Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Valamar Lacroma, Dubrovnik

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: pool food especially breakfast view near bus stop relaxed atmosphere
Cons: signage more comprehensive info pack in room info about local buses info about festival info about local walks
Easy check in and very relaxed atmosphere. Several languages spoken by staff. Easy to get to Dubrovnik by no 6 bus - only takes about 10 mins or so. Try and book a room with a balcony facing the sea - well worth the extra - but rooms are very comfy if the budget doesn't quite stretch this far. Breakfast is amazing so take your time and enjoy! Both pools are big enough to have a proper swim. Poolside is very relaxing with drinks and food available. Hotel is near beach which is a bit crowded in high season. There are some basic shops nearby and places to eat outside of the hotel although a meal out in Dubrovnik in the evening is a must! View from the top of cable car in Dubrovnik is fantastic - go in readiness for the sunset. The museum at the top is worth a visit. Take a day trip or two and see the beautiful Dalmation coast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire uk

Great hotel, good location

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: Location, good staff, room size
Cons: The only negative was that the food at the pool bar was disappointing.
Location: Bus stop opposite hotel & no 6 runs every 10 minutes into centre of Dubrovnik. Opposite sister hotel so free use of beds on beach - nice for a change
We only stayed 2 nights, but would happily have stayed more, and would definitely go back. The room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and particularly helpful. The breakfast was very good. Lots of variety with fresh fruit and egg and omelette stations, warm breads and pancakes etc which set us up for the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with wonderful views

Posted Jul 25, 2014
It took along to choose a hotel and there is always a concern that it won't be as expected, but this hotel lived up to the reviews. It was very clean, the staff were excellent, the facilities good and the food also excellent and reasonablly priced for a 4star hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from London

Lovely views, relaxed environment, good food

Posted Jul 1, 2014
This place ticked a lot of boxes. Staff were all friendly without being pushy. Facilities were varied and kept us entertained. The rooms were well kept. Food was excellent, particularly the fine dining section. A real gem
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Excellent in all respects. Good location close to a few restaurants/bars and close to the bus stop to Dubrovnik. Breakfast buffet excellent and extensive. Staff lovely and helpful. Pool and spa fantastic.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by MummySLT from London

All style no substance - not 4* hotel!

Posted Oct 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good facilities, good location & very clean. Buffet breakfast excellent. Rooms at front of hotel VERY noisy from 5.30AM. Very noisy, chatting cleaners scrubbing & hosing down the grounds. Also people leaving. It meant that I was woken up THREE days in a row before 6AM - completely *unacceptable*. The hotel is not a four star hotel. There are so many notable omissions - no water in lobby or room, poor complimentary toiletries, flaky WiFi. The list is endless. Take your money elsewhere
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was expecting a much nicer hotel for the price. It was far from the city and the hotel was a bit outdated (though the rooms were fine). There are much better value hotels so we changed after 1 night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by George from London

Great facilities, good views

Posted Sep 4, 2013
Pros: The breakfasts, cocktails and facilities
Cons: The reception staff were a little bit scatty at times, we had to request things a few times.
Location: Hotel private beach approx 5 mins away as well as other restaurants. Not too far from Old Town.
We stayed here for the first few days of our honeymoon and it definitely met our expectations! We wanted a hotel where we could relax, sunbathe but not too far from the Old Town. We had an amazing view from our room of the sea and the neighbouring islands. All the facilities are fantastic as its a fairly new hotel. It has a big outdoor pool with plenty of sun loungers - we encountered no issues with getting a sun lounger (or the dreaded reserving via towel system) but it was the end of the summer season/ end of August. Food wise, the breakfasts are amazing! A massive buffet selection on offer, including an omelette station and having your eggs cooked to your liking - it was the best offering we encountered in Croatia. However the food at the pool bar was mediocre at best. There are other restaurants on the beach, about a 5 min walk from the hotel. Location- The hotel is only a 20 min ride to the Old Town on the bus, the stop is right outside the hotel and they are every 10 mins and run quite late, though the bus can get full quickly. A taxi takes around 10 mins and is approx 80 kuna.
2 out of 5
by Imran from London

Nice hotel - overpriced and disappointing

Posted Aug 29, 2013
Pros: The look of the hotel was good. There was plenty of parking. It was close to the centre (10 minutes by bus). The fine dining restaurant was good value
Cons: The waiting staff were by and large terrible. There needs to be an attempt consider non-meat eaters. The rooms were not made up with any effort at all
Location: Dubrovnik is nearby. Do that. The beach is not so near and not so great
We booked 3 hotels staying at Split, Mekaskar and Dubrovnik. We found this hotel to be the poorest of the 3. Breakfast was fairly average. Our biggest gripe was that when we were at the egg station ordering an omelette - despite asking pointedly for a vegetarian omelette and choosing veg ingredients, the egg chef didn't change her gloves after handling bacon, used the same bowls for the ingredients that had just been used for bacon and which still had bits of bacon in them and then used the same pans that had been used for frying the bacon. Our eggs therefore had bits of bacon in them. The waiting staff generally were sullen and unfriendly. Our morning coffee always came with something of a sigh. At the pool cafe the staff were unhelpful. There was hardly anything veg on the menu but there were cheese sandwiches. When we asked if we could have cheese and tomato we were initially told 'no'!. Only cheese and ham or cheese! The coffee was luke-warm and barely drinkable. We then tried the bar cafe for lunch. The seafood pasta was a disgrace (10 Euros). I had a bite and it made me retch. Staff didn't ask why it had not been eaten. They just weren't interested. On the plus side the 2 women at the front desk (didn't note their names - one dark haired one blonde) were charming and helpful and a credit to the hotel. The hotel itself has been designed really well. It looks great. There were always loungers available by the pool and the wi-fi was not bad (except by the pool).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Renee from NC

Wonderful location

Posted Aug 18, 2013
Pros: Clean. On the coast. Great pool.
Cons: The staff is most unfriendly but this may be a cultural difference that I found in many places in Croatia.
Location: Lounge poolside or short walk from this hotel to rocky coast of Adriatic. Bus to Dubrovnik. Kayak or sail around coast.
This hotel is beautifully situated on the coast. Far enough away from the craziness of Dubrovnik. A short bus ride will take you into Dubrovnik. The pool is fabulous.