Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from London

Lovely views, relaxed environment, good food

Posted Jul 1, 2014
This place ticked a lot of boxes. Staff were all friendly without being pushy. Facilities were varied and kept us entertained. The rooms were well kept. Food was excellent, particularly the fine dining section. A real gem
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Excellent in all respects. Good location close to a few restaurants/bars and close to the bus stop to Dubrovnik. Breakfast buffet excellent and extensive. Staff lovely and helpful. Pool and spa fantastic.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by MummySLT from London

All style no substance - not 4* hotel!

Posted Oct 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good facilities, good location & very clean. Buffet breakfast excellent. Rooms at front of hotel VERY noisy from 5.30AM. Very noisy, chatting cleaners scrubbing & hosing down the grounds. Also people leaving. It meant that I was woken up THREE days in a row before 6AM - completely *unacceptable*. The hotel is not a four star hotel. There are so many notable omissions - no water in lobby or room, poor complimentary toiletries, flaky WiFi. The list is endless. Take your money elsewhere
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was expecting a much nicer hotel for the price. It was far from the city and the hotel was a bit outdated (though the rooms were fine). There are much better value hotels so we changed after 1 night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by George from London

Great facilities, good views

Posted Sep 4, 2013
Pros: The breakfasts, cocktails and facilities
Cons: The reception staff were a little bit scatty at times, we had to request things a few times.
Location: Hotel private beach approx 5 mins away as well as other restaurants. Not too far from Old Town.
We stayed here for the first few days of our honeymoon and it definitely met our expectations! We wanted a hotel where we could relax, sunbathe but not too far from the Old Town. We had an amazing view from our room of the sea and the neighbouring islands. All the facilities are fantastic as its a fairly new hotel. It has a big outdoor pool with plenty of sun loungers - we encountered no issues with getting a sun lounger (or the dreaded reserving via towel system) but it was the end of the summer season/ end of August. Food wise, the breakfasts are amazing! A massive buffet selection on offer, including an omelette station and having your eggs cooked to your liking - it was the best offering we encountered in Croatia. However the food at the pool bar was mediocre at best. There are other restaurants on the beach, about a 5 min walk from the hotel. Location- The hotel is only a 20 min ride to the Old Town on the bus, the stop is right outside the hotel and they are every 10 mins and run quite late, though the bus can get full quickly. A taxi takes around 10 mins and is approx 80 kuna.
2 out of 5
by Imran from London

Nice hotel - overpriced and disappointing

Posted Aug 29, 2013
Pros: The look of the hotel was good. There was plenty of parking. It was close to the centre (10 minutes by bus). The fine dining restaurant was good value
Cons: The waiting staff were by and large terrible. There needs to be an attempt consider non-meat eaters. The rooms were not made up with any effort at all
Location: Dubrovnik is nearby. Do that. The beach is not so near and not so great
We booked 3 hotels staying at Split, Mekaskar and Dubrovnik. We found this hotel to be the poorest of the 3. Breakfast was fairly average. Our biggest gripe was that when we were at the egg station ordering an omelette - despite asking pointedly for a vegetarian omelette and choosing veg ingredients, the egg chef didn't change her gloves after handling bacon, used the same bowls for the ingredients that had just been used for bacon and which still had bits of bacon in them and then used the same pans that had been used for frying the bacon. Our eggs therefore had bits of bacon in them. The waiting staff generally were sullen and unfriendly. Our morning coffee always came with something of a sigh. At the pool cafe the staff were unhelpful. There was hardly anything veg on the menu but there were cheese sandwiches. When we asked if we could have cheese and tomato we were initially told 'no'!. Only cheese and ham or cheese! The coffee was luke-warm and barely drinkable. We then tried the bar cafe for lunch. The seafood pasta was a disgrace (10 Euros). I had a bite and it made me retch. Staff didn't ask why it had not been eaten. They just weren't interested. On the plus side the 2 women at the front desk (didn't note their names - one dark haired one blonde) were charming and helpful and a credit to the hotel. The hotel itself has been designed really well. It looks great. There were always loungers available by the pool and the wi-fi was not bad (except by the pool).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Renee from NC

Wonderful location

Posted Aug 18, 2013
Pros: Clean. On the coast. Great pool.
Cons: The staff is most unfriendly but this may be a cultural difference that I found in many places in Croatia.
Location: Lounge poolside or short walk from this hotel to rocky coast of Adriatic. Bus to Dubrovnik. Kayak or sail around coast.
This hotel is beautifully situated on the coast. Far enough away from the craziness of Dubrovnik. A short bus ride will take you into Dubrovnik. The pool is fabulous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lar & Mary from Dublin

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed in the Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik in Aug 13 for a week on our honeymoon. We can't say enough good things about the treatment we received, everything was great. The staff were the most helpful and friendly I've encountered anywhere and went out of their way to help at all times. The hotel itself is very modern, and exceptionally clean. The room we had was a double with a sea view and it was great, very spacious, lovely bathroom, and with a nice balcony area also. The breakfast buffet was amazing, there was an incredible array of food available, everything from omelettes of your choice to fresh fruit, cereals, plenty of different types of sausages, eggs, pastries, etc etc. The pool area is lovely also, very relaxing, and the views from the terrace bar are fantastic. Babin Kuk is a nice quiet area, if a bit pricey. The bus to the old town goes from just outside the hotel and takes about 20 mins. It can get very packed on the bus but as the hotel is at the first stop you usually get a seat. I could go on singing the hotels praises all day long but I will finish by saying that if you are considering staying here then do so, you won't be disappointed
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and location

Posted Aug 6, 2013
Pros: Sunsets, friendly staff, cleanliness, buffet breakfast
Cons: lack of sun beds
Location: great location, regular, but poor in terms of comfort commuting facility
I stayed here with my 17 year old daughter. We had a great time although didn't spend a lot of time in the hotel because we wanted to visit places/islands nearby. We were staying in the peak season so the hotel and surrounding areas were busy. When we did stay within the hotel, because it was so busy disappointingly we were often not able to lounge beside the pool as there were no beds or shade available after about 12 noon. We did use the beech which was small, rocky, busy and lovely to swim in the sea, but not a relaxing experience to lounge, although you could pay for a sun bed. There were plenty of alternative bars and restaurants nearby which we enjoyed using. We loved the beautiful sunsets that can be seen from the hotel bar and restaurants. The old town of Dubrovnik was further away then we realised which actually we were glad about as it was a relief to be away from the crowds that were shipped in daily. However the commute via the number 6 bus was an horrendous experience at anytime of day at this time of year. Clearly there is no health and safety and to me they seem to treat tourists like animals. I would not recommend this experience ideal for young children particularly when invariable the bus driver had no consideration for his squashed over heated passengers. I may return to this hotel /area again but it will not be at peak times.