hotels next door.
2 out of 5
by M from UK

Good location, but disappointing

Posted May 1, 2014
Pros: Good wireless
Cons: Clean the carpet in the room so it doesn't smell like an ashtray Replace the rude evening/night male receptionist
Location: Good location within walking distance of the habour and even the Old Town although that is a bit more of a trek. Nice and quiet location
It went wrong from the beginning as the male receptionist was being rather unhelpful and arrogant when I arrived. He didn't provide the necessary information and could barely muster up the energy to point me in the correct direction in the (rather labyrinthine) hotel halls. I travel often, so I felt that the questions I asked were relevant (which bus to take to town/the airport/where the hotel restaurant is located...), but they seemed to annoy him. The rest of the staff were helpful and friendly overall The food was pretty bad the first day (when I arrived around 8.30), but good the second day when I arrived around 7.30PM, so get there early for dinner. The room smelt very badly of smoke, but was clean. It is very basic, but a good size and with a nice balcony. There is free wireless throughout the hotel which is a bonus (you will find that in most hotels & restaurants anyway). It's a very quiet hotel with mostly older tourists, so don’t expect to socialise with other travellers without making an effort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob and Lyn from Swindon

Very Satisfied Guests

Posted Sep 19, 2013
Pros: Everything, and we have stayed in many hotels to be able to make a comparison
Cons: Installation of lift to all floors up and down
Location: The Lapad/Babin Kuk peninsula is outside of the main built up area of Dubrovnic. For walkers there are many walking trails and boat trips.
The hotel Terena and Babin Kuk are good choices for a holiday in Dubrovnic. For us the hotel was faultless with the possible exception of the length of walking along many corridors from the reception area/dining room to some rooms. The buffet breakfast was excellent, as was the the one dinner which we ate in the hotel. The swimming pool was underused, not surprising considering the age group of guests. With the Hotel card we were able to visit all of the other hotels in the Valamar group in Babin Kuk and use their facilities. The local bus service to Dubrovnic although often overcrowded, is an essential part of the stay, going right to the gate of the old City, running every 10 minutes or so until late at night and making it possible to return to the old city at night for choice of restaurants
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, would be better if closer to Dubrovnik

Posted Aug 30, 2013
Very friendly and clean, good breakfast. But there's not much on the peninsular. Best to travel to the old town most days - 20 min on the bus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Excellent location

Posted Aug 23, 2013
Pros: Close to sea and close enough to town. Good location
Cons: No need for the 'shopping clomplex' in the area.
Location: Boat trips, Dubrovnik visit.
All good. This hotel is rated 3 star, I would give it 4. Only thing to spoil it is the views not particularly good but apart from that a good location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by H from London

Great value for money

Posted Aug 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Don't be put off by the 3 stars because this hotel offers a clean and comfortable stay, with 4 star service! As it's located within a complex of Valamar hotels, you can even use the services at the 4 or 5 star hotels that are just seconds away, including the spa / gym / bars / restaurants. The complex is a good 20minutes from the Old Town but it's calmer and quieter and has easy access to a couple of great beaches.