Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

excellent

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
excellent
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Andreafrom Dudley

A below average stay.....

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
On this visit The Village Hotel, we were given the keys to our room, we headed up with our bags to get unpacked. Upon entering the room, we had extreme difficulty in getting the key to fit into the plastic light contraption, as it was broken. I could overlook this.... Next the bathroom, which wasn't the cleanest. The shower/ bath itself were clean however, some refreshing is much needed. There were marks on the walls, where the light is boxed in above the sink had come away, revealing a thick area of black dust. I continued to look around the main bed room, just to make sure there were no nasty surprises. Furniture does need to be moved, in order to clean properly, this isnt done @ The Village Dudley. The final fault with this room was, the TV was broken. So we had to pack up our things, head back down to reception. The chap on reception was very helpful (may i add). He listened to my concerns, then offered an alternative room. So again we headed up, got to our room, same issue with the key/ light switch contraption (broken and this time SHARP!) around the light switch and across the wall, it looked like there were blood splatters!?.... Bthroom was dirty dusty area above the sink, taps were loose. Overall quite disappointed with the room, felt our stay was overpriced, for the quality and subsequently over rated. Also I found the heat within the hotel to be stifling!! Too hot, not control.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Davidfrom Portsmouth

Not very happy

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Not the best village hotel i have stayed in, gives the chain a bad name, i stayed at village solihull last week which was fantastic as was swindon. Sorry for the blunt review
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great spa hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel stAy was great. Hotel is clean, good customer service located close to town n supermarket. Hotel spa facilities affordable and gym is super clean
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by adrianfrom Chesterfield

Noise Noise Noise

Posted Oct 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Checked in ok. Hotel reception acceptable. Got allocated room 101 opposite lift on 1st floor overlooking the hotel entrance. This must be the noisiest room I've ever had the misfortune to stay in. Heard everyone arriving to the hotel, heard everyone leaving the lift and their drunken conversations at night then heard everyone get up use the lift and leave the hotel in the morning.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Kent

Totally NOT what i expect from a Village Hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: On this occasion, NOTHING
Cons: ROOM DECOR, ROOM SIZE, WIFI SERVICE, CURTAINS, COMMUNICATION WITH GUESTS, ROOM SERVICE SERVICE, PRICE FOR WHAT YOU GET. see above for more info.
I have stayed in the majority of Village hotels and as such I normally search for them first when looking for somewhere to stay while on business or pleasure. For me they are a known quantity, nice big rooms, well decorated, great food, great leisure facilities, fast free WiFi and free parking are the main reasons for this. With this in mind I would advise anyone with similar thoughts to avoid this particular one. For the kind of money I paid I expected at least the kind of room I normally associate with a Village hotel. this one however was very disappointing, a very tired, small room with no A/C just a tiny desktop fan which was so noisy you couldn't hear the TV when it was on. NO curtains just a dusty, tatty blind that did a terrible job of keeping the light out. The WiFi was very slow and kept dropping out and the shower was awful in terms of power and the fact that there was no seal on the screen so when you had a shower the floor got wetter than I did. On a Monday evening (6.45pm) I went down stairs to get some dinner and was told that I would have to wait until 9pm for a table. I decided to return to my room and order room service while catching up on some paperwork. Ordered my dinner at 7.30pm chased at 8.30pm and 9pm and 9.30pm finally got a knock on my door to say they can't find my order at 10.15pm can i place it again. Ordered a sandwich and 5 mins later my first order arrived, cold and over cooked. My meal was comped but this doesn't help when you're hungry.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Stuartfrom West Yorkshire

Good Staff

Posted Oct 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
First and foremost The lady on reception was great. The food was terrible.....In the bar. (restaurant closed) Had to move from 1st floor room as could hear every noise through poor window seals and also every word from the dude in the events room downstairs. the second room at the back of the hotel was fine until about 5.30 when the tescos wagons were beeping their horns to get in the yard.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by rfrom dudley

great hotel, bad guests

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel deserves a 4* on its own. However the guests and management of is poor. early hours gypsies kicking off followed by waking up totherir kids smashing glasses next to cars on car park was not so great.Staff watching on with no challenge :(
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lars

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Andrew Mfrom New Forest

Breakfast terible

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Day one, cold breakfast in the bar that the staff put right with a freshly cooked plateful. Buffet served onto cold plates. Day two, change of room into one of the function rooms. Same problem. Cold food. Some of actually prety much stone cold and then served onto cold plates. Seems like breakfast is something to get past rather than an opportunity to impress customers.